We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unit #106 at Makani Sands”
Review of Makani Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makani Sands
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“unit #106 at Makani Sands”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

unit 106 has definitely had a facelift. New furniture and new appliances and new king sized bed. Very comfortable and clean. Walks right out to the ocean/beach. BBQs and tiki torches right outside the lanai. Very romantic. You can view the ocean from inside or outside, AMAZING. The turtles are awesome, great snorkeling literally right out the door, and the swimming beach is protected by a natural reef. Whale watching would be perfect from the room also. There is WIFI and TVs with cable so we were able to hook up all our electronics. Perfect spot for relaxing and strolling. In a great location. Will definitely be going back! Loved it!

Room Tip: Unit 106 was GREAT, highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent 7 wonderful weeks here in a 1 bedroom ground floor unit. It wasn't fancy but it was clean, neat and right on the ocean. Better snorkling right out your front door, and a great po-po night every Monday night. A great way to meet your neighbors. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I should preface by being clear that we had booked into unit 101 originally and discovered just before we flew out that due to electrical problems the condo was unavailable. As at our departure on December 19th the issue still didn't seem to be resolved.

We were therefore offered three rooms on the second floor (UK readers, Americans refer to ground as the first floor, so this for you would be the first floor - one above ground level). We opted for 202 since it was close to the edge of the building and near to the stairs, which was important for lugging groceries around and accessing the garden/beach area. 202 has a large HDTV which has HDMI inputs useful for iPad owners and such to stream media, but also has a SD card slot which is useful for viewing snaps taken during the day on a digital camera. The apartment is modern and has a very large, firm bed. There is no bath, just a walk in shower but it is of good quality. The apartment is well stocked and has plenty of "backup" supplies of things like light bulbs, which in fairness you don't always see in owner-let arrangements. The lanai is well appointed with a table and chair set, and lounger, above the standard usually seen. Sadly the lanai is spoiled by an obtrusive (new) balcony which sits right at eye level and ruins the view - there does of course need to be a rail but in choosing to match the front and rear balcony rails the view has been detrimentally affected.

Worse than this though has to be the noise experienced in this unit. Every single noise made by the occupants of both units 302 and 102 will be heard - every loud footstep, drawer being opened, TV turned and conversation had on will echo in this unit which drove me absolutely mad while we stayed there. If you're used to noise you won't find it an issue - but to illustrate the point, the OWNER of unit 102 on one night had his TV volume turned up and was shouting at the show he was watching until well after midnight; sadly a call to the property manager failed to rectify his behaviour and I lost a night's sleep. Having stayed in 102 previously we were shocked at his callous and frankly disgusting attitude toward other tenants. Be warned that 302 is a dual-storey unit and will be family occupied - unless you're not planning to spend much time in the unit, watch for the noise levels as this is not a relaxing apartment to stay in. Finally, there was an obvious layer of dust over the surfaces in both the bedroom and living quarters, which isn't really acceptable.

Unit 106 suffers exactly the same noise issue, but from 206 only. Since many apartments are tiled it makes sense that sounds will echo - they really do go right through you though. The redeeming feature of 106 however is that is has direct beach access so you have some escape while your neighbours rearrange their furniture and invite Herman Munster over for wrestling matches with Bigfoot. The bed in 106 is smaller (maybe even a double, not sure) and is very soft - and very low to the ground. The toilet also seems low to the ground so bear this in mind if you have back trouble. The unit itself is admittedly dated and will surely be soon due for a refurb, until then expect ants in the bathroom (this is NOT unique, you get this all over Maui). There is a tub but hot water is not an indefinite resource so plan for shallow soaks or lukewarm ones if that's your thing. The washer/dryer unit here is a separate-operating unit (unlike 202) so you can run laundry and drying at the same time. The dishwasher is awful, expect to hand clean most of what you use.

Murphy's Law dictates then that something else had to go wrong with 106 - and for us it was the plumbing, on Saturday night. The drains are shared between the units in a column - so 106, 206 and 306 all share pipework and when something backs up further down the system, the ground floor unit knows about it. To be blunt, we had food waste and other detritus backing up into the sink all through Saturday night and all day Sunday - we couldn't get anyone to look at it as the new owner had switched phones and not activated the line, and there is nobody on-site on Sunday. I don't mean to be gross, but at one point a dead cockroach floated up in the sink, that's just something you shouldn't have to see. The smell of the backed up water was just awful, we were glad to leave on Monday.

Elsewhere in the complex, work seems to be largely done on the renovations and the grounds are looking great, with a exterior beach wall and sand on the beach again (!). There are new gas tiki lights which give a great ambience, and the noise from the work was minimal, however it was a little disruptive as some corridors were taped off from time to time. The pool remains a tranquil and little-used refuge, even though it's at the front of the building it gets plenty of sun and has lots of recliners - and it's right outside unit 106.

Overall we have struggled to see the value proposition from Makani Sands this year and will not be returning next year. Though the rental manager Roseanna and the building manager Patrick are very helpful and responsive (they really are!) they're just not being properly supported by the unit owners, the disparity of standards between units is too high and the noise between floors simply must be addressed. We came to relax, we were glad to be leaving - that's not good.

Room Tip: Check availability calendars for rooms around yours to see if you're going to have neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AaronHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This had the opportunity to be a total disaster on our recent stay here. Our unit 101 was on the ground floor and a corner. Sounds great BUT... The resort was in the middle of a remodeling project and every morning (promptly at 08:00) we were treated to the sounds of power equipment and people literally walking though and around our condo. On the lanai etc.. Then we had issues inside of our unit (electrical and plumbing) that required service people inside of our room as well as outside. So we felt as though we were in the middle of a construction zone. That was the part that provided the chance to be a total mess..

The thing that saved the trip and us was the staff. Very friendly, helpful and understanding to our situation. I can't say enough about them and their efforts to compensate us for our inconvenience. Job well done!!

Now the resort itself is nice and I'm sure once all the work is complete will be great. It has a small sandy beach (very unusual for this area). Our condo was nicely furnished and everything else about the Makani Sands was fine. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but even with the construction finished wouldn't get room 101. Too much foot traffic all around to suit us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
issaquah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have stayed at Makani twice in the past years. Made reservations early this year and were cancelled one week before our vacation in October, 20ll. We had to scramble for accomodations at the last minute. I think they should have been a bit more considerate in helping us re-book. Would never make reservations with MAKANI again. HELLO! ever hear about compensation for our INCONVENIENCE??? We thought our vacation was all set, worry free, and we got jammed. not Good! Had to pay more for rooms, but learned a lesson. We sang the praises of Makan to family, NEVER MORE.

Room Tip: Double check before they cancel on you at the last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed in Unit 301, which is a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath. We LOVED the master bedroom suite with the lanai to ourselves. We brought daughter, son-in-law, and our two beautiful granddaughters of 3 and 4.5. The 3 bedroom layout was perfect for us. The kids could stay up late and not bother us. The twin room is downstairs so bring a baby monitor.

The beach here is lovely. A little rocky for the tender footed. Lovely little surf because there's a reef that breaks most of it. Great for the little kids, and adults alike who want to soak it up.

This unit needs some upgrading, which is why we only gave it a 4 out of 5; kitchen is old, and so are the bathrooms. The 2nd bedroom bathroom upstairs leaked into the kitchen through a ceiling vent so we had to keep a towel on the floor at all times. The Pergo flooring is delaminating a bit. But all-in-all it was great. We would recommend it to our friends, and we're definitely coming back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad ca
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

95 dollars for a beautiful one bedroom condo on the beach on maui !! we stayed in unit 202 which they told us was just fully remodeled and I have to believe it. EVERYTHING looked brand new. FREE PARKING !! private balcony overlooking beautiful private beach. (the waves can be loud at night though) little extras like coolers and snorkel equipment really made it over the top great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndepndant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.0 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#16 of 41 in Lahaina
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#20 of 41 in Lahaina
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaleialoha Condominiums
Kaleialoha Condominiums
#11 of 41 in Lahaina
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Polynesian Shores
Polynesian Shores
#9 of 41 in Lahaina
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahina Surf
Mahina Surf
#6 of 41 in Lahaina
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#35 of 41 in Lahaina
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makani Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makani Sands

Property: Makani Sands
Address: 3765 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5935
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makani Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean-front condominiums with BBQ, convenient west Maui location centrally located to shopping, restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Makani Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makani Sands Hotel Lahaina
Makani Sands Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing