We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Other reviewers where right as far as where your room will be if you book it through Interval International, as far away from the beach as possible. BUT the room was not loud with the sliding doors closed, in fact I couldn't hear any outside noise unless I went out on the lanai. The sofa sleeper in the room my daughter was in was broken so 3 wonderful employees came and took the one out of our room and put it into hers. The mattress was still not comfortable to sleep in so housekeeping came with foam mattress pads that made it a whole lot better.
Everyone at the Westin bent over back to make our stay wonderful and they succeeded. We had great time and would stay there again in the blink of an eye.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north building are newer but they give all the good rooms to the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litchj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,283
    986
    356
    170
    128
See reviews for
1,725
1,516
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Love this resort and would highly recommend it. The area is great, right on the beach, boardwalk for easy walking, restaurants close by, and snorkeling right there. The resort is top notch! The grounds are impeccable and kept up always. The only downfall I saw was housekeeping was not up to par. They did a housekeeping not a refresh on a one bedroom in eleven minutes. Not to my standards or theirs I would think. The linens were clean but doing the necessary housekeeping from one occupancy to another was not done proper. Sweeping, vacuuming and such were not done which makes me wonder what else was not taken care of. But all in all I love the resort and would highly recommend staying here. It is the best!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootiepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Travelled here after Thanksgiving with my husband and 2 elementary age children. We are not owners, we were there on a Westin promotion. We asked to be moved from the first room; it was in building , it smelled like mildew and the furnishings were worn out and didn't seem very clean. The next 1 bedroom we moved to was in building 2 and it was better and had a small ocean view. The newer buildings had MUCH nicer furnishings (5, 6, & 7 I believe?).

Pros:
Provided free dish soap, dishwashing detergent, and laundry supplies.
Laundry in room! The best at the beach with kids!
Nice kitchen.
Friendly employees, which is very typical in Hawaii
My kids loved the water slide.
In front of a very nice beach.
Nice kitchen. & plenty of outdoor grills.
There is a JAWZ taco truck right across the street along with a shave ice stand.

Cons:
Mid-week maid service did not clean the shower or the tub.
Very sparse poolside service.
Expensive beach chairs. ($25 per chair, $30 for an umbrella; they put them away at 4pm)
Microwave was broken, they had put another one on.
Older furnishings in most buildings.
Construction was going on.
Pool was cold.
They had an "ice skating by the sea" thing - it was material like a plastic cutting board that you skated on with regular ice skates. A huge rip-off, and very small. Was hardly ever anyone there.

Overall:
I would not pay regular price to come here; we got a deal we could not refuse, and for what we paid it was worth it. The Westin timeshare on Kauai is MUCH newer and nicer. However, the beach it is on is a great beach, and if you like being close to Kaanapali, it is a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a new/ remodeled building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithtwins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the lack of cleanliness in your villa when you first arrived. Checking into a dirty room can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. We would be grateful for the opportunity to further discuss your recent stay at our resort. Please send me your preferred contact information to krystle.silva@westin.com, so that one of our Westin team members are able to reach out to you. Mahalo again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It is always nice to have a pleasant face and attitude to greet you at the front desk when you check in after a long day of travelling. As an owner I have been to the Villas many times, but this experience was extra special. Thank you Jade, for your true aloha spirit!

Room Tip: I prefer the villas in building 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Aloha Erin H,
I am pleased to read your wonderful comments about Jade. I will be sure to share your excellent review with our management team. We can’t be luckier to have the wonderful staff that we have who make those personal connections with our owners and guests. Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We are starwood owners and exchanged to this property through Starwood vacation exchange. We stayed at a one bedroom and got ocean view, which was fantastic.
The room got fully equipped kitchen, dining area and living area, huge bathroom with jetted tub and seperate shower. All the staffs at the resort were very nice. I didn't have any bad experience with the staffs at this resort.
The pool areas can be very noisy, full of kids which we didn't really mind. If you are looking for some place very quiet then I am not sure whether you would like this place.
Our fight arrived at 5pm, so checkin time at 4pm wasn't really our problem and we have stayed at timeshare properties enough to understand the rule and worked with it.
If you get there before 4pm, there are places around the resort to sit and enjoy the view.

Amenities
- Complimentary vallet the first night, make sure you move your car the next day otherwise they might charge you for vallet the next day.
- Free self parking
- Free Wifi, I didn't have problem getting connection.
- Free shuttle
Route 1 - go between sister hotels which is Westin Ocean club, Sheraton (snorkle at the Black Rock) and Westin Resort and spa.
Route 2 - take you to each sister hotels but also to The Whaler Village, Canary Mall (Safeways supermarket), downtown Lahaina
- Pool areas, people will get up as early as 6am to reserve their spots at the pool. When you checkin, the hotel will give you towel cards and you will need these cards to get your towels and they will give back your cards once you return the towels. You will have to give these card back when you checkout otherwise you will get charge 15 dollars per card. The place for you to get your towels will open at 8am. I think a lot of people hold on to their towels over night.
- The hotel also have cabanas around the pool for rent, you will have to reserve it in advance. If you want to sit by the beach, I think you will have to rent beach chairs. We just laid our beach towels on the sand and it was perfectly fine for us.
- Since this is a timeshare, they don't have daily turndown service. Minor complain is, I was given only one set of toiletteries for the entire stay. You can call the front desk to ask for more but I was hoping to get a refill during mid-week turndown service.


If you want to explore the island, getting a rental car is well worth it.
Sight seeing - Talk to the concierges. They were fantastic and so helpful. If you have smartphone, getting Gypsy Guide app. You can download the tour from Gypsy Guide for the whole Maui for about 10 dollars. You don't need to have iphone signal, the app will guide you according to your GPS on the phone.
- Road to Hana, we left the hotel and 5.30am and drove straight all the way to Haleakala national park (a little bit pass Hana). There were hardly anybody when we got there which was good. You can take a lot of good photos. We made a stop on the important stops on the way back from Hana.
- Haleakala Crater, this is also a must see. You will be on top of 10,000 ft. You will be above the clouds and the view of the crater is undescribable. A lot of people go up there to see sun rise, but you will have to get up at 2.30am and make sure that you are well prepared for the temperature drop at the top of the mountain.
- Driving along the west coast of Maui, there are a lot of view points.
- Snorkeling at Kapalua beach. Someone spotted sea turtle right off the beach. The parking to this beach is quite limited, you will have to get there quite early.
- Whale watching, there were a lot of Whale Watching tour. We went with "Ultimate Whales watching"
- Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour. This was quite a memorable experience. Giving you a tour of the whole island at 15,000 fts above ground.
- Downtown Lahaina

Restaurant :
We didn't get a chance to try any restaurants on site since we liked going out and explore. So I can't comment on that. We bought some stuffs from Costco which is about 5 minutes from Kahului airport. It got fresh Sashimi and Poke and Macadamia nuts at Costco are very cheap compare to other supermarket.
The restuarants outside that we tried
- Star noodles, 5-10 minutes drive from the hotel. It is very good but you may have to wait for 45 minutes during dinner time. This place is quite popular.
- Lahaina Grill (downtown Lahaina). It was good (not great) but also very expensive.
- Ono Gelato, downtown Lahaina. Nice gelato, good view of the ocean in the back.
- Leoda's kitchen and pie shop, dessert pies here are very good. Our favorite was apple crumb. We tried meat'n potatoes pie. We didn't like it but dessert pies were to die for.
- Huli-Huli chicken by Kahana beach. Open Sunday only 11am - 5pm. Excellent, excellen chicken and very cheap. A must try.
- Mama's fish house in Paia. Quite a bit of the drive from the hotel. But you can make it as part of driving to Hana, and stop on the way back. Must make reservation. Excellent food, kind of expensive but so worth it.
- Old Lahaina Luau, if this is your first time to Hawaii, then you should include this as part of your plan. It was a very nice experience.

Overall, we enjoyed staying at this property. We didn't get to use a lot of amenities its offered but we are planning to come back and stay at this property again and may be longer than one week this time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvlgal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Bought a vacation deal offered over the phone. Was not sure what to expect. AWESOME! Ashley A checked us in and gave us all the information for our stay. Very friendly and courteous. Nancy, our concierge gave us great tips on restaurants and activities. Two days in and all well!

Room Tip: The one bedroom is worth it if one is up early and another is up late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
95665
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location, great room, great service. Excellent food at Pulehu Restaurant. Cynthia Q. arguably provided the best table service we've ever had anywhere. Would recommend a stay here to anyone. Thank you Westin Kaanapali. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing