We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Westin Kaanapali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vashon, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Westin Kaanapali”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My family had not been on a real vacation in years. We decided last summer that we were going to get out of rainy Seattle during Christmas and go to Maui. So glad we did! By late August we were a little late getting in the game, but eventually found a nice place at the Westin Kaanapali. We could only afford a studio (2 adults one 12-year old), and it was a little cramped, but given the $'s we saved, well worth it. The rooms are clean and efficient with a kitchen, washer and dryer. VERY tiny closet. Don't pack a lot of clothes.

The beach is why we go to Maui and Kaanapali beach is fantastic. Right out in front of the hotel is snorkeling and just a few yards south is great for swimming (no coral). Plus you can take a long walk and sight see.

Room tip - ask for what you want up front. We got exactly what we asked for. I suggest North building, 6th floor (the top), with no parking lot views. We had room 6658 which has the best view for a studio, that's for sure! Includes a spectacular ocean view with a rainbow right out the window every morning.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want, don't leave it to chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,385
    1,005
    362
    174
    133
See reviews for
1,813
1,551
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We spent the first 5 nights of our recent Maui vacation at the Westin Villas, before heading off to Hana for a few days. This place is beautiful and a bit pricey. Typically, I wouldn't stay somewhere at $300+/night but we had a great incentive invite (it's a timeshare) so we took them up on the offer. The rooms are very modern, with great bedding and a huge jacuzzi-style tub. All rooms have a kitchen - ours was a small one but still had everything you need to cook (if you choose). The first room they gave us offered a partial ocean view - and the other view was of the loading bay and garbage/recycle area - not too pleasant and kind of smelly. We requested a room change and they were very accommodating- 2nd room location was perfect. The grounds are spectacular, several pools, lots of BBQs for guest use, pathways, etc. Beach area is good for both snorkeling and swimming. Restaurants were pricey (like most of Maui) but good. It's hard to stay in the room and cook with so many tasty food options in the Ka'anapali area! The walkway along the beach continues around Black Rock/Sheraton, in a roundabout way, and connects to the long walk along Ka'anapali. The Westin also offers a free shuttle that will take you to several stops- Whaler's Village and Lahaina. You could probably forgo the rental car if you mostly want to stay in the beachfront area. The resort had many families and is very kid-friendly. Overall, a great resort. Price-wise, for the family that prefers to cook most meals in the room or at the BBQs, it would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the loading bay, garbage, recycle area. Kind of smelly and lots of trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Ok, I am normally a Best Western or Country Inn and Suites type person. I don't think I've every paid over 150 a night for lodging. But, this trip was for my mom's 75th birthday, and I wanted it to be really nice. It was. I don't know what it was about this property but it was the most relaxing vacation Ive ever had. Maybe it was maintenance coming at 4 am to give me a new coffee maker? The pools and the slide, which my daughter loved? The help one of the reservation managers gave (thanks Sulinn) to make this week really special for my mom's birthday? I am going again in February 2013. My family and I agreed we would forego Christmas and birthday presents until then and just save for another trip to this Westin. It is expensive, but worth it.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mackymac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
I am pleased to read that Sulinn provided you with outstanding service.
In addition, thank you for noticing that we were attentive to your needs at such an early hour. We take great pride in training our team on making personal connections and memorable experiences.
Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Maui in 2013. Have a wonderful new year!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I stay for 8 days in an ocean view one-bedroom. The facility was very well maintained. The grooming of the grounds and building maintenance was evident but not distracting. The pools and beach area were top notch. The kitchen was great and the in room laundry allowed us to travel with only carry-on luggage,

The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is close to shopping, dining and other attractions.

The food on property is just OK and expensive, so we usually ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not all of the studios have a balcony sitting area, so be sure to ask if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredVP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was our 5th stay on Maui. We were thrilled to get the Westin villas on a trade through Interval Intl. We stayed in a 2 bdrm (it was actually a 1 bdrm w/an adjoining king suite) in bldg 8 on the 4th floor, end unit. There were 3 of us. We had an ocean view but could also see a fenced off piece of undeveloped land btwn the Westin and Honua Kai and could hear some road noise when on the lanai. We were fine with this, but just letting you know in case you book into the far side of bldg 8. Also, you need to park in a parking garage in bldg 6 and walk past the pools and a BBQ area to get to bldg 8. The property is very nice. Great amenities in the condos and at the resort. FYI, the condo has a cooktop but no oven and the lanai was quite small.
I think the most important consideration in whether to pick this property is location. We found it to be extremely windy. We've stayed at other properties along Kaanapali Beach and really think the further north you get, the windier it is. We stayed at the resort beach and pools a couple of days but it was very windy and drizzly. We decided to go down to Wailea area beaches and had great weather the days down there. So, if you like to venture out most days and see the great Maui sights and beaches then the Westin is a great property. If you want to relax at the resort beach and pools, I would choose a more protected site or at least ask for a unit on the inner side. Btw, we stayed at the Sheraton down the road the night before our timeshare week started and really enjoyed the suite and property. As for beaches, my husband especially liked Ulua Beach for snorkeling (a family friendly beach near the Wailea Marriott).

Room Tip: Conos on the south side may not be as windy and may have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deenmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel is beautiful.

▲The rooms are big and comfortable. If you are going with children, try to stay in a room with 1 or 2 bedrooms. It may rain, so you'll need the extra space for the little ones.

▲If you are thinking on eating at the hotel, there are restaurants there, but you'll have every cooking utensil to make any meal in your room... dishes, silverwear, pans (different sizes), oven dish, colander, grill set, etc..

▲If you want to store left overs, you'll need to either bring containers from home, or buy some there

▲There are grills outside, next to the pool areas, so you can make a bbq at night.

▲If you are celebrating a birthday (my husband and I did), you can buy candles and matches at the general store, or just bring them with you to save money and time, but they won't give almost anything at the front desk like a regular hotel would do.. oh, and you are not allowed to light the candles in the room...

▲They have a DVD player and a movie rental kiosk, that's good for a nice rest after a busy day.

▲Close to the hotel, there is a supermarket and some local restaurants.

▲The pools are awesome, the beach is amazing.

▲Bring your snorkling gear!

Room Tip: -facing the ocean is a great idea, but the pool areas are beautiful too -the 1 or 2 bedrooms rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinebraLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Westin resorts always have beautiful grounds and pool areas. We had a bar b q right on the boardwalk overlooking the ocean. Rooms were large with a small kitchen great beds.
You will have to pay for parking but they do have a free shuttle to Lahaina and the the Cannery Mall. Wireless internet did not work in our room but we could plug our laptop into the wall.

Room Tip: This is a condo complex and owners have the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R55Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing