We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodations for a family of 6!”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodations for a family of 6!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in Room C103 (Hibiscus Building) which had our back door facing the back pool area. The back pool area is heaven on earth! Our kids loved it! (Ages 15, 12, 8, & 6) You know you choose the right place to stay when the kids cannot wait to get back to the condo to swim! Our 2 bedroom/2 bath room was perfect, clean and nicely decorated. The showers were delightful, but no tub if you are tub person. We are not, so it worked great for us! The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything you need. Easy drive to Kaanapali Beach for snorkeling and beach fun. The concierge service was right outside our door when we wanted to plan an activity. We ate in quite a bit to save money and the kitchen was great. Refrigerator, stove/oven, and dishwasher. It had everything you needed to cook and eat. The beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a pool facing room on the 1st floor if you want access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crkuffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha crkuffner,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Outrigger Aina Nalu. It seems that staying in a condo was the right choice for your family. Thank you for also offering some helpful tips for other guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    438
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
411
415
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Location is nice - about 2 blocks to Front Street (near Library) - easy walk to other Front St. stores and such. Easy commute to Ka'anapali - about 30 minutes to Kihei Junction -- about 45 minutes to airport.

We had a two bedroom unit (condo). Nice interior appointments - which we didn't expect given the "old look" of the exterior. Beds were very comfortable. Flat-screen TVs in Living Room and both bedrooms. Walk-in showers (nice slate tile). Wall A/C units in each room (can get a bit loud) / ceiling fans. Stack washer/dryer in one of the bathrooms. Kitchen nicely outfitted -- coffee maker, microwave, oven, small refrig, blender, toaster, dishwasher.

Two nice pool areas -- small and big. Wish there were more BBQ units.

Extra treat! We visited during 4th of July and there was a wonderful fireworks show (over the water) provided by the local business community. From what we heard, this is the ONLY fireworks show on Maui on the 4th.

Be aware...
No Wi-Fi in the unit -- just a long CAT 5 cable in living room. Bring your own Wi-Fi access point (router) if you need Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi only available near the "office" (Concierge area). Parking is about $17/day. Street parking is at a premium, so not really an option unless you intend to park and let it stay during your visit. And.. some streets don't allow overnight parking.

Mandatory check-out cleaning fee of $117. (Note: if you want "daily maid service... that is an extra charge.)

No public computer (business center) on premise for things like checking email or printing out boarding passes. I was told, "Go to the Internet Cafe near the Burger King..." (Really???).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadGuyVTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha RoadGuyVTX,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Outrigger Aina Nalu. You have provided some good information for our future guests and we do appreciate that.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been staying at this place for years with my family. It's a great place for families to stay since mose of the places are condo style with a kitchen. It makes your trip a little easier having the kitchen there. It's always clean and the beds are comfy. The noise level isn't bad at all, which is always something I look for in a hotel. I'm a light sleeper and I've never had any issue sleeping here! The grounds are beautiful with flowers and plants. There are two pools to choose from and the ifinity pool is so relaxing to lounge in and around. Aina Nalu is about a block away from Front St., which is always nice to be able to walk to everything. There are a ton of restaurants nearby as well. This is a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_in_Santa_Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha Nic_in_Santa_Cruz,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are so delighted that you and your family enjoy staying at the property. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Good size 2 bedroom apartment. Excellent amenities in the room. Excellent location.
Only problem we had was the washing machine and phone didn't work but staff were very accommodating. Air conditions was loud.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gammynoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Aloha gammynoir,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I apologize your washer and phone were not working. If you would like to contact me directly I would be happy to reconfirm this problem has been corrected.

Please let me know if you need any assistance with booking your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

let's get to the point.

the pros:
- great location to the town! not far from beaches and the main highway
- also not far from the outlet malls of maui, and grocery store (foodland)
- we went there for a destination wedding, so we knew of other guests in other suites. we noted most of the suites had renovations done -- however, some were more upgraded than others. we lucked out with the renovations in our room.
- convenient for families and friends traveling together. our two-bedroom suite was suitable for a family with a child & a baby, and a couple.
- dishware and cutlery was nice, as well as the cookware.
- washing machine helped us lots! especially since we were at the beach a lot and also with young children
- for our suite, the doors to the bedrooms were soundproof. definitely appreciated since we had to share our suite with a young family.
- the pools were great!
- love the layout of the bathroom. spacious and clean.

the cons:
- for a hotel, I had certain expectations for comfort -- this was not met as I arrived slightly before 11pm that night to find a certain corner in my room filled with ants traveling to and from a whole/crack in the wall. given the hotel was booked full, we didn't have a chance to switch rooms. we had to paid for ant traps out of pocket, but maintenance did come in upon request to spray the room with ant-spray. definitely not pleasant. fortunately, the massive quantities of ants stopped, while there were still a few found during the visit. this helped in making my stay eventually comfortable.
- although cockroaches are supposedly common in the Hawaiian Islands, I also had expectations that these would be taken care of. A friend of ours that lived in another suite had found one, and they had very young infants. again, would expect at a B&B or motel, so was slightly disappointed.
- soundproofing is not the best. we could hear the kids upstairs in the suite jumping around loudly at times.
- paid parking is an arm and a leg, given there are also nearby lots around the hotel that charge much less. there is limited free street parking, so it makes it hard for young families.

overall, i would consider coming back - with hopes that the first two cons will not be an issue with the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
197 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This Place is great for spending a few Days in Lahaina, the location is great, just a few steps from Front street. The hotel is made up of a number of Buildings in a tropical setting with lots of palm trees and other plants, each building has 2 floors. Our unit had a big kitchen/living room, a big bedroom and washer/dryer next to the bath room so there was Everything you need. The interior was really nice and felt very modern yet cosy but stylish. There are 2 pools, one main pool with a big sitting area under a roof with a TV and bath rooms where there was internet. There's also a smaller pool, both are very nice. Check in and check out was very smooth and the staff very friendly. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sannis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha sannis82,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. I'm so pleased the property met your expectations and possibly more. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect when we book our vacation package through Costco travel. But, what a gem this location turned out to be. The location is within a few blocks of front street in Lahaina. The rooms were large and extremely clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There are two pools on the property one which is a saltwater. Parking is plenty fun but the resorts charges $17 a day for it which is minor with the limited street parking in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha Jay F,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all the property has to offer. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
877 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing