We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Maui treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
N. California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“North Maui treasure”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Perfect location for exploring North end. A couple of great snorkel beaches within walking distance, Napili and Kapalua Bays. Quick access to Hwy 30. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Try not to get building #1 as the view is the parking lot,so we never use our lanai. The other units have the golf course views. The roosters crow, but that is part of Hawaii. The unit was spotless and had everything you need. I would give it a 5 if the one building was not on the parking lot.

Room Tip: avoid building one if you spend any time in the condo or like having your adult beverages on the Lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inheritsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Gardens at West Maui. We are glad our location was perfect for exploring the surrounding area. We are happy our staff was friendly and helpful, and that our accommodations were clean and well-equipped. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
29
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Didn't expect too much from this resort place but turned out a good surprise.

Location is a little further north of lahaina and other big resort and hotels. However, it is just half a block away from lovely Napili Bay. We went to that beach every day during out stay. We love that it is more quiet and less crowded than the main town resort area.

The suite is very clean and equipped with everything u need for the whole week. Very thoughtful. Big screen tv in bedroom and living room. their web site mentions only wired Internet at the office but surprisingly there is now complimentary wifi and it is fast! Comfy bed and air conditioning. The plus plus is the in suite laundry - love it!

The down side is the noise from the road. The roosters are still here (next door) but they r not that loud compares to ppl talking on the phone downstairs and garbage truck. The other thing we don't like about this place is that the entrance is in the back and we have to walk thro' a dark alley (by the building) and pass the laundry trolley and air conditioning fans. Not very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agentCodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are thrilled your stay at The Gardens At West Maui exceeded your expectations. We are happy you enjoyed our location, which allowed for a beach visit each day. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations. We love knowing our guests have everything they need and more. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We exchanged our timeshare week in Western Australia for a week at this lovely location. We arrived early for our check in and although our unit was not ready it was no problem. We completed the check in documentation and were asked if we had eaten and were referred to a nice reasonable priced restaurant at the resort across the road.
When we returned the unit was ready for us to book in and we what a pleasant surprise we had when we went up. Everything we needed was there. The unit was spotlessly clean and there generous supplies of detergent, soap etc.
Yes the roosters were a little noisy, however if we kept the bedroom windows closed they did not bother us.
Both the receptionist and the concierge were helpful and knowledgeable.
The resort is a little way out of the main area so a rental car would have been good, however we did one tour (the Road to Hana), went to a Laua and the rest of the time caught the local bus.
The beach at the front of the resort across the road was beautiful and we spent a lot of time there as will as in the pool of our units.
We would love to go back, but this time for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_retirees_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for exchanging into The Gardens at West Maui. We are thrilled you were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our accommodations. We love knowing that our guests have everything they need. We appreciate your compliments about our staff. We hope to welcome you back for an extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We bought here in 1998 and have used it six times and traded all other times. We own a studio but upgraded to a one-bedroom this time. First trip back since 2003. Still a nice clean place with a pool and a hot tub. This is a perfect place if you want a quiet place close to world-class beaches. All rooms have a full kitchen and washer and dryer. This is useful in saving money. Nice place for a couple to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iowaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you find our resort to be the perfect place for peace, quiet and world-class beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate your ownership! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a very spacious one bedroom room. The ladies at check in were very friendly our plane was late coming in and they stayed there for us to check in.
The room was very nice and clean. Its the first time we've stayed in a timeshare and actually cooked in the kitchen. It had everything we needed.
The location was amazing it's not right on the beach like their sister property. Which was the ONLY thing going for it. This one is across the street from one of the best beaches in the world. Great snorkeling too. This is one of the cleanest and nicest timeshares we have traded ours for.
Now the bad news is that it's surrounded by rooster farms. I was really nervous to stay reading the other reviews on the roosters but, I did not hear them at all. My mother- in-law slept on the pull out bed in the living room and said she heard them but they didn't keep her up. The same for my husband and daughter. We really enjoyed our time at this timeshare. My daughter and I even took lei making and hula lessons by the pool. This is a really nice property. The only draw back is that I don't think they have 2 or 3 bedroom rooms. We didn't need it but, in case someone should have a large family it would be nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was nice we had a big lanai and we could have a nice dinner out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy that you found our accommodations spacious and our staff friendly. We are glad that you used the kitchen, which was equipped with everything you needed. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the surrounding area. We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I traded our timeshare for this resort and we enjoyed our stay. My sister and her husband also rented a unit and enjoyed their first trip to Maui. We had units in building four and the roosters were noisy but did not bother us. Other than the roosters the unit was quiet, very nice and well kept. The unit we had was next to the pool on the first floor, no view. My sisters unit was overlooking the pool on the second floor, so we spent most of our time at her unit. The resort is in walking distance of two nice beaches. One of the beaches we have been going to for years for snorkling. A resturant is also near by. The pool was clean and the golf course was next door. The office was closed three days, if you have a problem you only had to call the office phone number and someone would be out to take care of any problems you may have. We had no issues at all. The condo is on the north west side of the island and you have a 50 minutes drive or so from the airport. about ten minute drive to Lahania from the condo. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: bld 4 was quiet. some noise from roosters but not as bad as bld 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for exchanging into The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy that you found your unit quiet and well kept. We are glad that our location was a convenience for enjoying the beach and snorkeling. We hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a beautiful end unit (#300) with windows/doors on 3 sides so it felt airy and open. After reading the reviews, I was so happy to be away from the roosters but the golf course maintenance vehicles start driving up the access road (just a few feet from the lanai) at 4:30 am, so we had to close the back slider and put on the kitchen fan. During the day, the whole resort was quiet the week we were there with not that many people staying there. A few times I was the only one at the pool area so I would be able to read in peace.
Although we did not participate, they have a full week of free activities such as hula lessons, lei making, bracelet making, free ice cream & garden walks. So if you have a family and looking for things to keep them busy, that would be a good option.
The location was great and thought Napili Beach was one of the nicest in Maui. It's fairly small but good snorkeling and swimming. We snorkeled three times there and swam with a giant sea turtle which was one of the highlights of our trip.
Another plus is the Sea House Restaurant across the street. They have a great happy hour but it's pretty busy so make sure you get there early. You can sit outside and watch the sunset from the restaurant. The Napili Kai across the street also has a great "ocean walk" path past the restaurant which leads to a point with good sunset viewing.
Loved the full kitchen with every utensil you could think of so it made it easy to use the gas grill by the pool. The grill was cleaned every day.
We stayed in 4 different resorts on our Maui trip and thought that Napili area was the best location.
We exchanged our timeshare on Cape Cod for this resort and was quite satisfied.

Room Tip: Probably Building 3, 4 or 5 would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Aloha! Thank you for visiting the Gardens at West Maui. We are happy we could justify your decision to forego Cape Cod in favor of our resort in beautiful Kapalua. Our world famous ocean views are definitely worth the exchange. We are happy you got in some quality reading time by our tranquil pool. Our numerous resort activities are fun for the whole family, but can be enjoyed by singles and couples as well. Our close proximity to breathtaking Napili Beach is one of the many benefits of staying at the Gardens at West Maui. Swimming with a giant sea turtle would be high up on anyone’s to-do list. We are glad you found our accommodations with their convenient amenities to your liking. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your generous review and hope you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.1 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.2 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#5 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#18 of 41 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#20 of 41 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#16 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kapalua Platinum Villas
Kapalua Platinum Villas
#1 of 1 in Kapalua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens at West Maui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Property: The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Address: 5500 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9051
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens at West Maui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gardens at West Maui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens At West Maui Hotel Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing