We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location!!”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We traveled with a fairly large group of 12 people the end of December and beginning of January and we had three condos. When the reservation was made it was requested that we be near each other and they did an acceptable job of doing so. I absolutely loved the location of this resort. With 7 kids ranging in age from 14-21, it was great that they could walk to wherever they wanted to go without depending on a driver to get them there.

Our rooms were nicely furnished, although it seemed the kitchen was missing a few basic items, most noticeably measuring cups. I also found it odd that a 2 bedroom condo (that sleeps at least 4) only had dining seats for 2 people (at the bar). We ended up hauling our meals to the pavilion to eat together several times and also ate at the picnic table near the BBQs. The rooms needed some deep cleaning and to be repainted in some areas. The master bedroom air conditioner gave off a bad odor (musty, moldy) so we didn't use it. The bathrooms and kitchen were nicely done.

The only truly negative experience was the discovery of an infestation of bed bugs in one of the bedrooms. While this was not in my condo and I didn't directly deal with the staff about this matter, I believe it was handled satisfactorily. It also seems the $15/day parking fee was a bit steep considering the nightly cost of the condo; however this was adequately advertised and not a surprise upon checkin.

In all we had a very nice stay and I would be likely to stay here again with the location being the biggest plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank CAF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha CAF2014,

thank you for taking the time to post your mainly favorable review. I apologize you were not able to eat together in the unit. We do have some plastic tables and chairs available for guests on a request basis.

I'm glad to hear our staff was able to address your travel companion's issue in a timely manner and it was handled satisfactorily. This is a global issue that we take very seriously and we work hard to prevent situations like this from escalating (or happening in the first place).

It seems that you had a nice time in all and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I liked this hotel, but it was a little like I was living in the stone age. There was no internet in the rooms, only by the pool and in the lobby. It is very annoying to have to walk down to the lobby to use Facebook. I liked the rooms. It had a lot of space. Also they didn't clean your room. You had enough towels to last you your whole stay but, I like it when someone comes and makes your bed every day. I liked that it had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen with a full size fridge, an oven, a microwave and a sink, and a living room. Each bedroom and the living room had their own TV. The only difference was that the TV in the living room had more channels. The bed's were huge. And the air-conditioning was really good. There was a internet cord to plug strait into your laptop, but you had to go to a wifi hotspot to use your phone. I also liked that you could walk ten minutes and you were at restaurants, the beach and shops. Overall I liked it, but would have liked the internet to be more modern.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha TK K,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize you were not aware ahead of time that we no longer provide daily housekeeping or provide WiFi in the units. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay in spite of those inconveniences. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking a future stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a decent option for those that want the convenience of being very close to town and want simple, home-style lodging. The hotel is an easy walk to shops, bars and a couple of beaches.

Rooms may look a little dated, but are clean and modest. Air-conditioning only in the lounge room. There is a sofa bed in the lounge, with a double in the bedroom. A small kitchen makes it ideal for families. There is also a laundry room, where they provide washing powder and a dryer for you. The bathroom is a good size, with some amenities also provided to guests. Given this is more an apartment style lodging, there is no housekeeping around to clean up your mess, which may suit a few people. Note there is a $15 cleaning fee everyone pays for housekeeping to clean up after you check out.

The place has a choice of 2 pools. One has barbecue facilities, but poor wifi access. The other pool is slightly bigger and there is a complex next to it for shade, toilets and stronger wifi access. You can also find cabanas and a spa here.

Parking is available at $17.50 plus taxes per day. Staff are generally ok. Friendly and courteous, but we had little interaction with them aside from checking in and out.

Overall, a decent place if on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha TravellingCarlito,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. You have noted a lot of information that may be helpful to other guests. I'm not sure which $15 cleaning fee you are referring to but you are correct that there is a check out cleaning fee for each of the units when you check out.

There are also grills located for guest use behind the building at the saltwater pool. So guests may grill at either pool.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent there only three night but we loved to spend more. Very nice apartment with all kind of furniture, It is a bit expensive but it has absolutely everything. Close to the beach, to supermarket and church.
The attention of the desk is regular. They didn't have our kids booked and they had to sleep on a very uncomfortable sofa bed with a lot of dangerous pieces of irons very easy to step on them and hurt your knee...
The pool is very nice warm plus the jacuzzi very hot! too much probably!
For the price you pays it should have the cleaning service as well but it is ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubaandsurf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha freewave,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I do apologize it was not communicated to you ahead of time about the bedding. You may want to consider 2 bedroom accommodations for your next stay with us.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking a future stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in a Garden View Studio during our honeymoon and overall really enjoyed the location of the hotel and its facilities. The pool area was great with a choice of 2 swimming pools and a spa, nice loungers, cabanas and pool facilities. It's also nice that the pools are salt water pools and therefore not heavily chlorinated and they are surrounded by grass for kids to run around on, which makes a nice change from concrete! Quite picturesque!

Our room was small and had no view to speak of. I'm not exactly sure what they mean by 'garden view' as it seemed like most rooms overlooked a carpark and had plants in growing in front of the windows for privacy but we didn't really mind as we didn't want to spend all our time in our room anyway. However, because the room was small our bed was placed sideways in it and therefore had no functional headboard -- we used two chairs in the room to stop pillows falling off the bed at night. A bit odd of an odd quirk to get used to but we dealt with it.

Apart from the small size, the room was great. Very clean, nicely decorated, modern, great bathroom and a decent kitchenette.

Another minor issue was that we were staying during our honeymoon our bookings had 'honeymoon amenity' written on them however we had to ask the front desk for this twice which made us feel a bit tacky. It wasn't in our room on arrival or given to us at check-in and when we asked the first time for it it was 10pm and the girl working on the desk didn't have the authority to give it to us, which was annoying. We had to go back in the morning and ask again when the manager was there. A little bit irritating but not a deal breaker.

However, that aside, Lahaina itself is a fantastic place to stay! During our time in Maui we visited the resort towns of Ka'anapali and Wailea on day trips but soon found that Lahaina was perfect for us and what we wanted. The art galleries and restaurant choices are almost endless which we loved, and they are open late with live music in many of them. We really enjoyed the beach here too which is much quieter than Ka'anapali with some great snorkeling even though it's not marked as a snorkeling spot on any of the maps.

Overall the hotel was good value and enjoyable to stay in. We would stay here again but maybe book a larger room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha Jennifer G,

thank you for taking the time to post your postive review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay at the property. I do apologize there was a miscommunication in regard to your honeymoon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would rate this property 3.5 stars.

Pro's:
- Location in Lahaina that is walkable to the Front St. shops and restaurants.
- Our 2BR 2B unit had ample space and even a washing machine and dryer
- Nice landscaping on the property

Con's:
- Feels like an apartment community, not real romantic or scenic.
- Nowhere near a beach; it has 2 pools but they were pretty crowded at all times
- Staff at front desk and reception were less than friendly; also seemed "put out" when we asked a question. Staff doing maintenance work and housekeepers were very nice and friendly at all times.

Overall: If you are on a budget, don't have to be near a beach, and want to stay within the walkable part of Lahaina, this place could be a good option. We enjoyed our time here, it just wasn't an ideal stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PairOBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Aloha PairOBears,

thank you for posting your review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy many of the features of the property. I'm sorry you were not aware of what type of property this is or its location. I will pass along your comments about the staff.

Please let me know if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lahaina is beautiful. The Outrigger was clean, comfortable and nice and close to town. Comfortable with good amenities. The pools were both beautiful though there was something about needing to wear wrist bands which was never explained to us and we never figured out!

The most annoying thing was that they wanted $15 per day for parking, which seemed obscene. We had no problems parking on the road outside the hotel for free each night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Aloha rscoro,

thank you for taking the time to post a favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the property and in Lahaina in general. The wristbands are for guests choosing to use the pool area as the property has had issues with non guests utilizing the pool areas.

It's great you had no issues finding off site parking as sometimes that can be challenging. Some of the benefits to paying the parking fee are that you are able to park very close to your unit and the parking lot is more secure than parking on the street.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
239 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £114 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing