We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ADDICTIVE”

Breakwall Shave Ice Co.
Ranked #11 of 24 Dessert in Lahaina
Price range: US$1 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Breakwall Shave Ice Co. by Down the Hatch has authentic epic Hawaiian shave ice, acai bowls, smoothie's, locally made ice cream, local coffee, cold pressed coffee drinks, kombucha, ice cream, and lots of ALOHA! Adult Shave Ice on Happy Hour only $5, daily 2-6pm!
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“ADDICTIVE”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Can't beat the location! Directly across from Free public parking in Lahaina.

Our kids gobbled down their Shave Ice cones before we reached the Banyan Tree less than two blocks away. My brother loved the option with the icecream at the bottom. The kids couldnt stop raving about the gummibears at the bottom of theirs. They kept begging to go back....So we did the very next day!

The owner was very knowledgeable about the history of shave ice and why it is a Hawaiian Icon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarheelsbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    27
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New to shave ice”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I tried a shave ice at Breakwall Sahve Ice in Lahaina a month ago. My first ever. It hit the spot and I loved the ice cream finish.They also offer quick, great food. Right near the beginning of Front St. across from Public parking so very convenient. Young owners are from from the southeast US (like me), living their dream. I support their entrepreneurial spirit and will visit again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“refreshing!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

hot day & thought to try out the shave ice! got a kilauea with macbut ice cream! yuuummmm! came back for more! service was also great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We tried the shaved ice (w/o the ice cream) with Tiger's Blood, piña colada, and watermelon. Loved it! The guy working there was very friendly and helpful. We'd definitely go here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Griggles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“BEST Shaved Ice, Great Service”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Once in a while, you accidentally find a place you just must post about. This is one of those places. We took surf lessons at the nearby Wave Rider Surf school and stumbled along this place. And we were glad we did.
The shaved ice is perfect, as the machine makes "fresh snow like" ice. Definitely worth getting the ice cream with the shaved ice. Good prices too. Javier, the new owner, is a great guy to converse with. He is living his dream and once you talk to him, you would definitely like him to succeed. The food is excellent too. My family tried the sausages, sandwiches, and the quesadillas. The QUESADILLAS was so good we ended up ordering 3. There is free wifi so we ended up staying longer. Javier works alone (at least when we were there), but we did not wait long for orders. It was a pleasant atmosphere so we ended up staying more than an hour just hanging out. If we end up in the area again, we definitely visit Javier again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakwall Shave Ice Co. also viewed

 

Been to Breakwall Shave Ice Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing