We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect family accommodations”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
West Sayville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect family accommodations”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We rented a 2 bed 2 bath condo in April and it was the perfect set up for our family. The condo was spotless and updated beautifully. (think Hawaiian pottery barn style). Tons of floor to ceiling windows and light. Convenient for warming up leftovers and having snacks, drinks, and breakfast always on hand. the staff was friendly and helpful. The washer dryer priceless on a beach vacation. we loved the pools and spa. The grounds were constantly being maintained. only seemed very busy once in the whole 6 days we were there. otherwise very quiet and peaceful. You can walk to just about anything in town as well.

Room Tip: stay on the second floor if you want more privacy with the shades and windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readabook3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha readbook3,

thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary review. I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful when travelers who stay with us for the first time, truly enjoy their stay. I will pass along your comments about the staff.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    439
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
414
415
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I go to Maui yearly, and this will be my pick from here on out. We’ve stayed at most of the major resorts and wanted to try something different.

Disclaimer: If you’re someone who needs free daily maid service, room service, spa or kids club, and food & alcohol onsite, this isn’t for you. You DO have the option to pay extra for daily, or twice weekly, etc maid service if you need it. I believe it was somewhere around $25-50/day depending on what you needed. We stayed 7 nights and didn't need a maid to come in once. There are stairs only, no elevators here.

There were lots of couples young and old, families and singles, truly a one fits all kind of place.

We had a nice one-bedroom condo on the 2nd floor of the eucalyptus building. (It had a pull out sofa, so we could’ve gotten 4 people in there). It was clean and quiet.

What I LOVED:
• Location: This is about 1 block back from the banyan tree on Front Street in the heart of Lahaina. This means you’re walking distance to tons of restaurants, shops, etc. Lahaina also has events Friday nights (art lovers) and a Saturday craft fair (under the banyan tree). You’re also walking distance to the harbor where many of the boats offering activities depart from.
• Our condo was recently updated, all the furniture was new-ish and didn’t show any wear and tear, the kitchen and bathroom were both nicely updated. (Our kitchen was FULLY stocked with cookware, blender, toaster, Tupperware, etc etc.)
• Washer/dryer in the unit and I only had to ask the front desk to receive more soap. Many condos I’ve stayed at, would charge for extra soap or wouldn’t offer it and I would have to purchase at a grocery store.
• Grocery store (foodland) within walking distance (3 blocks) (We were on LA time, and up at 4am almost everyday, I was thankful to be able to get breakfast stuff so we weren’t starving by the time nearby restaurants opened)
• Two pools to pick from, the larger salt-water pool being my favorite, it was also never crowded like the large resorts. Theres also a large grass area by that pool.
• Free cabanas & BBQ’s at the pools (first come first serve)
• You can enjoy that cocktail at dinner and walk back to the condo, no worries.
• SAFE- I mostly travel alone with my young daughter, we had no issues walking around the resort or to and from Front Street at any hour of the day. We didn’t have one questionable experience, or even that feeling of it being a possibility.

What I didn’t love:
• I like really nice sheets, and they weren’t really nice. I’m guessing these were average sheets.
• Our unit could have used a new mattress; it felt like an older one.
• No WIFI in the rooms, only hard connections
• Mosquitos at the pool. Apparently, I am delicious, they loved me.

TIPS:
Rental car: Unless you plan on driving to sightsee everyday, you don’t need a car your whole trip. We had one, but several people we met did not and they didn’t seem to be suffering without one.
Parking: If you don’t want to pay $17/day for parking, park on the street.
Washer/Dryer: The studios do not have washer/dryers
1st floor vs 2nd floor: parking is in front of each building (there are 4 with parking on each side) so almost ALL first level condos will have cars parked in front of them at some point(think going to bed and lights from a car parking just in front of your unit.) Also all the buildings look alike, we found many people lost looking for the pool, the trash etc so there’s a lot of foot traffic by the 1st floor units as well. Given they all have the glass shutter-like windows, this means you hear when people walk by. 2nd floor units also have vaulted ceilings and are brighter than 1st floor units.
Short cut: there’s a shortcut to front street, walk out near the main gate and there’s a street called “hale street” it looks like an ally that ends behind a building, but there’s a walkway through the large building which puts you on front street.
Exercise: we found that by walking down Wainee street to prison street, then prison street towards the ocean, then front street towards Dickenson, then back to wainee, was a nice 2 mile walk. You can extend another several blocks easily.
Fees: There are fees for parking and for cleaning when you leave. It’s listed, people just have a hard time seeing it because it’s written and not included on the total with taxes.
View: Garden/pool. There are no ocean view rooms as you’re about 2 blocks from it.
Small children: The salt-water pool is about 5-7 feet deep all the way around, this wouldn’t be my pool pick for kids who aren’t great swimmers, though many little kids had arm floaties and seemed to do fine.
Beaches within walking distance: There are two walk-able swimmable beaches on either side of the harbor. The one to the left (facing the ocean) is better for surfing; the one on the right <baby beach> is better for small kids and paddle boarding (no waves)

Must do activity: Clear kayak rental. This is great for people who are not fond of swimming, or smaller children who don’t like snorkeling. My daughter isn’t big on swimming, so I rented the clear kayak (seats two) for two hours (Makena Landing on the south side of the island) and it was INCREDIBLE. The bottoms of the kayaks are some kind of plastic and you’re able to see everything you kayak over. Plus they launch them near two lava tubes, which had an amazing array of live coral and sea life. We even had a turtle come and say hello to us. (BOOK the 7am time slot, less people and more active sea life) www.clearkayaksmaui.com

Room Tip: book 2nd floor rooms, not 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha liz e,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable and very informative review. Your disclaimer is very helpful as staying in a condo while on vacation while not for everyone is a great choice for many travelers.

Please contact me in regard to the unit you stayed in as we would like to pass along the mattress comments to them. I will be sure to forward the other things you did not love to management.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property soon. Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is our third stay at Aina Nalu, and once again, we loved everything about our condo. The check-in process is smooth and welcoming, and our vacation home was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The setting is amazing, with lush gardens and beautiful pool areas offering the serene setting of a tropical paradise with mountains as the backdrop, and yet only 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants of Lahaina. What a perfect place to unwind and relax after a day of touring! We love the new policy of a one-time cleaning fee at the end of our stay, as we don't need someone picking up after us each day, but for those who desire it, daily cleaning is also an option.

Aina Nalu is an inexpensive way to experience all that Maui has to offer. We consider it our Maui home, and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper level with a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvztravl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha luvz2travl,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I would also like to thank you for continuing to stay with us here at the property. You have also noted some helpful information for our future guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your 4th stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are a Make A Wish Family that had the fortune to spend 8 days at the Aina Nalu. It was perfect for us. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit on the first floor and found it to be quiet, clean, spacious and well maintained. Upon arrival I thought I was going to have to take care of some of the room incidentals but the manager was wonderful and told me that they were taking care of it for us as we were a Make A Wish family. My sons both used the saltwater pool and loved it. Access for my son can be an issue as he uses a prosthetic or crutches, but the grounds are laid out in a way that makes them very accessible and easy to get around. The grounds are beautiful; full of lush tropical vegetation. We used our kitchen for breakfast every morning and made use of the washer dryer. Next time we will bring less clothing as it is so easy to wash and dry in the unit. The only downside was the concierge who turned out to be more of a poor saleswoman than concierge, I tried 3 times to get information from her that wasn't a sales pitch, but never did get what I wanted. In the end I used my guide books and my smarts to get our family the vacation they had dreamed of. Do the drive to Hana, which she had told me not to do, it's worth every single breath-taking and scary moment!! We were able to walk every night to Front Street to eat and not worry about driving. Safety is a non-issue, we walked around the entire town early, late, day, night; no one ever even came close to bothering us. Mahalo to the people at Aina Nalu who helped make my son's wish come true!! We hope to see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Aloha Bridgit123,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm so glad your family was able to enjoy your stay with us. I will pass along your comments to the Front Office Manager as I'm sure she will be pleased you enjoyed your stay as well.

I apologize that our concierge was not able to provide you with the customer service you were expecting. If you would like to contact me directly to provide more information I can be sure to pass this along to the appropriate person.

I'm glad you were able to do the drive to Hana and also felt walking around the general area felt safe. I realize that is sometimes a concern while on vacation.

We are so pleased that your son enjoyed his stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Please let me know if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We just got home yesterday (two adults)after spending 5 nights at Aina Nalu and loving it. We had a one bedroom overlooking the pool area with a full kitchen. Upon arrival, they were not quite ready for us and then upgraded us for having to wait and it was worth it. The king size bed was very comfortable, the washer and dryer in the bathroom was perfect because we had traveled light and washed several small clothing loads. Aina Nalu is within easy walking distance of the water and all the shops on Front Street. Of the staff we met, all were very nice, friendly and helpful. We spent time in the salt pool which was nice and also the Jacuzzi. The other pool was a bit too cool for us. We had just spent 3 nights on Oahu in a dump and were glad to find what we did in Lahaina. Aloha and I hope this helps someone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Aloha ksmc M,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased our Front Desk was able to upgrade you to the 1 bedroom unit. The washer and dryer as well as full kitchen definitely helps with a 5 night stay.

I will be sure to pass along your comments in regard to the staff. I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations after your other stay in Hawaii. It's wonderful you were able to enjoy the convenience of our location as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Not so nice facility, but in convenient location, that is only good thing about the hotel.
Rooster woke us up in 4:30 am in the morning. They charge you $17.50 for parking per day and $115 for cleaning. Well, too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Aloha Sam K,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and were not aware of the fees that are charged. Please contact me if you would like to discuss your stay and find out other ways it could have been better. I'm glad you enjoyed the convenience of the property.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just got back from Maui and I thought i would review our stay at the Aina Nalu.
we had a 2 bedroom / 2 bath condo that was very clean and well maintained. The washer and dryer were also in top shape. The kitchen looked as though it had been through a recent reno. We loved the grounds around the place, even the chickens running about near the saltwater pool. there are huge amounts of different trees and flowers making for a very tropical vibe. The big pool was very busy most of the time we spent there. There were lots of kids and their families hanging about making it sometimes difficult to grab a loung chair. The staff was always friendly and easy to deal with. If you want to be right in Lahaina then I would have no problems recommending the Aiana Nalu. I found it really nice to go out for drinks and dinner and not have to worry about finding a taxi after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Aloha BCAI,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is hard to know on which days the pool area is busy but I'm glad you were able to enjoy the plants and flowers around the property. It seems you were also able to enjoy our convenient location.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.9 mi away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#20 of 32 in Lahaina
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing