We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our family has stayed at the Westin Villas numerous times since 2006. With each trip we are reminded why we keep returning: the quality of the property, the beautiful landscape and pools, incredible beach front, and extraordinarily friendly and attentive staff. This is our home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view or ocean front. That is why you come to Maui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55LoneStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,065 - 3,071 of 4,490 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed at this property a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it! We had a room on the north side of the property overlooking the pool.Our room had a nice little kitchen stocked with everything but the food. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

When we first arrived we were welcomed by our personal concierge "Nancy" She told us all about what to see in Maui, where the best restaurants are, and some AMAZING hikes to waterfalls. We only had 5 days on Maui so the info she gave us was really valuable. They have a great little pool bar with really good food. I loved this resort and will surely come again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Northside of the property have bigger lanais.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Aloha! We are so happy to hear that you had an eventful five days on Maui. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We will see you on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent our honeymoon in a 1 bedroom at the Westin Ka'anapali in August 2012. We are owners in Orlando and used points/$$$ with the assistance of a Starwoods rep.

The rating would be five stars except for our sales experience, detailed below.

The amenities of the resort are first-rate, including: Beds/Pillows/Linens, kitchen appliances/amenities, good TV, you name it. The only minor comment, amenity-wise, would be that the internet was sporadic, which we have found to be expected. The room was extremely quiet and located on the fourth floor, with a view of the pool/grounds and the ocean beyond.

The unit was clean and the cleaning staff was diligent with replenishing of items, etc.

In fact, one of the best things about our stay (with the one exception mentioned above) was the great friendliness of the staff, top to bottom. Our check-in/check-out was quick, courteous. Our concierge, Jeremy, was personable and helpful with answers to our questions.

Snorkeling off the beach in front of the resort is quite good - easy entry/exit via sand beach. Beautiful reef just beyond. Do note that the depth drops quite quickly.

For couples, I do want to make one comment. There are other reviews that mention the amount of children at the resort. This is certainly true - if you are someone who wants to park by the pool, be forewarned - at least at this time of year, they are everywhere!

Negatives? The internet - sporadic. If you want shade on the beach, you can either go under the trees for some shade. Renting an umbrella and a couple of chairs will set you back $40. For the one day we did that, it was money well spent, but would quickly add up.

Now for our one major negative - we had told our concierge that being from the east coast we had no desire to buy, at this time. He mentioned that at any rate this would be a good opportunity to learn about changes to the way Starwoods (SPG) handles it's points, etc. So this is what we expected. What we got was an extremely hard sell (think used car salesman) who dropped us like a hot potato when we finally convinced him we were not interested. Extremely unprofessional, enough to lower the overall rating. Being seasoned, time-share owners, we expected a spiel, but not to have it rammed down our throats.

I had mentioned the issue and after we had checked out, I received a very thoughtful phone call from the Sales Manager of the property who apologized profusely and we had quite a good conversation - I was impressed both with him and the speed of his contact.

I would not hesitate at all to recommend this resort. Maui is just beautiful and the resort is nicely situated to make the most of your stay

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you away from a little of the "activity" in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just returned home to New Zealand today after 8x nights in room 6327.
Firstly, a big thank you to Elyse and Kalea in the Italian restaurant, Ryan and Jeff at the pool bar, Justin the pool drinks attendant, and a special mention to Tina, the shuttle driver ....all outstanding staff who we found very genuine and a pleasure to deal with.
We didnt know what to expect when we arrived, having never been to Maui before,and the resort is set out beautifully, once you get the hang of the map provided. We were pleasantly suprised with the quality of our 1x bedroom unit once we finally made it to our room ... the room was not available until 4.15pm and we arrived around 2.00pm, so had to wait awhile. Only thing we noticed that could be nicer were the bath towels .... some were very old. Other than that, the room was all we could have wished for.
The majority of our time was spent around the pool and we would have gladly used the adult pool but its postioning leaves alot to be desired. I must say that the sun loungers are very uncomfortable, but we didnt want to pay the extra for the cabana just to get comfy loungers... like wise having to pay for a plastic beach chair.
Italian restaurant was fabulous ... we have eaten all over the world and we really rate this ... also tried the pool bar for lunch and was reasonably good.
All in all a very nice resort ..... a pity the local shops werent closer, but we made good use of the shop ... good selection of fresh food.
We will recommend you to our friends.
Thank you from Alan and Jennifer

Room Tip: Stick to the North wing if you have no children with you ... still kids there but better than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the Westin Kaanapali on 29 July for 5 nights. Our one bedroom room, with separate living area, was spacious and modern. The furniture and facilities were all of good quality and were clean and well fitted out. Other than the flat screen TV taking a few minutes to warm up (odd for a modern TV - but not an issue) everything was in complete working order. We like having a kitchen for breakfasts and a laundry because we have a child. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. The pool area was great - except, as with most large hotels, you had to get out early to get a shaded chair, or any chair at all. As a nice touch during the afternoon the pool people brought round complimentary iced lollies/iceblocks for the children. There is a small shop and only limited dining venue's on-site, however a shuttle bus does hourly transfers to the Whalers Village (where there is another much larger Westin and shops and restaurants). The shuttle then going on to Lahaina where there are lots of shops, supermarket and loads of restaurants. This is a quieter hotel than some others, but we enjoyed that aspect of our Hawaii trip, because we were then going on to Oahu for a few days. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay with no complaints.

Room Tip: Ocean view is obviously the best, but the pool view is also pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Have recently returned from a wonderful stay at this property. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, which surpassed my expectations in terms of size and amenities. The bathroom was huge, with double sinks, we had a washer and dryer, dishwasher, balcony...it was really lovely and allowed us to make ourselves truly at home during our week-long stay.

I found the Italian restaurant to have the best food and service - the hostess and servers were very pleasant and helpful and the food was delicious. It's closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, though. The restaurant beside the main pool was the one we probably went to the most, just for convenience. The food was nice - not amazing but certainly did the job, with nice options (incl. healthy ones!) for my 2 year old. Not many vegetarian options for me, but the staff happily accommodated any requests that I had.

The only slight negative that I would mention is that the room service menu was limited and seemed to have different numbers to call for different genres of food. Not ideal, if your food choices come from different menus. We tried to order breakfast one morning and no-one answered the phone, despite trying to get through 3 times. I was a bit surprised, given that it's meant to be a top resort.

The main pool was really lovely and my daughter loved the separate kiddie pool too. We never managed to get a place on the sun loungers during our stay, but there's plenty of grass around so we just placed ourselves there instead.

It's about a half hour walk to Whalers Village, so maybe not quite as convenient as some of the other hotels, but it was a pleasant walk and we did it most days, just for a bit of exercise.

I'd definitely stay at this property next time we're in Maui.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have returned for Christmas to the Westin villas for four years in a row now. Everything about it is excellent and literally paradise on earth. They have everything that a family may need there at the resort. I cannot wait to return this year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WJB12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas
23.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £314 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing