We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Vs. South”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“North Vs. South”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at WKORV North for a week in the middle of September. There are not enough superlatives to describe this property. It is simply an amazing resort in one of the most beautiful locations in the world. The staff is outstanding. Everyone we encountered was friendly, helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoy providing great service. Mylin at the front desk was especially helpful.

This was our second stay at WKORV. We spent a week in the South Villas last year. On both occasions we stayed in studio suites. There are many reviews already written on the resort and I doubt I could add much that hasn’t been said. I will confine this review to a comparison of the North and South Villas.

The North Villas are newer but I really didn’t notice much difference in the furnishings. The South studios are slightly larger. Both have full size refrigerators. One important distinction, only some of the studio units in the South Villas have balconies. All do in the North.

The pool and common grounds in the South Villas are much larger than the North. Correspondingly, the area between the buildings on the south side is larger. This means more open views to the ocean on the south side. There is a children’s pool on the north side. It’s not adjacent to the main pool which limits some of the noise and chaos. There is an adult pool in the North Villas but it’s in a location that gets very little sun and a lot of wind. I never saw anyone use it. The bbq grills for the North Villas are next to the adult pool; again, windy and limited views. The grills for the south property are at the western edge of the property overlooking the beach, a much better location. I enjoyed the sports bar at the north property more than the casual restaurant at the south.

Overall, I preferred the South. However, it’s kind of like saying I enjoy a NY steak to a rib-eye, either is fantastic. Additionally, you are not confined to either resort. Guests at the North have open access to everything at the South and vice versa.

Room Tip: Not all studios in the south villas have balconies. Make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank 92081Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,428
    1,020
    365
    174
    134
See reviews for
1,851
1,567
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We just returned from holiday on Maui where we stayed at the Westin Ocean Resort Villas September 2012. We have been to this area on Maui before and our choice of accommodations is the Whaler on Kaanapali. This trip we decided to try something different and we stayed at the Westin Villas North. The hotel room itself was basic, small and a little outdated but very clean. The main shared areas are beautiful and I do not have anything bad to say about that part of the facility at all.
I would however, recommend to anyone considering staying here that you confirm with the hotel directly, if possible in writing, that you are going to get what you pay for as we didn't and were extremely disappointed. We booked and paid for a full ocean view suite and we got the complete opposite. Not only was it not a suite but a small hotel room with kitchenette facilities but we could not see the water, only a jungle. When we walked through the plants and around the wall we could see the pool area.
We will be taking this up with our travel agent upon return as the cost for our room was similar in price to the Whaler where we had a 1 bedroom, large apartment size, recently renovated facility with a huge balcony and complete ocean view on the 8th floor.....and during peak season.

Room Tip: Confirm in advance, directly with hotel in writing, that you are going to get the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was less than perfect. We would like to take this opportunity to personally discuss with you the details of your comments. I have sent you a private message with my contact information so that we can connect. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

first time here and I'm sure we'll be back...

Very nice accommodations and grounds. Well designed and nicely appointed room. Close to Lahaina and Kapula.

Good:
location
Well maintained. everything worked in unit. Shower drained, water pressure good.
close to beach
Not overly aggressive on time share/ownership pitches

Bad:
Parking spaces very narrow. Especially with the all big SUVs many people seem to have. WiFi spotty but usable. Do not get drinks from Pailolo. Most watered downed drink ever. Elevators very slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anotherEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Went here in March 2010. Beautiful place, beautiful time, wonderful beach, wonderful snorkeling. Great places to eat close by. Alot of site seeing and walking along the board walk and the beach. Snorkeled around black rock. That is a long ways, better be in shape if you do it. Went out and watched the whales and enjoyed the beautiful blue clear ocean water. Went up on top of the volcano. Very beautiful and cold up there. Personally for some reason I could barely walk and function up there.
But really enjoyed this vaction spot. excellant beyond what I have experienced before.

Room Tip: My Lady owns a time share so we enjoyed the full size room with the heavenly bed.......awesome buy o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnjgoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We are owners at the resort and we come back every year. We love the accommodations and we think that the service is just as good now as when we bought our unit in 2004. The resort condition is being well maintained as well as the units. The location north of Lahaina is a perfect fit for us and the beach access is great. The pools can get busy and temperature seems to be variable but overall very enjoyable. We are still very happy owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAppelt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge ontario canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here 2 weeks in September in a one bedroom deluxe suite on the North side. We had heard that there were not as many kids on this side and it is true. There are sort of three areas with pools. One is the North and there is in between the building a pirate ship pool for the kids and then on the other side of the building is another pool with all the kids. It was beautiful.. We stayed in building six facing the lobby and koi pond. There is morning sun on the balcony and shade in the afternoon which suited us. We went to costco for our supplies so if you are a member bring your card cause the deals are great. Kona 100% for less than 20.00 which was good compared to the grocery store at double the price. Also you should no that there is a charge for beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach. 2 chairs and one umbrella, 40.00 dollars a day. Many people either purchased there chairs from costco or rented from somewhere nearby. You are allowed to bring chairs from other places to the hotel beach.

The whole chair thing around the pool is ridiculous. The pool guys come around starting around 8:30 am and tag chairs that have towels on but are vacant. Then they check back an hour later and if you have not returned to your chair they remove your things and you loose your chair. When you see a tag on chair remove it or if you happen to be in the pool and not around when the hour is up they will take your things. If I had anything to complain about it would be this about the resort. It was aggravating and not holiday like to have to continually watch you watch to make sure you weren't away for an hour. Apparently they stop at noon but I did see them doing it in the afternoon.

Other than that any requests I made of the hotel were serviced promptly including repairs to the room. There are BBQs throughout the hotel but they are very busy so you need patience. The snorkelling is awesome here, we even saw the turtles! It was so good we were planning on an excursion to lani and decided not to because we were happy with the snorkelling. I

f you don't snorkel then bring water shoes as there is a lot of coral and could be rough on your feet. We did book a trip with temptations for the road to Hana because I wanted my husband to enjoy the trip and not have to worry about the drive and be able to look around. We also visited the O'o farm which was excellent and had lunch there and the lavender farm where we also ordered lunch in advance which was worthwhile. These were both excellent trips into the upcountry.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the Westin Villas after spending one night at the Westin Maui which was close by. Are we every glad we moved. We booked a one bedroom with an ocean view, and were on the sixth floor. We had a great view and the room was awesome. Full kitchen with living room, a beautiful bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub and a separate large shower. There is a opening between the tub and the bedroom, but has shutters to separate. The bed itself was very comfortable and there was a lot of drawer and closet space. Our balcony (Room 2603) had an amazing view of the pool are, ocean and island (not sure which one it was). Balcony had two nice chairs and a small table.

We just loved the feel of the resort. It's fairly low key, and the pool and lanscaping are beautiful. There is a waterslide if you have kids. There were quite a few kids there, but not enough to be bothersome. I would assume a lot of families stay here using their timeshare week, or as a rental, because of the kitchens and convenience when travelling with children.

The beach was quite spectacular too, a lot of people were swimming and/or snorkelling.

We stayed in the first check in building, but there is an Ocean Villas North, which seems a bit older, but still very nice. There is also a pool there, and poolside grill/bar. There is an Italian restaurant (which was very good) called Pulehu in the North villas either. They are right beside the building we stayed in, and basically the same resort. I think the section we were in, is what you would get when booking through them directly or a travel site. I could be wrong, but I think the North villas are used more by owners/exchangers.

There is also a poolside restaurant and bar in the area we stayed in. Food was good and the buffet breakfast was great. We had a package that included the breakfast, and it was worth it. Some people like to cook their meals when in accomodations like these, but we prefer to eat out and make it more of a holiday (don't like to cook). There are bbq's close to the pool area as well, that you are able to use.

Don't think twice about staying here if you're not into a big party scene. If you're looking for a lot of action, you may want to go somewhere else.

No night life to speak of except the pool bar - which I think is open till around 10:00-10:30 pm. This was fine by us. We went out a few times, but were usually back by then anyhow and in bed. The time change knocked us out, and we had a lot of fun in the day and were ready for bed early.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing