We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Shave Ice in Lahaina.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakwall Shave Ice Co.

Breakwall Shave Ice Co.
Ranked #12 of 26 Dessert in Lahaina
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Epic Hawaiian shave ice, gourmet coffee's, breakfast, acai bowls, smoothie's, locally made ice cream, iced coffee drinks, kombucha, vegan ice cream, and lots of ALOHA!
Winter Haven, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Shave Ice in Lahaina.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hands down the best shave ice in the Lahaina area. During the course of the week we tried shave ice at 5 other locations, some were shops and other roadside trucks. They were all good but nothing exceptional and not consistent. Then we parked in the free public parking lot and noticed Breakwall, so we gave it a shot. Simple awesome. I ice was nicely shaved and not chunky . The syrup was syrup and not a water downed version and they didn't skimp on it. In our opinion -- the best. Give it a try, I'm sure you will agree.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    27
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place is tucked around a corner off of Front St but worth the walk. They have a great selection of shave ice and the have a cute little seating area for the area to sit down and enjoy the shave ice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ice shaved so fine it's like eating snow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are lots of "shave ice" places on the islands but two places we went before this actually gave us crushed ice with syrup, not actual shaved ice. It should melt in your mouth - if you have to crunch it, then it's not nearly as good. Breakwalls ice is so finely shaved it's like snow and it's an incredibly refreshing treat on a hot day.

They have a huge array of flavors with some fun combos. I ordered the Incredible Hulk (green apple and pineapple), daughter ordered Tigers Blood (watermelon, strawberry and one more flavor, I forget what though). My son went for his own combo with gummy bears at the bottom.

The shop has a couple of seats inside and an outdoor seating area that's partially covered for a bit of shade. Service was fast and friendly. Also, there's free parking in a big lot directly across the street.

If you want to nom a sweet snowy treat, go here. If it's more important to be served by uniformed staff with their hair trimmed above the ears, the Westin has a shave ice (really crushed ice) kiosk with a choice of 5 flavors at a significantly higher cost. Personally, I prefer the higher quality treats at Breakwall and I tend to judge people more on their actions than on their shaving habits.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StripeySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is my first time visiting Maui, and I had tried the more popular shave ice shops but they were not as amazing as what I had at this shop, it tasted so good!!! Atmosphere was nice and friendly as well. I cannot wait to come again!
-Alexy

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexyJakowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice local stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We just finished surf lessons at Maui Wave Riders and found this cool stop next door. Average price for shave ice. Favors were good service was friendly. We would stop again. It gave us a feel like the locals would stop here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pipeline18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakwall Shave Ice Co. also viewed

 

Been to Breakwall Shave Ice Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing