We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, great location!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved it. The service is very good and the location is great. What we enjoyed the most was the jacuzzi. They have a very nice bar by the pool, which is not too expensive and offers good drinks. Towel service is very convenient too, they give you a card that you can always exchange for a clean towel and get back when you take your towel back. Rooms are spacioud and fullt equipped with a laundry set and all the kitchen things you may need. We had a great time here. Great option!

Helpful?
1 Thank Agus J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Aloha Agus J.,
Congratulations on your special occasion! We are thrilled that you have chosen us as your honeymoon destination. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and appreciate you sharing your experience. Mahalo for your 5 star rating!

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,289
    988
    357
    171
    128
See reviews for
1,728
1,521
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Westin on a promotional package from December 28, 2013 to January 2, 2014.

Our room was very well appointed and included a cooking area as well as common BBQ's. With 2 limited grocery stores onsite, there are grocery stores nearby in Lahaina. The onsite stores, given that they are in a resort, are reasonably priced. Besides an upscale restaurant, there are 2 other bars with decent food. Other restaurants are easily accessible with the Westin providing shuttle service or in walking distance such as Duke's.

There are a number of pools onsite as well as ocean swimming within seconds. It also has one of the better gyms I have encountered at any hotel. However, the gym gets quite busy so you have to pick your times.

We encountered a problem with our door lock. The maintenance fellow arrived quickly and fully resolved the problem. He also was friendly and pleasant.

Although we unlikely will return to the property, it is merely because of our preference for a more "local" experience. The property is an ideal location for families where there are many activities for children and Dad's can keep up on sports activities on the mainland.

The staff throughout the property are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank want2seemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas are lovely, spacious, with attention to detail. The staff is wonderful, helpful and met all our needs and requests. We are not owners but had a lovely villa with ocean view, large patio and each building has excellent outdoor grill stations. With a market on property, one night we stayed in grilled steaks which were excellent. We think this is a lovely location on Maui. La Haina is close by and the Westin has a shuttle service to town and many other places. I cannot say enough about the staff tho including the housekeeping services. This is a must stay while on Maui.

Room Tip: I would call hotel direct and discuss room/building location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas are a good choice if you have a family of more than four and need to spread out. We rented a 2BR/2BA (units 3404 & 3406) from a timeshare owner during what is likely the peak of their year -- one week starting December 27. We paid $4,400 for the week ... not cheap. The unit was clean and well appointed with furnishings for our family of five. The sofa sleeper was terrible for a bed and my daughters took turns sleeping in it so that no one person would be permanently disabled. The two rooms could be rented separately, so we had locking doors that needed to be propped open so we could float between them. The bed I slept in was very uncomfortable and kind of like laying on the hard sand of the beach without the view. Seeing as though Westin promotes the "Heavenly Bed", this was definitely no slice of heaven. The soap, shampoo and conditioner they provide leave a lot to be desired. I recommend you bring your own. Also, this does not exactly operate as a hotel, so consider that when making plans. Here is what I mean ... we only received housekeeping service ONCE during the week on the third day, so we washed our own towels and grabbed shampoo off the housekeeping carts as we ran out. Also, they have restaurants on the property but their menus are extremely disappointing in their variety and very expensive. In addition, there are a lot of expenses beyond the room cost. Want a chair on the beach? That will be $10 please. I heard a couple of people on the beach discuss their timeshare ownership arrangement and all I can say is that buying a timeshare is probably the worst financial decision anyone can make. I digress. The pool area was okay, the beach was nice, and the location was decent. One thing to know about the beach is that there is a coral reef right out front of the property and the snorkeling is fairly good. The reef creates a complication if you just want to swim because you can easily brush against it (or be thrown against it by a wave) and get scraped up. If you are looking at this area, there are a couple of other properties I recommend you explore: 1) the Sheraton has the best beach because it is right next to Black Rock and has great swimming and is more protected from waves and riptide, 2) the Honu Kai condos look awesome and seem to have nice grounds and beach. Based on what I saw, I would NOT go to the Hyatt because their beach is essentially non-existent and has eroded, and I might feel the same way about the sprawling Marriott. The Westin hotel is on a good stretch of beach and seems like it is also a decent property.

Room Tip: Beachfront. If you are going to shell out this kind of money, get a clear ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSB_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent a lovely week at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas in a one bedroom unit with a view of the keiki pirate ship pool and beach. The property was still decorated for Christmas and was very festive. The grounds were impeccable. The room was clean and spacious. We cooked many of our meals, but ate out pool side a few times and enjoyed the poke very much (poke is always better in Hawaii!). The resort is quiet and the guests were friendly. I was excited to see that recycling is now part of the hotel culture. My only complaint would be the quality of the cocktails - the mai tais were clearly from a mix and overly cloyingly sweet - it wouldn't take much effort to move the quality of the cocktail program up a notch or two. Looking forward to another visit later this year.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be angled with an ocean view to one end and mountains on the other from the lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Aloha! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our sustainability team especially loves your note to travelers about our properties suitability efforts. Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the quality of our cocktail menu offerings. I will be sure to pass your feedback to our Director, Food
and Beverage. We hope we are able to welcome you and your family back to Maui again.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed her in September 2013. We had the studio which had a small kitchen. This resort, rooms, and staff was excellent. We travled with 3 of our children. We orginally planned for just two of our kids but decided our teen needed to come as well. We still had plenty of room since our youngest is 4. However if we go again we will get the 1 bedroom, our friends hadd that room and it was more spacious with a full balcony ours was not what I consider a balcony, but nice to open the slider!
The pools were all fantastic with somthing to offer at each. We spent most of our time at the main pool with waterslide. The bar with the big screen tvs was amazing and right near the beach! I highly recommend this hotel...beds were very comfy! 4 star****

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After being away from Maui for almost 4 years, we decided to enjoy Christmas & New Year's at our home resort. (Yes, we are owners and do expect perks for staying at our home resort, although there weren't any that we experienced.) It's like putting on comfortable sweats and relaxing in that cozy chair. Aside from the plants & greenery around the pool area which had grown considerably, the resort is still the same lovely spot. There are a few minor maintenance issues which should be addressed (shower tiles & grout cleaning), but I thought overall the resort was well maintained.

We had excellent service from Amanda, our poolside server and always a friendly face & fun interaction with Issac. Bellmen were always cheerful & helpful.

Cooking in and having groceries for breakfast and lunch definitely saves money. Additional BBQ's seem to have been added around the resort and eliminated wait times.

The only issue my sons (22 & 24) had was when they wanted to use the tennis equipment, they were required to stand on the check in line to ask for the racquets. At any given time, there may have been 4-5 guests ahead of them. A suggestion would be to maybe move the racquets & balls to the pool hut or the various concierge stations in the lobby.

Overall, once again a great trip to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scapes1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your ownership experience. I’m thrilled to hear that you can call the Westin KOR your home away from home. Thank you for all your kind words about our staff, I will be sure to share your review with Amanda, Isaac and the Bellmen. We take great pride in training our team on making personal connections and memorable experiences. Also, we appreciate your feedback regarding the quality of your villa and would like to invite you to contact us at krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information. Thank you again for a 5 star review and we hope to hear from you soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing