We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms and pool”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous rooms and pool”
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Aina Nalu was clearly decorated by someone with a great eye. Our suite was beautiful, with dark woods and a sleek island theme. It also had a washer/dryer (complete with thoughtful complementary detergent), a fully equipped kitchen, and dishes. We were able to drink wine in real wine glasses!

My favorite part was the pool. Aina Nalu had a saline pool, with light salt rather than chlorine. This meant no chlorine smell when I went to dinner afterwards, and the salt concentration was comfortable -- far less than the ocean. The pool waters came right up to the edge of the pool, making it seem as if it blended right in with the grass. A very romantic place to be!

  • Liked — The gorgous pool and the tons of amenities
  • Disliked — Difficult location to find; plainer front hides a magnificent interior
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LLKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    437
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
411
415
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2009

My two bedroom condo was dark and dingy. The airconditioning units were noisy and barely functional. It was hard to listen to TV when the units were on. The livingroom was very small with one sofa and a small side chair. There was no dining room table with four chairs. We ended up eating on the sofa-what fun is that? I also got bad bed bites that kept getting worse over time. I have open sores on my feet from rubbing during my sleep. I would pay more for a nicer stay.

The pool was nice and I liked the gas grill. It is located three streets from the ocean.

  • Liked — pool and the courtyard
  • Disliked — my room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mosaicEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2008

The Good:

The best thing about the Aina Nalu is the location. There simply are not many places to stay if you wish to be in downtown Lahaina.

The insides have been refurbished recently and are tastefully done. Nice showers.

Nice pool with free wifi.

The Bad:

It is right off the highway and the back section of the "Resort" sounds of traffic and sirens all day and night.

The service is terrible and the Concierge/Front desk lady (Liz) has been rude and put out at the few questions we have had such as asking for directions to the aquarium and where are some good places to eat.

The walls facing the inner sections of the "Resort" are glass. While that doesn't seem to be an issue at first, you soon realize that you can hear everything and everyone can hear you. Bathroom, TV, conversations even at a moderate level, housekeeping with their large carts...everything.

While the grounds are well kept, the outside of the units are a bit dated. Air conditions are all mounted outside the units and are loud.

While the "Resort" is about 30% filled and parking is plenty, we are being charged an additional $15 a day. I can understand this is in "Big City" hotels, but there are probably a few hundred open spaces and this was never mentioned to us when we booked our reservation. We feel like we are being nickel and dimed.

FYI:
There is no room service, bar, vending machines or any type of store/gift shop to buy magazines or basics. The only ice machine I can find is at the pool.

Maui is wonderful. The Aina Nalu is not.

  • Liked — Location to downtown
  • Disliked — Service, specifically Liz
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mauifun2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

What a pleasant surprise! All of the staff was very helpful and professional at this tastefully decorated property. The one bedroom unit was furnished with all the comforts of home including a washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, and two TV's. We stayed on the 1st floor with parking conveniently outside our backdoor, if I go back in the future would probably request upper floor for more light in unit. Property furnishes pool towels for the use at their two pools, giving you a choice if you need more privacy at times. Free wireless is available at both pools but not in the rooms. No big deal and there are comfortable places to sit in a covered area with tables, large screen TV, and restrooms if you have to spend alot of time on your computer. The property is close and a pleasant walk to downtown , convenient to restaurants. There are new gas grills at pool area if you wish to cook rather than eat out and grocery stores close by. This is a great place to stay if you don't need a beach out your door and there are tons of public beaches in Maui.

  • Liked — Pools and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking fee
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We stayed during quiet season, so the hotel was virtually empty. Therefore, when they gave us one of the worst locations in the complex, we were puzzled. We had booked their most expensive two-bedroom garden apartment and they gave us a room opposite the very noisy and busy highway, away from the two pools and right near the bins and cleaner's building. The room decor was nice but location was terrible!!!

It took our husbands quite a while to convince the staff that it was a bad location and that we should be moved. The staff tried to convince us that it would be noiser near the pool. Anyway, we moved and it was perfect. The pool was hardly being used and has reasonable pool hours for noise anyway. Most people would rather hear laughter coming from the pool than airbrakes from huge trucks, I think. Once we were moved, the rooms were beautiful and were perfectly located amongst gardens near the pool and balinese daybeds.

Unfortunately though there was only enough chairs in the apartment for 3 adults - 2 seater-lounge and one arm chair, which was also a bit strange, considering the apartment is for families of at least 4.

The daytime staff were definitely less than helpful but the pool, gardens, rooms and price made up for their disinterest. Just make sure they don't put you anywhere near the main highway. Request a room facing the main pool and Balinese entertaining area, that isn't on the highway side of the complex.

Don't expect the staff to go out of their way to help and just enjoy the location close to Lahaina old town, the pool and nicely furnished apartment. Based on price, room style and location in Lahaina, I would stay there again but I would be very specific about room location.

  • Liked — Pool Area and great apartment
  • Disliked — Staff disinterest and initial room allocation didn't make sense. Worst room at an empty hotel???
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydneyzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
179 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

2 Nights from Oct 9th to 11th.
2 Guest
Unit: K-204 (2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Condo Unit)
Room Rate: $150 a night (Kamaaina (Hawaii Resident) Rate)

Pros: Walking distance to Lahaina Town, Beautifully remodeled units, Friendly staff, nice swimming pools.

Cons: $15 a day parking, sprawling resort, swimming beach about 10 minutes away.

About a year or so ago, the former Maui Islander, economy hotel was converted to a beautifully redone Outrigger managed condotel. All units were remodeled from top to bottom with marble tiles, black counter tops and bedding.

We really love the convenient location to Lahaina town, with its abundance of shopping and dining. We had reservations for a 1 bedroom unit, but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit. Unit K-204 had a full kitchen, with all the amenities. Everything was still brand new.

With visitor counts down due to the declining financial market and high fuel prices, this sprawling resort was practically empty. The only exceptions were the permanent residents and a handful of guests. We had the pool, all to ouryourselves and could park our car, anywhere we wanted.

I would definitely recommend this property and return the next time we are on the West Side of Maui.

SGS Pearlridge, Hawaii 101108

  • Liked — Location & Full Kitchen
  • Disliked — Sprawling Resort
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGerard_S84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Great location a couple of blocks from the waterfront making it convenient and not as expensive as hotels on the water. Property appears to have recently been renovated. Our unit was a studio and had a nice kitchenette area. Unit had a bit of a musty smell & a window-type A/C unit that was noisy- neither of which was unbearable. The downside: our unit (F101) was at the back of the property by the dumpsters (allowing us a daily view of the dumpster divers) and the highway (noisey!!). The studio units are narrow, so to accomodiate the bed they use king size headboards and put queen size beds on the "longways." To sleep on the bed in the correct orientation, one of us would have had to sleep "longways" up against the head board. We opted to have our heads at the headboard, which meant our feet dangled over the end. Because of a table in the room, this was the only way the beds would fit into the room. After one sleepless night, I went to the front desk & asked to be moved. The clerk refused & said that all studio rooms were this way; to move me would require an upgrade (at my expense). She went further to state that had I paid for a 1 bedroom she would upgrade me to a 2 bedroom at no cost; but could not upgrade me to anything as I only paid for a studio. When I pointed out that the property was not anywhere near capacity (parking lot was very empty & there were not many people around) she again refused. So in short, the property was nice, but the main purpose of a hotel room is to sleep and this property did not live up to that expectation. They would be better to remove the tables & have guests comfortable in the beds.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed & front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
874 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing