We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“75 dollar cleaning fee”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We had a reserved a studio room and arrived early at 1 pm. Our room wasn't ready until 5 pm. While the location was great and the kitchenette came in handy, the first thing we noticed was the strong smell of fish. We had ants crawling in the bathroom and there was very noticeable mold growing on the wall. Service was mediocre and we were charged a mandatory $75 cleaning fee upon leaving. Must not have read the fine print as this came as a surprise. They charge if you want your room cleaned during your stay as well. I would avoid this place if possible.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jakeh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Aloha Jakeh3,

thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us. Were you able to notify the Front Desk during your stay in regard to your unit conditions? This is not an acceptable standard and they would have tried to find other accommodations for you. I also apologize you were not made aware of the check out cleaning cost ahead of time.

Please contact me directly to share the information regarding your stay with us. I would like to make sure this is addressed and taken care of. Please also let me know if there is anything else I may assist you with.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose this property primarily based on both TA reviews and past experience staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in Waikiki.

Firstly, this is not a hotel. For all those reviews below that refer to this being not 'hotel standard', its quite clear from the booking sites and the Outrigger website, these are condominiums not hotel rooms. Therefore, there is very little service, no bellman, no real Concierge, no restaurants, no room service and certainly no pool drinks service! But if you accept all that, and book anyway, what you do get is:

Fantastic location to Lahaina, and all the restaurants/bars/shops/cafes on Front Street (maybe a 3 minute walk at most)

Full service kitchen (2 bedroom unit we had) and full laundry - very handy!

Beautiful and tastefully decorated island theme room

Choice of 2 pools and spa/whirlpool in beautiful tropical gardens

I will be very upfront about this - the WiFi is almost non-existent and the in-room high speed internet is useless if you have a MacBook unless you have a USB/Ethernet cable - be warned, bring one, or you will be frustrated. In saying that, we were on holidays and it was actually very refreshing to be disconnected! We just strolled down to Starbucks around 10 minutes walk to use their WiFi if we needed too.

We loved our stay here at Aina Nalu, the front office staff were helpful and warm - as was the security team around the pool areas. We felt totally relaxed, and very much enjoyed staying here. It was as though we had moved to the Islands for a while, and the charm of not having to battle for a lounge by the pool was awesome!

Our room was lovely and comfortable, we made use of the kitchen only for breakfast really, but if we had a family, I can see the value in having a kitchen. Whilst we didn't use the poolside BBQ, they were certainly popular! The nearest supermarket is only 10 minutes away or an ABC store inside 3 minutes as well. The Maui Bus departs frequently at other places around the island ($2 per ride) and bus stop is 3 minutes away too - why would you hire a car?

Overall, we think Aina Nalu is excellent value and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian_and_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Aloha Adrian_and_Susie,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for also posting your realistic tips for our future guests information. I will also pass along your comments regarding the staff.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed forst two weeks of feb. Our fourth stay at the aina nalu . Enjoyed this stay as much as three previous. Nice grounds, pools, rooms clean and full kitchens with washer dryers in bathrooms. Staff helpful when needed. No housekeeping but that wasn't an issue for us.
We knew of and paid the $17.50 parking fee per day but were not happy that on two occasions, after long days out, we returned to our car the next morning to find notes informing us the car would be towed if the permit was not displayed. If you're charging $17.50per day per car why can't the hotel afford to just keep a log of guests cars?.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better, more airy and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmanfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Aloha gmanfst,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased you returned for the 4th time.

You raise a good point in regard to the parking and I have forwarded your concern. However when the parking lot is near full it is very difficult to keep track of license plate numbers. Which is why the parking passes are currently needed.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for a week with girlfriends and we were in a two bedroom one bath in the H building. Liked the location though no lanai. We did use the pool patio seating and tables to enjoy our dinner outside though. Good Grills available. Pools are very nice, hot tub is clean. You can definitely park in the neighborhood though I think the hotel should not be charging $17.50/day for parking. Trick in to get back to the hotel a bit early to find parking. Never once had trouble though some residents were angry with me parking in front of their house. The hotel definitely needs to rethink the parking fees. First night in go to the Safeway and get the local poke, cook up some rice (rice cooker in the room) and enjoy. Had all the amenities in the kitchen. Also if you are dying for a little beach the first day you get there walk down to front street and turn left and walk to the little beach where all the outriggers are. Walk down and just float in the water. Awesome after a long flight. If you smoke DO NOT smoke in your room, there are designated smoking areas. The guy ahead of me got slapped a hefty smoking fee. Two separate security guards saw them smoking in their room.

Room Tip: If you stay in the H building which is only 2 bd 1 ba units try to get the top floor, vaulted ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Aloha MaryMc1973,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noting some helpful tips for other guests. The beach area you suggested is a very convenient walk from the property.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We hope you will come back again soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in Maui for eight nights and spent first four at Aina Nalu in Lahaina. We were aware of resort fees and the fact you have to pay a fee if your require daily service etc etc so had no issues with these fees. The location for staying in Lahaina is great and is easy walk to attractions and restaurants. The resort has two great pools and we were more than happy with our room. All in all hard to fathom some of the negative reviews but if you wan't to look for faults your will no doubt find faults. Highly recommend Outrigger Aina Nalu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Aloha richo21282,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable and honest review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

the reception of this hotel is awesome, some of the reception staff were pretty hard faced but others were extremely friendly and helpful.
the hotel rooms themselves look very ordinary like temporary accommodation for evacuees, but internally the accommodation had all we required and were lovely and cool. the rooms were very well equipped. we were lucky enough to have ground floor rooms.
the pool and cabana's were lovely and very relaxing.
there was limited wifi available, ie not in our rooms, and even the kids didn't complain too much about that.

it was an excellent central location for this interesting tourist town. we were only a short walk to the huge banyan tree and the main street, but far enough away that you didn't hear any of the noise.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms while having cars right at your balcony door, were cooler than upstairs. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Aloha Roslyn R,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. The property is very convenient in terms of location and it's great you were able to take advantage of that.

Please let me know if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Great service!
we were supposed to get only one room but when we arrived they gave us a huge two rooms with kitchen with no extra charge!!!
The pool was clean and nice!
You can get information for all activities on the island, we actually won a scuba diving with 50 % off.
Amazing stay with no issues! I would come back there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraN_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Aloha LoraN_87,

thank you for posting your fantastic review! Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,084 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £132 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing