We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Not Stay Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will Not Stay Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Outrigger Aina Nalu appears to be very nice. Unfortunately their upgrades, which you see on their website (like granite countertops in the bathroom), doesn’t matter if the overall room isn’t clean. Specifically, their baseboards and moldy AC unit.

We also went to the front desk, the night we checked in, and requested an extra pillow. They weren’t very friendly and said that we needed to come back in the morning to get one. Defeats the purpose, right?

Overall cleanliness and hospitality were lacking. We would not stay here again.

They did have a very nice pool/spa.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha Katie N,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that the customer service was lacking. After 10:00 pm we have an attendant at the Front Desk who is able to provide keys and directions to the unit but is not able to provide other Front Desk services.

When you have cleanliness issues in the unit please bring them to our attention right away so we can have housekeeping correct them or possibly find you another unit. Unfortunately we are not able to correct the situation if it is not brought to our attention until check out.

Please let me know if you would like to discuss your stay further.
Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is your basic condo. rental with no frills provided. Since there are few places to stay adjacent to Lahaina, this location is in demand. I rented a two bedroom, two bath unit with a full kitchen and washer & dryer. The units are dark inside and don't provide any sort of view. Furnishings are comfortable, basic, and clean. Prices are very reasonable. The only things that keep me coming back here are the price and the location. Be aware that they don't clean your room while you are there unless you pay for it. That wasn't always the case.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha 8640,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melba, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you don't want to pay extra cleaning and parking costs, then stay somewhere else. Other hotels closer to harbor do not charge extra for parking or cleaning the rooms. We never received an email confirmation of our reservation, and thankfully after pressing the manager we were able to cancel our reservation and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha Irene W,

thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry you were not aware of what you booked but that management was still able to assist you.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Positives:
* Location: A couple of blocks from Front St., which is the main shopping and entertainment street. Also can walk to the docks for boat rides to Lanai and Molokai or a snorkeling trip.
* Kitchenette, so you can prepare your own food (but only a microwave for cooking, no stove top or oven). Dishes, etc. provided.

No daily housekeeping services unless you pay for them. Neither a plus or a minus. However, there is a charge added to the bill ($40 for a studio) when leaving for cleaning the room.

Negatives:
* Studio room was a little smaller than a typical hotel room. Due to making room for the kitchenette, to fit in the double bed and table, the bed was turned sideways so we slept parallel to the wall rather than perpendicular to the wall and headboard. That was a bit disconcerting
* Parking costs $17.50/day. May be able to park for free on the street, but those spots are hard to find. There are nearby lots that charge less, but don't have in and out privileges.
* Bureaucratic attitude. Supposed to have a wrist band to use the two pools, but they don't give you one when you check in. Need to go to an office by one of the pools. Nearby is the concierge, but it seems they mainly want to sell you tours. Also, would not print boarding passes.
* No large or lit sign, and sign did not say Outrigger, so had trouble finding it a night. Went by and had to pay careful attention to the address to get into it the first time.

With a good deal, this is an OK place to stay if you want to be right in town. Otherwise, probably should look elsewhere,

Room Tip: Larger unit than a studio would be more comfortable, but would cost more. Two stories, no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkArlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha MarkArlVA,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to enjoye the convenience of the location and the kitchenette.

Based on your comments about the studio unit I would recommend you book a 1 bedroom unit next time. The 1 bedrooms would have a full kitchen, and seperate bedroom and living room areas.

Please let me know if you are interested in booking another stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good and bad - pool was nice as was the spa (albeit a little too warm).

Bad - vague directions about how to get to our rooms - no offer of anyone to show us there. No elevators or ramps meant that we (two young girls) had to lug our very heavy suitcases up a number of stairs. Nobody offered to help us with that. I would have expected more at a 'resort' / hotel - it is cheaper than some of the other hotels, but you are still paying enough money to warrant a little assistance.

The wifi is terrible. They claim to have wifi at the property but it only works in two spots and even then, it is incredibly sporadic. You either have to sit in the lobby or in a certain spot under the pool hut to get a connection. This was incredibly frustrating especially given we were from O/S so relied on wifi to get in contact with people back home.

Rooms - fine - but very small. No real room to move about in the space. Bathrooms were clean and I liked the look of the shower.

Location - perfect. Right near Front Street - very handy. Most of the resorts are further down but you can easily catch a bus that costs $2 and takes less than 10 minutes to get down that way. I personally preferred the Front Street location over the very touristy resort area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkadot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha polkadot123,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location of the property and the bathroom of the unit.

I apologize that you had a hard time finding your unit and that you were not told ahead of time this is a condominium property and not a true hotel. You have brought up a point that may help other guests with their stays. The property does not have elevators or bell service and guests will need to carry their luggage up stairs to get to the 2nd floor. Please ask us upon check in if you need assistance with your bags as sometimes we do have someone available to assist you.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay.



Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here 7 nights and could not have asked for better service and location. Out beats any other place in are. The amenities are absolutely fabulous, the staff is wonderful. Love it, love it. Can't wait to go back. The price is also fabulous,

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, better breeze and you don't hear noise on ceiling. Best thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha Marta M,

thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property soon. Please contact me directly if you need assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The room wasn't clean; mirrors, doors, molding, headboard, AC - all were so clearly dirty and not cleaned, which really makes it irritating to pay cleaning fee, when clearly they're not cleaning. There were two nice pools (one salt water), but good luck getting a spot - they were always full. Woman at check in was so rude. Talked with her three times (check in, getting parking pass, and to inquire about wrist bands for pool) - rude every single time. You can hear everything outside the rooms - people walking, talking. And when you're walking outside the rooms, you can hear nearly everything inside ( people brushing teeth, showering, talking, TV). You have to pay $17.50 per night for parking. Close to everything, so that was a plus. Bottom line, we won't be back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: You hear everything no matter where you are. You pay for ALL extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK_Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha AK_Dragonfly,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would appreciate if you would contact me directly to discuss your stay.

Please let me know if you change your mind in regard to staying with us again.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing