We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great views”
Review of Valley Isle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Isle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
west palm beach, fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in a 1 bdrm in May. I will exclude any comments about some of the repair work being done on the hallways as this is temporary. Just be sure and ask about construction work during your stay.
Pros:
Best thing is a great view every day from the balcony and living room.
Many whole owners so not a revolving door condo. Everyone there was very nice.
Kitchen is nice although many basic items were not there.
Grounds very nice, walk right out to the beach and beach was good condition.
Many restaurants within walking distance. Short drive to groceries etc.
In a nice area just past many of the name brand hotels and resorts.
Cons:
Furnishings very old but bed was comfortable.
No a/c and it can get hot during the day...there are front door screens for cross ventilation but if there is any construction noise...oh boy!...and you have to leave bedroom windows open at night for air...neighbors do this also...neighbors can have loud tvs, even loud talking at night...can keep you up.
Pool is not facing the ocean but the building and parking lot.

It was a satisfactory experience overall but don't expect a Marriott. Not many amenities but peaceful. I would probably not stay here again with other newer choices with more amenties available.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karemik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    78
    29
    23
    8
See reviews for
82
200
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Valley Isle unit 504 for the second time and we are already planning our return. The room was clean and has a great kitchen and a fantastic view. Waking up to see the ocean right in front of you is the best. We used the pool side grills to cook dinner several time during our two week stay. We highly recommend this location for a great vacation in paradise

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the valley isle twice now for a week each time. We love it here. We've stayed in units 809 & 509. Both 1 bdrm units, oceanfront. The owners are awesome, the units are clean & provide everything you need. What a value compared to the high $ westin, marriot, etc. you'd pay double there without a kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. one of the best things @ the valley isle is that it's well constructed, you hear no noise from other tenants at all!! Love it & highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We Recently stayed at Valley Isle Resort fo 10 days,The Condo is Ocean front which we wanted. We loved watching the Whales and Turtles and listening to the surf. I would give unit # 604 a 5 star rating based on the view and proximity to the Ocean, the updating of the unit and the Beach.
I would give the Building a 3 star rating based on the age of the building and the Fire of the Health club which happened in sept 2012 and still is not cleaned up,and is an eye sore even though you don't see it from the Condo 604. the Condo has all the ammenities that you need, we would reccomend this Condo for your vacation

Room Tip: Corner units are best because the bed room faces the ocean the others do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spyder53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were disappointed with our stay at the Valley Isle. We own a time share on Maui but our place doesn't have a full kitchen or washer and dryer in the unit so we traded to the Valley Isle. There's not much we liked about it. Our room number was 702.

On the surface the room amenities seemed okay. On further inspection there were a number of issues. The unit was not clean (hair balls in the closet and an easily visible layer of dust on the floor fan). The washing machine that was an important factor in our decision was finicky. Random lights would blink and it just wouldn't work sometimes. It was like trying to figure out a Rubik's cube in order to hit button in the proper order for the thing to turn on. The freezer was too warm to even make ice. A large sign on the outside said not to change the temp or it would break the unit. We changed it anyway figuring at the current setting is was practically broken. Low and behold it didn't break and actually froze things.

The mattresses for the two queen beds were really uncomfortable and the bed in the bedroom squeaked loud enough to wake everyone up just from rolling over.

My biggest complaint though is that the room is not well ventilated. There's no conditioning but we've been able to make that work in several places we've stayed in Hawaii. The key is being able to open windows to get a flow of air through the unit. The problem with rooms in our wing is that you are set back from the beach about 60 yards. One wing of the condos extends toward the ocean on the right and another condo unit blocks the wind on the left. You need a breeze blowing directly in to get any air. This is compounded by plywood that they have up in the outdoor hallway on the other side of the unit. My guess is the plywood is there to block construction noise from the fire they suffered several months ago (it appears they'e made little progress repairing the fire damage.) It all adds up to a very stuffy room even though high temps were only in the low 80's during our stay.

Other issues we had were a $50 charge to have your unit unlocked after hours. While we never had to use the service that just seems low budget. The cable TV also had to have the wires placed just right or the picture looked like snow from old antenna days. Sliding the tiny TV on the stand would almost always force you to adjust the wiring. No such problem with the really old tube television in the bedroom though.

The pool is really small but looked okay. The 3 BBQs mostly worked although it's hard to read the dials anymore.

As I said in the beginning our expectations may just be too high for a place like this but there's never an excuse for cleanliness and broken or flakey appliances.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Valley Isle complex for 8 nights.I would give the complex a 4 star rating as it provided a great location at a reasonable price; I would give unit 1106 a 1 start rating. The complex is older and the amenities are adequate with many places a walking distance. We stayed in a studio unit 1106 which I rented through VRBO. The management company was very quick to take my money but when it came time to get instructions to access the unit they had difficulty sending the information to my contact address; although it hadn't changed from when I booked the unit. I was left for a few days wondering if I had been duped by an online scam; several emails later they acknowledged that had been sending information to the wrong email address.
Unit 1106 does have a spectacular ocean view; that is where the nice part of the unit ends.It is a studio unit adverising a "kitchen" and implying laundry faciliies in the unit (not, there are a few washers and dryers for the entire building). The klitchen was so small, no counter space for any food prep, an apartment size stove where 2 of the 4 burners didn't work, an antique microwave and a working fridge. The linens were minimal and the towels were threadbare. Storage within the unit is non existent so we lived out of our suitcases on the floor for the 8 nights. The furnitire was dirty, dated and many things were falling apart. The lampshade was being held together with scotch tape. The "pictures" on the wall are of the 1990's Walmart variety and are screwed to the wall.The patio door didn't lock (not a security issue as we were on the 11th floor). I felt like I was staying in a Motel 6 hotel room.
Don't hesitate to stay at the complex if you want a beautiful ocean front location at an affordable price; just choose the unit carefully.

Room Tip: Stay away from unit 1106 unless your idea of a "vacation" is Motel 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursesuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIR-Rental-Owners, Owner at Valley Isle Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Speaking on behalf of the Rental Owners’ Group at the Valley Isle Resort we’d like to thank this reviewer for his complimentary review of the Resort, but we would also like to comment on his review of unit 1106.

This particular condo is not a part of the Rental Owners’ Group and is not managed by the major managing agent at the Resort. It is one of very few studio condos in the building that have not been upgraded to include a full kitchen. (However, the pictures of the condo on VRBO clearly show the kitchenette, so the guest should not have been surprised.)

All of the one and two bedroom condos at the Resort have washers and dryers in the condo unit, so the laundry room is only shared by the 24 studio condos, not the entire building. (Nowhere in the 1106 listing on VRBO does it imply that there are in-room laundry facilities.)

As to the maintenance of the condo and interaction with the rental agent, we cannot comment on that since they are not part of our rental group, however we would hope that this guest communicated all of these concerns to the rental agent.

One final comment, since this guest admits he rented through VRBO, it would seem that the more appropriate place for his review would be on VRBO under the listing for this particular condo. Not only would the managing agent be more likely to see his comments there, his review would not reflect negatively on the many other beautifully updated and well maintained condos at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We just returned from Kahana, staying in Suite #306 at the Valley Isle Resort, and just wanted you to know that we had a wonderful vacation. We thought the studio apartment was delightful, very well equipped and furnished, and we felt very much at home. This has got to be the best view on Maui and we thoroughly enjoyed listening to the waves at night. Our third floor condo was really beautiful! The owners were very friendly and helpful and recommended places to visit that are not in the usual "tourist" areas. see pictures at m a u i e s c ap e . c o m \each day we saw whales and turtles from the lanai. Don't worry about the murphy bed it is deluxe and comfortable. you might miss AC in the hot summer.

There was an awful fire (September!) which has been boarded up and needs to be removed...gym and lobby are gone. we smelled smoke a couple times and the white rental car got dusted with soot.

Room Tip: Well-priced for Maui Oceanfront! Do check pictures on line ... some units are very dated in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort

Property: Valley Isle Resort
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have many privately owned Valley Isle Resort Vacation Rental Condos. Our resort is in lovely Kahana, a part of Lahaina. Maui is the best island, and the West Coast of Maui is the best part of Maui. We are right in the middle of Maui's West Coast. We have many amenities such as our heated pool and barbecue area. When you contact an owner, know they own one or several of the condos in our resort and can refer you to other owners. Also, know that each condo is different and run differently. So make sure you get photo's of the condo you would like. Also, occasionally this site says we do not have availability. More than likely we most certainly do have availability. Just Google "Valley Isle Resort" and you'll see many of us who have open condos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valley Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing