We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Unit 1001, Super whale-watching and fantastic views!”
Review of Valley Isle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Isle Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Unit 1001, Super whale-watching and fantastic views!”
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Hubby and I stayed here in January 2007. Went through the Valley Isle website, which lets you book directly through the owner. We stayed in unit 1001, on the 10th floor, which gives you amazing views of the ocean and the island of Lanai. And whales!! We brought our binoculars--a must--and saw so many spouts and breaches and fin flaps and tails...amazing. And surfers congregate out there too, and are fun to watch. Paid $165 a night plus $75 cleaning fee: unbeatable deal!!!

Our bedroom and living room both had balconies...too cool! Ate breakfast on the balcony every morning, then lowered the blinds to keep out the afternoon sun. No AC, so necessary to keep the unit cool. Lots of fans though--ceiling and floor--for keeping cool. Left the bedroom balcony door open all night (with screen) to hear the ocean waves...aaaah. Perfect temperature, without a fan--great breezes at this height.

Dining table with 4 chairs, sofa with chairs, coffee table. Kitchen has dishwasher and washing machine/dryer, complete with dishwashing soap and laundry detergent. (Nice touch!!) The sink is in an alcove outside of the bathroom--nice--and there are mirrors all over the condo to add to the spacious feeling. It's a corner unit, so there's window looking off to the mountains as well. Boogey board provided here. Lots of books, too.

The condos are actually a good ten-minute drive from Lahaina, though there's food here as well. But we ate in Lahaina mostly, and mostly at Maui Tacos and Penne Pasta (owned by the same genius). Unbeatable taste, quality, quantity at such low prices! We once ate at Thai Chef, that was a good change.
Highly recommend canoeing in a traditional outrigger canoe with Kimokeo and his Maui Nui O Kama Canoe Club...learn about the traditions of the Hawai'ian people--and actually chant in unison with them!

Also, check out Makena State Park: Big Beach, Little Beach (nudist) are gorgeous.Great snorkeling at Black Rock near the condo: huge corals, lots of turtles, and lots of fish (though lots of people, too--but not nearly like Hanauma Bay people-wise). Watched surfers just past Honolua Bay--wow! And the Pacific Whale Foundation really does have the best whale watching tours...and the money goes for a good cause.

Highly recommend this unit, and the whole building is well-run and maintained. Though if you look straight down from the balcony, there's a shack at the corner of the beautifully landscaped property with bins of recyclables and shells and piles of junk---put a roof over that!! :)

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    78
    30
    23
    8
See reviews for
83
201
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Booked directly from owner and everything was great, price is right, several places to eat within walking distance. Condo had everything, books, mats, fins etc. View is great, beach is a little small, but OK, don't plan on snorkeling here. Whales everywhere.

Also if you get the chance, hike to the Waimoku Falls, the most remarkable place you will ever go.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kentucky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

We had an excellent time at the Valley Isle. My family and I stayed
here from jan6-jan20. The unit we stayed in could use a little updating but was not a problem for us. There was everything you could possibly need while on vacation,boogy boards, beach chairs,umbrella. The kitchen was well eqipped. As we did do some of our own cooking, having the BBQ area was great.Enjoyed the view from the lanai watching the sunset, eating supper. The pool area is a little small but it was never busy.When I orginally booked I was lttle concerned with no A/C but the winds cool it down in the evening so it wasn't a problem. All in all for the price of the resort it is an excellent deal for a oceanfront unit.

  • Liked — beachfront resort,close to shopping
  • Disliked — small pool area
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 69chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2007

Great value. I've stayed at the Valley Isle 3 times (Condos 1207, 1001 and 404). Each stay was very pleasant, and each owner has been easy to deal with. These three condos were very well maintained and lived up to (even exceeded) the descriptions on their websites. Having a kitchen for cooking is a real $ saver (local restaurants are nothing special but for some reason pricey). The grounds are immaculately kept. The beach is nice for relaxing and swimming for exercise. Lack of water clarity and excessive amounts of sea kelp often make snorkeling less than ideal. However several GREAT snorkeling sites are near by. The location is primo. The west side of the island is by far the best. A trip to the east side will make you appreciate your choice. The best features are the sunsets and moonlit nights. My only gripe is the lack of A/C. Fortunately there are constant ocean breezes. I always keep all windows open and all fans blowing. This makes the nights very comfortable. It doesn't help during the day, but I'm always out exploring the island anyway.

Summary: I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to stay for a reasonable price. The money saved over hotels with smaller rooms can be used for island activities.

  • Liked — Location & price
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank osiris369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We stayed in a unit owned by Vacation International. It was newly remodeled, very nice and very clean. I did not see one cockroach during our stay which is unusual in Hawaii! I loved the location and the lanai. The sunset party with bubbles and shell horn blowing was a treat every night. We had sand on the beach but mother nature does change the shoreline throughout the year. There are some great swimming and snorkeling spots nearby. Lots of great eating establishments nearby but you can save a bundle cooking in your kitchen. We ate out once a day. Ask at the front desk if they have boogie boards/chairs/ice chests/toys. You can save a bundle if you don't mind used stuff. This not a mega resort but it felt homey and it is nicely landscaped. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Not having air conditioning was not a problem. I prefer the ocean breeze and the tradewinds. If you rent from an owner you probably would have a unit more furnished, ie binoculars, spices, games, shampoo etc.

  • Liked — Location and it was newly remodeled.
  • Disliked — The murphy bed in the front room was not very comfortable. No shampoo!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank juliebug52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We were in room 710...wow. Amazing views. All three of our windows had a completely unobstructed view of the ocean. We were as ocean front as it gets. It was incredible. The amenities were good - the kitchen was fairly well stocked - need to buy a few basics like paper towels and soap. The room has a murphy bed, not a pullout couch which was great for a week long stay.

Only problems were regarding cleanliness. The bathtub had not been cleaned before we got there, there was hair and soap debris. We bought some cleaning sprays and took care of it.

I was also not impressed with the quality or cleanliness of the towels and linens. The pillow covers were noticeably pilled and there were the occasional stains on towels or sheets, which of course are up to you to launder since there is no maid service. Perhaps I should have known there wouldn't be but I was surprised.

Don't expect any of the 'extras' from this unit that some of the other reviews talk about. There are no beach chairs, computers, icechests or anything of the sort. Very basic room with a 15 year old answering machine.

The front desk is not particularly friendly, but we had only a few minutes of interactions with them upon check in and it went smoothly enough.

THERE IS NO A/C! I didn't expect this to be a big deal in December, but it was. The days were often hot and somewhat humid and the nights didn't cool down enough. It was uncomfortable. Take this into serious consideration because Hawaii can be quite hot and humid.

Overall, great value, amazing views, great unit, could use some help with cleanliness and linens and with air conditioning.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — Lack of AC
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank VivianG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIR-Rental-Owners, Valley Isle Resort Vacation Rental Owners Group Leaders at Valley Isle Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2007
We would like to point out that room 710 is one of 35 timeshare units at the Valley Isle Resort and the furnishings, cleaning and linens are not indicative of the quality maintained by the 60+ short-term vacation rental units that are not part of the timeshare program, and can be rented direct from owners through the Resort website or through a rental agent.

Our Owners Group members take great pride in their respective condo units, many of which have undergone recent remodels. We are responsive to our guests and try to provide extra amenities such as beach chairs, beach towels, and free wireless Internet connections. We also contract with our own cleaning services that provide quality, clean linens in our condo units.

It is true that our building does not have air conditioning. However, our individual owners all provide additional fans, and the vast majority of the time we have excellent tradewinds that provide for a comfortable nights sleep. Most of our guests prefer to have the windows open so they can be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Harbors, MN
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2006

Wow. My husband and I stayed in Jim & Sue's Maui home #307 in early November. It is absolutely beautiful! For less than the price of a hotel room, we had a condo with a view! The pictures on their website www.goingmaui.com are exactly what you get - the view from the very private lanai is amazing and the condo is newly remodeled, clean, and beautiful! I was a little worried about the comfort factor of a bed that pulls out from the wall, but it was like sleeping on a cloud.

Kahana is quiet - but everything you need is right there, and Kanapalli is a short 5 minute drive. The beach isn't great - it disappears in the morning and is small in the evening, but large enough in the evening to plop a chair down and watch the gorgeous sunset over Lanai. It's a little rocky (lava-y?) off the shore, but we were in the water for an hour or so without shoes and came out unscathed. Every night people gather on the beach with a beverage and a conch shell is blown when the sunsets - pretty cool.

We booked directly with Jim and Sue via email - it was seemless and they were wonderful to work with. They even accomodated an early check in and a late check out for us (there was no one there the day before us or the day we were leaving, so this happened to work - but they were more than willing to let us come in early and stay late).

We did spend most of our time in Kanapalli where there was more action and the beach was better, but I am just astounded by the value we got staying here. I would recommend it to anyone. Keep in mind it is all condos and people live here – no room service, no entertainment staff, no bar service at the pool (which means you can bring your own cooler!), no 24 hour front desk, etc.

One other tidbit - we were there too early, but reading through the guestbook it seems that the lanai is the perfect spot for whale watching! I can imaging it would be amazing - only 3 floors up you would have an amazing view of the whales!

  • Liked — The View and beauty of the condo
  • Disliked — The beach, but good ones are a short drive away
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the pizza at Dolly's across the street - MMMM! (Plus, the best ranch dressing I've ever had!)
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank C&CCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,079 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort

Property: Valley Isle Resort
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have many privately owned Valley Isle Resort Vacation Rental Condos. Our resort is in lovely Kahana, a part of Lahaina. Maui is the best island, and the West Coast of Maui is the best part of Maui. We are right in the middle of Maui's West Coast. We have many amenities such as our heated pool and barbecue area. When you contact an owner, know they own one or several of the condos in our resort and can refer you to other owners. Also, know that each condo is different and run differently. So make sure you get photo's of the condo you would like. Also, occasionally this site says we do not have availability. More than likely we most certainly do have availability. Just Google "Valley Isle Resort" and you'll see many of us who have open condos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valley Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing