We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is fantastic, price even better”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location is fantastic, price even better”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose this property primarily based on both TA reviews and past experience staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in Waikiki.

Firstly, this is not a hotel. For all those reviews below that refer to this being not 'hotel standard', its quite clear from the booking sites and the Outrigger website, these are condominiums not hotel rooms. Therefore, there is very little service, no bellman, no real Concierge, no restaurants, no room service and certainly no pool drinks service! But if you accept all that, and book anyway, what you do get is:

Fantastic location to Lahaina, and all the restaurants/bars/shops/cafes on Front Street (maybe a 3 minute walk at most)

Full service kitchen (2 bedroom unit we had) and full laundry - very handy!

Beautiful and tastefully decorated island theme room

Choice of 2 pools and spa/whirlpool in beautiful tropical gardens

I will be very upfront about this - the WiFi is almost non-existent and the in-room high speed internet is useless if you have a MacBook unless you have a USB/Ethernet cable - be warned, bring one, or you will be frustrated. In saying that, we were on holidays and it was actually very refreshing to be disconnected! We just strolled down to Starbucks around 10 minutes walk to use their WiFi if we needed too.

We loved our stay here at Aina Nalu, the front office staff were helpful and warm - as was the security team around the pool areas. We felt totally relaxed, and very much enjoyed staying here. It was as though we had moved to the Islands for a while, and the charm of not having to battle for a lounge by the pool was awesome!

Our room was lovely and comfortable, we made use of the kitchen only for breakfast really, but if we had a family, I can see the value in having a kitchen. Whilst we didn't use the poolside BBQ, they were certainly popular! The nearest supermarket is only 10 minutes away or an ABC store inside 3 minutes as well. The Maui Bus departs frequently at other places around the island ($2 per ride) and bus stop is 3 minutes away too - why would you hire a car?

Overall, we think Aina Nalu is excellent value and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_and_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Aloha Adrian_and_Susie,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for also posting your realistic tips for our future guests information. I will also pass along your comments regarding the staff.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    438
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
411
415
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
twickenham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed forst two weeks of feb. Our fourth stay at the aina nalu . Enjoyed this stay as much as three previous. Nice grounds, pools, rooms clean and full kitchens with washer dryers in bathrooms. Staff helpful when needed. No housekeeping but that wasn't an issue for us.
We knew of and paid the $17.50 parking fee per day but were not happy that on two occasions, after long days out, we returned to our car the next morning to find notes informing us the car would be towed if the permit was not displayed. If you're charging $17.50per day per car why can't the hotel afford to just keep a log of guests cars?.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better, more airy and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmanfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Aloha gmanfst,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased you returned for the 4th time.

You raise a good point in regard to the parking and I have forwarded your concern. However when the parking lot is near full it is very difficult to keep track of license plate numbers. Which is why the parking passes are currently needed.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for a week with girlfriends and we were in a two bedroom one bath in the H building. Liked the location though no lanai. We did use the pool patio seating and tables to enjoy our dinner outside though. Good Grills available. Pools are very nice, hot tub is clean. You can definitely park in the neighborhood though I think the hotel should not be charging $17.50/day for parking. Trick in to get back to the hotel a bit early to find parking. Never once had trouble though some residents were angry with me parking in front of their house. The hotel definitely needs to rethink the parking fees. First night in go to the Safeway and get the local poke, cook up some rice (rice cooker in the room) and enjoy. Had all the amenities in the kitchen. Also if you are dying for a little beach the first day you get there walk down to front street and turn left and walk to the little beach where all the outriggers are. Walk down and just float in the water. Awesome after a long flight. If you smoke DO NOT smoke in your room, there are designated smoking areas. The guy ahead of me got slapped a hefty smoking fee. Two separate security guards saw them smoking in their room.

Room Tip: If you stay in the H building which is only 2 bd 1 ba units try to get the top floor, vaulted ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha MaryMc1973,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noting some helpful tips for other guests. The beach area you suggested is a very convenient walk from the property.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We hope you will come back again soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winmalee
Level Contributor
210 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in Maui for eight nights and spent first four at Aina Nalu in Lahaina. We were aware of resort fees and the fact you have to pay a fee if your require daily service etc etc so had no issues with these fees. The location for staying in Lahaina is great and is easy walk to attractions and restaurants. The resort has two great pools and we were more than happy with our room. All in all hard to fathom some of the negative reviews but if you wan't to look for faults your will no doubt find faults. Highly recommend Outrigger Aina Nalu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha richo21282,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable and honest review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

the reception of this hotel is awesome, some of the reception staff were pretty hard faced but others were extremely friendly and helpful.
the hotel rooms themselves look very ordinary like temporary accommodation for evacuees, but internally the accommodation had all we required and were lovely and cool. the rooms were very well equipped. we were lucky enough to have ground floor rooms.
the pool and cabana's were lovely and very relaxing.
there was limited wifi available, ie not in our rooms, and even the kids didn't complain too much about that.

it was an excellent central location for this interesting tourist town. we were only a short walk to the huge banyan tree and the main street, but far enough away that you didn't hear any of the noise.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms while having cars right at your balcony door, were cooler than upstairs. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha Roslyn R,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. The property is very convenient in terms of location and it's great you were able to take advantage of that.

Please let me know if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Great service!
we were supposed to get only one room but when we arrived they gave us a huge two rooms with kitchen with no extra charge!!!
The pool was clean and nice!
You can get information for all activities on the island, we actually won a scuba diving with 50 % off.
Amazing stay with no issues! I would come back there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraN_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha LoraN_87,

thank you for posting your fantastic review! Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I had read so many poor reviews on this hotel. So when we bid on Priceline and this was what we got, I was disappointed to say the least. BUT when we got there, got in our room and checked out the property, I was in love! I have no idea what other people saw that was so bad! We Loved it and we would absolutely stay there again! Their fresh water pool area is so relaxing! I could have slept on those lounge chairs for years! The room was nice, especially for the price! It was super close to the downtown area, which meant we could walk and avoid the parking hassle! I'm ready to go back!

The only downfall I saw is they do sneak in a $19/day fee for parking which is annoying. However, there is street parking so you don't necessarily have to buy it but street parking is hit or miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kknichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Aloha Kknichols,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of the property. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
876 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing