We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation, Great Value”
Review of Kulakane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kulakane
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at unit 211 in November just before Thanksgiving week. I couldn't recommend it more. The view from the lanai is incredible...we watched sea turtles in the morning every day. it was a very short drive to the local grocery store and lots of restaurants, and there's a beach park about thirty steps away. The managers of the property were great as well. I'd recommend this property, and I'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you stay on the ground floor, your patio is attached to the pool area and grounds. I personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Me and my parents stayed at the unit 108 for a week. The condo itself was very clean and had everything we needed. Especially, we enjoyed nicely equipped kitchen, which had more equipment for the cooking then my own house. Location is perfect, very relaxing & quite. Great views of sunset. We swam right next to the condos and there were a lot of turtles all the time, not to mention great variety of sea fauna which you could observe using your mask. The swimming pool was very small, but honestly, you don't really need it, because you have the ocean. Nevertheless, that swimming pool was amazing for kids, because it is not deep. All staff were friendly and helpful.They even organized one evening, when we all gathered to share a meal. Location is perfect, there is a bus-stop right in front of the building, Farmers market like 5 min aways, big Times market about 10 min away. There is a spot where you can rent a bicycle, swimming masks and even order some excursions right next to the property. This place is perfect for everybody. Definitely will come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassygirl2011, Guest Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for the great review! So glad you had a great time at the Kulakane. Yes it is such a quiet spot away from the busy resorts, but it is super close to that yummy Farmer's market, snorkel gear, and a good grocery store! Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in 203 for a week & it wasn't long enough! Every morning we had coffee on our private balcony as we watched the sea turtles play in the surf. Aaaahhhh. It didn't feel like a hotel - it felt like a home, with everything we could possibly need. And the managers were so friendly & helpful. Perfect for anyone who wants to trade in the giant hotel scene for their own off-the-beaten-path piece of cozy paradise ❤️

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daljulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassygirl2011, Guest Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Mahalo for a great compliment - we agree that the Kulakane feels like home! That is one reason why so many of our guests return year after year. We hope you can come back and see the turtles very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this condo community for our 10-year wedding anniversary in September of 2013. The condo was spacious, clean, well lit and within almost spitting distance to the ocean. Beautiful views of Lanai and Molokai, not to mention the sunset each night. The beach is ok, but nothing really to brag about. The pool is very small as well. Location is great. Very close to Kaanapali beach, shopping and La Haina. The unit also had snorkeling gear, beach umbrellas and boogie boards which we used multiple times. The bed was comfortable. Out only complaint (which out of fairness the resort cannot control) were the crazy barking dogs and roosters across the street. All hours of the night and early into the morning you would be awoken by barking dogs and crowing roosters. This was really the only complaint we had. All in all, this is a great property for the money. I'd return again for sure.

Room Tip: Corner suites have more sunlight and better views. The higher units have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 665WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassygirl2011, Guest Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Mahalo for staying with us at the Kulakane! It is wonderful to be oceanfront and so close to great restaurants, shopping, snorkel spots, and other activities of all kinds. The sounds of the neighborhood are occasionally noticable to our guests, but we are glad that you still had a wonderful stay. Hope to see you back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in #109, clean updated condo on the ground floor, right out front of the pool. The grounds are really clean, the people that live here have pride of ownership. If your looking for a complex that is quiet, relaxing, where you can hear the ocean outside your door and without the hustle and bustle, this may work for you. We swam right out front the condo and there are ALWAYS turtles out front. I accidently swam within 6ft of one, they don't seem to be concerned, but remember this is their ocean, no touching or harassing. This doesn't seem to be a great place for young kids, not sure the beach area is really safe for young kids as it can get a little rough at times and the pool is small, seems to be more for adults as there were no other kids other than teenagers and a baby. I will make one comment, our unit did not have air conditioning, when we first arrived it was HOT, the daily temp was 88 degrees, but in the evening there is a breeze that blows through, but during the day it's really warm, thought it might be worth mentioning in case someone might be in need of a place they can get away from the heat. Another plus, is that if you need to do any laundry, there is a facility and it's only a $1.25 a load, great bargain! Hope we make it back again someday soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carittt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassygirl2011, Guest Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Mahalo for staying with us! Yes the honu (turtles) love to swim and feed in front of the Kulakane, especially in the afternoons. We love that!

Yes, summer afternoons can be warm as the afternoon sun sets over West Maui. Like most properties in West Maui, the Kulakane is cooled by the trade winds that blow through the vacation homes rather than a/c units. For most of our guests, an afternoon swim on those unusually warm days keeps them nice and cool.

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay, and thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back someday soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for a week in July 2013. Unit 306. Great. Two bedrooms. Dual level. Quiet. Ocean 60 feet away. Best views. Grounds are wonderful. Sandy beach in front and directly north as well. Many turtles close by. In fact, they will run you over in the water. Watch out! :) Low density, old Hawaii feel. I have stayed at Maui Kai and Mahana. They are great as well. Kulakane has a more relaxed vibe.

Unit 306 was clean and well stocked. Will stay here again. I cannot think of a single negative. The resident manager, Willie, is great as is John Kevan, the manager of the unit.

Hesitant to file this as I do not want this unit booked when I visit the next time. A great, relaxing stay.

Room Tip: OOpps. No room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NavJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassygirl2011, Guest Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Kulakane. Be sure to book your return visit well in advance, as we do have many return visitors like yourself! Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in unit 102 and I cannot express the true beauty this complex offers. The grounds are meticulously maintained, The beach and snorkeling are right in front of the resort. The Pu Pu Party’s are a blast. My son woke every morning to go swim with the turtles as they swam in front of the resort. The people are friendly and it is like you are home. Comparing the stories with the daily activities everyone did that day made this like a huge family vacation. We stayed two weeks and to tell you the truth we almost did not return to Chicago. The resort might not have the amenities the larger resorts do but it has a very family, warm cozy feeling that is just the Aloha spirit. Clean modern updated units and a 20 yard walk to the ocean make this perfect. We cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: I would stay on the 2nd or third floor so the trade winds are stronger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassygirl2011, Guest Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Mahalo for the great review!! Please let your friends and family know and we would love to welcome them to the Kulakane. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,213 reviews
2.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,608 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,129 reviews
2.9 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulakane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulakane

Address: 3741 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: £157 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kulakane 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kulakane resort is a low-rise oceanfront Maui condo rental property offering vacation condo rentals on the beautiful West Maui shore.These roomy one- and two-bedroom direct Maui oceanfront condominiums are beautifully appointed, with all of the luxuries of home. The spaciousness of the accommodations makes them ideal for families or couples on vacation.At the Kulakane Resort, every condo is just 50 feet from the ocean and has a direct, picturesque view of the neighboring islands of Lanai and Molokai and spectacular sunsets.When you stay at the Kulakane Resort, you can do it all or do nothing at all! Watch the whales, dolphins and sea turtles up close while relaxing at our oceanside pool, beach, or from your private lanai.Our oceanfront condo rentals are located on grounds featuring elegant gardens, gas grills, on-site laundry, free parking and free wireless Internet access throughout the complex. First class golf courses, fine dining, night life and shopping at Kaanapali Village and Lahaina are just a five-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kulakane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulakane Hotel Lahaina
Kulakane Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing