We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect condo for our 1st trip to Maui”
Review of Kulakane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kulakane
Jackson
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A perfect condo for our 1st trip to Maui”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife (then fiance) found the Kulakane when we started planning our trip to Maui about 10 months prior to our December 2011 two week stay. This was to be our wedding and honeymoon and we did all of the planning ourselves. The Kulakane website was very helpful in that you could review all the condos that were available during your trip. The condo (#209) was EXACTLY as shown in the pics and it was perfect for us. We arrived late in the evening (~11:00) and we could hear the surf before we opened the front door. Our room was literally 50-60 feet from the water! This unit has been remodeled fairly recently and was very nicely appointed. You could tell the owners liked to entertain and cook. This unit has a Murphy bed in the den that is a few feet from the wall of glass facing the ocean. We spent every night in this bed with the windows open and the surf sounding in the background. The balcony deck was large and we ate many meals out there and I took several hundred pictures from there as well. WARNING: You will want to be back at the condo before sunset as the views from the Kulakane were truly breathtaking!!!! Also, there are two very nice and large grills for use by the guests in the front over by the office as well as a laundry behind the office. Truly, The Kulakane was perfect in every way for my wife and I and we most definitely will be going back.

Room Tip: The end condos are the largest. 209 and 309 are extra wide middle units and we stayed in 209. Use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank StarmanMcDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulakaneinfo, Manager at Kulakane, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we love it when we are able to share the Aloha Spirit of the Kulakane. Welcome to the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    28
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Family of four (w/ 12 and 14 yo children) stayed at The Kulakane (www.kulakane.com) in early April 2012. Generally, our experience was very good. The unit we stayed at was clean, with basic but functional furniture, and everything was in good working condition. The condo is ideally located for west/north Maui attractions. Although there is a very small beach access from the right side exit of the condo, the beach disappears during high tide. However, there are plenty of beaches within walking or a very short drive away (Kanaapali, Napili, Kapalua, etc.). If you are an expert snorkler, you could jump right in enjoy the water and the underwater. The kitchen is fully equipped, with sufficient appliances and utensils. The view from the balcony (lanai) was excellent. DO NOT FORGET YOUR BINOCULARS! We forgot, but it would have been nice if the unit had one so guests can use. We could actually see the whales in the distance as they spewed water from their snouts. (We saw them up close and personal on our sknorkeling trip to the Molakini island.) Overall, we would recommend this condo to families as it provides adequate space and freedom to move around, to cook your own (healthier) food, and almost be at home.

Room Tip: A few suggestions to management and alerts to visitors - Unit 213 could use a curtain in the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhokray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulakaneinfo, Manager at Kulakane, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your review, and thank you for the "heads up" regarding the window covering in the bedroom. We are taking care of it! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary on Maui and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! We were greeted by a sign that wished us a Happy Anniversary when we first got there. Kulakane was easy to find and groceries, activites, restaurants were easy to get to from the resort. We booked through VRBO, but ended up with most of our rental arrangements through Debbie, the manager. She was great to work with and even gave us some ideas of things to do before we got there, so we could book activities online at a discount. There isn't an elevator, so there's a flight of stairs or 2 to get to the unit. We stayed in unit 213. It had everything we could need to cook our meals, had wi-fi, cable TV, and a view over the ocean that was fantastic. The resort itself is a bit dated, but the grounds are well-kept, has a coin operated laundry in good condition, small pool, and access to the ocean. There were a couple of days that we simple sat on the lanai, watched the whales and sea turtles and didn't move! I have read some of the other reviews regarding the noise, but it was nothing like the continual crowing of roosters all time of the day and night that we experienced on Kauai. While the weather put a damper on some of our activities, we could still sit outside on the lanai and enjoy the scenery. On our second to the last day, there were some maintenance issues, but the repair people were courteous, and didn't disrupt our vacation any more than needed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the second floor as it was more private than being on first floor. With the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDebIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulakaneinfo, Manager at Kulakane, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your review and for your kind words regarding Debbie, our rental manager. We all agree, she's great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed at the Kulakane for two weeks at the end of February 2012. We had a wonderful view of the ocean with turtles every evening and lots of whales. We even had a pod of dolphins pass by one day. Our condo was somewhat dated and the bed was not too comfortable. The swimming is not very accessible in front of the condo due to the coral. The location is close to many beaches and the town of Lahaina. Many Maui attractions are near by so you will have lots to do!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, B.C.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

First time to Maui and we wanted an oceanfront condo with amenities. The Kulakane is that for sure. We stayed in unit 112 on the ground floor and were greeted each morning by a spectacular view. We watched whales from our patio and turtles from the sea wall only steps away. Great location, with easy drives to nearby beaches, shopping, excursions, etc. This locale is less congested than some of the other resort spots and you can walk for groceries and souvenirs. Bed very comfortable and a nice large shower in the small bathroom. The downsides? Bedroom is near the road and you hear dogs barking, roosters crowing and recycling trucks every morning. Bring earplugs. Our unit was clean and fairly comfortable but smaller than the photos show. Needs some upgrading. The carpets are old and worn as is some of the furniture and the coffeemaker has seen better days. Fridge looks second hand. We would return to this condo site but probably look for something on the second or third floor that is in better condition unless the owners spiff up their unit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaylemholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We ended up going with friends that always stay to Kulakune every few years. We could have not been more pleased. We stayed in 207 and it was perfect for our family of 3.(10 year old daughter). Clean, dishwasher, they had boggie boards and sand toys waiting for us.
Laundry right there. The most laid back safe place I have ever been. Only 40+ units so no one to fight for pool chairs etc with. All oceanview and boy did we see sea turtles and whales everyday. Even saw a rare Monk Seal swim by while laying out. Coffee shop a few blocks to walk to, and Farmers Market. We will be back in 2015!!!

Room Tip: 207 is very nice for 2 to 4 people. Perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed in # 210 for 8 days. Beautiful location, well maintained, great local stores and services nearby. Beautiful oceanfront reef for snorkeling but not wide sandy beaches for swimming but close by to walk or drive to. Kaanapali and lahaina only minutes away by car! Will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthesize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulakane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulakane

Property: Kulakane
Address: 3741 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kulakane 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kulakane resort is a low-rise oceanfront Maui condo rental property offering vacation condo rentals on the beautiful West Maui shore.These roomy one- and two-bedroom direct Maui oceanfront condominiums are beautifully appointed, with all of the luxuries of home. The spaciousness of the accommodations makes them ideal for families or couples on vacation.At the Kulakane Resort, every condo is just 50 feet from the ocean and has a direct, picturesque view of the neighboring islands of Lanai and Molokai and spectacular sunsets.When you stay at the Kulakane Resort, you can do it all or do nothing at all! Watch the whales, dolphins and sea turtles up close while relaxing at our oceanside pool, beach, or from your private lanai.Our oceanfront condo rentals are located on grounds featuring elegant gardens, gas grills, on-site laundry, free parking and free wireless Internet access throughout the complex. First class golf courses, fine dining, night life and shopping at Kaanapali Village and Lahaina are just a five-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Kulakane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulakane Hotel Lahaina
Kulakane Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing