We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foodie Paradise in Paradise”

Honu Seafood and Pizza
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Foodie Paradise in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The meal and overall experience we had at Honu was absolutely amazing. The food, ambience, staff and setting are all just perfect! We highly recommend that you do not miss this restaurant on your visit to Maui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailFrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    409
    138
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice but not our favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had to wait about ten mintues for our reserved table. Our server was then very efficient but not overly friendly.
We weren't fans of the small cramped and murky looking tank of lobsters by the door.
This restaurant was very expensive although the food was nice, we all enjoyed our meals.
Overall a good meal but not our favourite restaurant in Lahaina.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good, but not Great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had business in Lahaina, so we decided to stay for lunch. Heard positive comments about Honu. Hubby had the seafood chowder and a kale salad. I ordered the Ahi pasta. Sauce was flavorful with fresh tomatoes, etc. The pasta was wide long noodles. It reminded me of an egg noodle. They were somewhat overcooked to my liking. I liked the bread that came with the pasta, but it did not like me later. Yikes. Not sure what type of oil it was?

Hubby's soup was a thinner cream based chowder and not too salty. The lemon vinaigrette dressing on the salad worked well with the slight bitterness of the kale.

Wish I had made room for dessert, as they are made on premise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snorkellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I made this our first dinner stop during our recent trip to Maui. She loves turtles, and this location is known to have sea turtles swimming nearby - thus the name "Honu." The staff accommodated our request to be on the water where we did indeed spot turtles swimming nearby. The food was really good, with the mac n cheese dish we had as the star of the meal. This is a great place to have dinner and enjoy a sunset in Maui.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The setting is outstanding if you get the right table. We got the perfect table by the water at sunset. The food is pricey but tasty. I got the fish special, it was moist and had a nice sauce. The fish and chips were pretty average. My husband and I had two different pinot grigio and again average. We may go back more for the setting than for the food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mariels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing