We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Always love my stay at the Valley Isle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Isle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Isle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Gridley, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always love my stay at the Valley Isle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed in unit 504 for 7 nights the end of May 2013 beginning of June 2013. The Valley Isle is the only place I stay when in Maui. I like it because it is peaceful, not alot of people and the beach or the pool is not crowded. When wanting to cook on the grill there was always one open. If you are looking for a resort atmosphere this is not the place for you. If you have stayed here and have been disappointed, it's your own fault. Do the research, if you rented from a private owner, there are pictures on the website of the condos that you can look at. If you have issues with your stay, contact the owner, it only takes a phone call to get something taken care of. Yes, there was a fire there, but it was in a health club that has nothing to do with the Valley Isle. As far as air conditioning, it's not needed, the trade winds take care of that. Yes the place was still boarded up when we were there and after some legal issues clean up started about a week or so after we left. The condo is boarded up to protect the condos from all the soot that was blowing thru the air after the fire. This was my first experience renting a condo from a private owner, I usually stay in a timeshare (Vacation Internationale) but there was nothing available for the time of my trip. Whether you are staying in a timeshare or renting from a private owner the staff at the Valley Isle is there to help take care of whatever needs to be taken care of. I WILL ALWAYS STAY AT THE VALLEY ISLE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    78
    29
    22
    8
See reviews for
80
195
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed in Condo 605.

After spending a few days in stunning Waikiki and Heaven on Earth on the North Shore of Kauai we were looking forward to our 6 night stay on Maui. Without getting into differences between Islands and pros and cons of Condo vs Resort style holiday, I will say that we were profoundly disappointed with this accommodation. We ended up flying out 2 days early back to Waikiki to finish our Hawaiian dream holiday. Why?

The Good: Ummm. It's on the beach (not a great beach). The view from the balcony was pleasant. It's Maui so you'll be driving if you want to see anything, but Honolua Bay is not far for some great snorkelling and Lahaina is not more than a 10min drive away.

The Bad: We were told there had been fire damage to the property. Sure it happens, business must go on. What we should have been told is that there is significant fire damage and destruction to the building and what is left resembles high rise "project" or "block of flats" style accommodation. The building is heavily boarded up with extensive damage still visible. We came from a near perfect Condo in Princeville Kauai to this? We were gutted.

To add insult, we were welcomed by a pile of dirt on the floor when we walked in that we had to clean up. The wireless router and phones had not been cleaned or dusted in months and the batteries on the phones did not work at all.

A nice greeting about air-con welcomes you. They have been removed - open the windows and let the trade winds blow they tell you. We were furious. Open a window, put a stick in the window frame for security and let the dust and dirt blow in. You'll still swelter at night.

Inside the room it's fairly comfortable, a decent size and certainly serviceable and dirt aside if the complex was nice it would have been passable. As it is it's just terrible. The surrounding area is like a middle class suburb in any city. We walked in and sat down and seriously considered cutting our losses and relocating to another area / resort / condo complex. Instead we stayed until all our booked activities were complete and headed back to Oahu.

From the photos it looked like this was once a nice place to stay. Now it is anything but that. A great disappointment on an otherwise fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Look at another complex. Simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveInWestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIR-Rental-Owners, Owner at Valley Isle Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are sorry that the Valley Isle Resort was not up to this owner’s expectations, and it is obvious from his review that he was expecting a much more up-scale Resort. As a Resort, we do our best to provide accurate information as to the appearance, location and amenities we have to offer. As we have said many times in the past, we are not the Hyatt or the Marriot, so if high-end luxury accommodations are your priorities, then we are probably not the place for you. We offer well-maintained, direct oceanfront condos in a quiet neighborhood, away from the traffic and crowds, at rates far lower than the major resorts.

Due to situations beyond our control, this has not been the best year for our Resort, but we are doing everything we can to provide a positive experience for our guests and to maintain the quality the Resort has been known for. Our owners care about our guests and encourage them to contact the owner immediately if they have any problems during their stay. Regrettably, since this guest never contacted the owner of 605 to discuss his dissatisfaction, the owner was given no opportunity to provide satisfactory resolutions.

As most people reading these reviews will know by now, there was a fire in a privately owned, stand-alone health club on the Resort property and in the resort lobby and front office. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE HIGH-RISE STRUCTURE CONTAINING THE RENTAL CONDOS. There have been plywood barriers placed along the walkways that faced the fire-damaged area, and these barriers were apparently why this guest incorrectly stated that the high-rise building was badly damaged, and prompted his negative comments about the appearance of the building.

As was the case with this guest, our owners have provided information about the fire to all guests prior to their stay, including referrals to the www.ValleyIsleResort.com/fire.htm website that contains pictures and up-to-date status on the damage and clean-up progress. There have been legal delays in the clean-up of the fire, caused by the uncooperative owner, however we are happy to report that the fire damaged building has now been completely demolished and the hallway barriers are scheduled to be removed this week. The only on-going changes in the Resort operation as a result of the fire are a temporary entrance and location of the front desk.

In addition to the fire clean up, the high-rise building has been undergoing structural maintenance this summer (2013) that has been somewhat disruptive at times. Prior to their stay, guests have been informed of the progress of this project on the www.ValleyIsleResort.com/spall.htm website, and in some cases guests have been offered discounts or refunds if their stay was adversely impacted. This project is on schedule to be completed this fall and will result in a structurally sound building with new paint and hallway carpet throughout.

As we near the end of these projects, we do want to thank all of our recent guests for their understanding and positive comments during what has been a difficult year at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm beach, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed in a 1 bdrm in May. I will exclude any comments about some of the repair work being done on the hallways as this is temporary. Just be sure and ask about construction work during your stay.
Pros:
Best thing is a great view every day from the balcony and living room.
Many whole owners so not a revolving door condo. Everyone there was very nice.
Kitchen is nice although many basic items were not there.
Grounds very nice, walk right out to the beach and beach was good condition.
Many restaurants within walking distance. Short drive to groceries etc.
In a nice area just past many of the name brand hotels and resorts.
Cons:
Furnishings very old but bed was comfortable.
No a/c and it can get hot during the day...there are front door screens for cross ventilation but if there is any construction noise...oh boy!...and you have to leave bedroom windows open at night for air...neighbors do this also...neighbors can have loud tvs, even loud talking at night...can keep you up.
Pool is not facing the ocean but the building and parking lot.

It was a satisfactory experience overall but don't expect a Marriott. Not many amenities but peaceful. I would probably not stay here again with other newer choices with more amenties available.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karemik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Valley Isle unit 504 for the second time and we are already planning our return. The room was clean and has a great kitchen and a fantastic view. Waking up to see the ocean right in front of you is the best. We used the pool side grills to cook dinner several time during our two week stay. We highly recommend this location for a great vacation in paradise

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the valley isle twice now for a week each time. We love it here. We've stayed in units 809 & 509. Both 1 bdrm units, oceanfront. The owners are awesome, the units are clean & provide everything you need. What a value compared to the high $ westin, marriot, etc. you'd pay double there without a kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. one of the best things @ the valley isle is that it's well constructed, you hear no noise from other tenants at all!! Love it & highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We Recently stayed at Valley Isle Resort fo 10 days,The Condo is Ocean front which we wanted. We loved watching the Whales and Turtles and listening to the surf. I would give unit # 604 a 5 star rating based on the view and proximity to the Ocean, the updating of the unit and the Beach.
I would give the Building a 3 star rating based on the age of the building and the Fire of the Health club which happened in sept 2012 and still is not cleaned up,and is an eye sore even though you don't see it from the Condo 604. the Condo has all the ammenities that you need, we would reccomend this Condo for your vacation

Room Tip: Corner units are best because the bed room faces the ocean the others do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spyder53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were disappointed with our stay at the Valley Isle. We own a time share on Maui but our place doesn't have a full kitchen or washer and dryer in the unit so we traded to the Valley Isle. There's not much we liked about it. Our room number was 702.

On the surface the room amenities seemed okay. On further inspection there were a number of issues. The unit was not clean (hair balls in the closet and an easily visible layer of dust on the floor fan). The washing machine that was an important factor in our decision was finicky. Random lights would blink and it just wouldn't work sometimes. It was like trying to figure out a Rubik's cube in order to hit button in the proper order for the thing to turn on. The freezer was too warm to even make ice. A large sign on the outside said not to change the temp or it would break the unit. We changed it anyway figuring at the current setting is was practically broken. Low and behold it didn't break and actually froze things.

The mattresses for the two queen beds were really uncomfortable and the bed in the bedroom squeaked loud enough to wake everyone up just from rolling over.

My biggest complaint though is that the room is not well ventilated. There's no conditioning but we've been able to make that work in several places we've stayed in Hawaii. The key is being able to open windows to get a flow of air through the unit. The problem with rooms in our wing is that you are set back from the beach about 60 yards. One wing of the condos extends toward the ocean on the right and another condo unit blocks the wind on the left. You need a breeze blowing directly in to get any air. This is compounded by plywood that they have up in the outdoor hallway on the other side of the unit. My guess is the plywood is there to block construction noise from the fire they suffered several months ago (it appears they'e made little progress repairing the fire damage.) It all adds up to a very stuffy room even though high temps were only in the low 80's during our stay.

Other issues we had were a $50 charge to have your unit unlocked after hours. While we never had to use the service that just seems low budget. The cable TV also had to have the wires placed just right or the picture looked like snow from old antenna days. Sliding the tiny TV on the stand would almost always force you to adjust the wiring. No such problem with the really old tube television in the bedroom though.

The pool is really small but looked okay. The 3 BBQs mostly worked although it's hard to read the dials anymore.

As I said in the beginning our expectations may just be too high for a place like this but there's never an excuse for cleanliness and broken or flakey appliances.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Kahana
Royal Kahana
#12 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort

Property: Valley Isle Resort
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Kahana, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase 'N Rainbows (CNR) Real Estate, Inc. is a Maui based, family owned company established in 1980 with two divisions: vacation rental management and real estate sales. For the past twenty years, CNR has been offering visitors and Kama'aina alike, affordable and luxury accommodations at a very competitive price. All of its vacation rental units are carefully selected, meticulously inspected, attractively furnished and well maintained to the highest standards. CNR is committed to providing the finest product and unsurpassed personalized service in the industry. These condominiums come highly recommended by leisure, business, and family travelers with distinctive tastes. A significant number of satisfied, return guests speak for the company's service commitment and quality product. Chase 'N Rainbows is a proud member of the Hawaii Visitors & Convention Bureau (HVCB), The American Society of Travel Agents (ASTA), Maui Visitors Bureau (MVB), Hawaii Association of Realtors, Maui Chamber of Commerce, and Vacation Rental Managers Association (VRMA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Valley Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing