We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Re-visited...Westin Kaanapali Villas are the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Re-visited...Westin Kaanapali Villas are the best”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We own an oceanfront villa at the Westin Kaanapali villas North. We are in our 2nd week an we had our daughters and their husbands and my grandson spend last week with us in a lock-off villa. I want to thank Ms. Angela Nolan and her team for providing us with the best service and welcome as they have every year for many years (I've been an owner since 2006)..the resort has seen many wonderful upgrades this year and Starwood Has placed it as a category 7 which is their highest category reserved for St. Regis and the special collection hotels. I can't say enough about the property and service. My grandson who is 3 now had a fantastic time at the children's pirate ship, playing at the beach and flying a kite on the grassy area in front of the resort. If you want the best, rent and buy at the Westin Kaanapali South and north villas....Mahalo

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamilshakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your ownership experience. We appreciate you sharing your KOR expertise with other travelers. We cannot express how lucky we feel to share our lovely island with loyal & valuable owners such as you. Thank you for making Maui and KOR your “home away from home.” Angela and the entire staff would like to wish you an outstanding rest of the year. Mahalo again.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,424
    1,020
    365
    174
    134
See reviews for
1,850
1,565
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The good
We got to the resort and the staff were amazing from the front to check in and the concierge chick Allison was a great help all our bookings were spot on
The staff around the pool were great
The studio room is really good big shower spa kitchen nice bed and laundry was good and a view of the water is always good
There are lots of pools bbqs (grills) and the restaurants and bars on site are really good
The bad
This place is huge it's takes 10 min to walk anywhere even from the room to the car park
When we checked in they told is there was a honeymoon gift waiting in our room for us when we got to the room there wasn't anything there
We stayed here on the last leg of our honey moon for a relax before we heading home but found it hard as there was so many people here busy and lots of kids
Down by the pools the are good sun lounges but there are to many of them so there all touching and it makes it hard to get a spot by your self without someone coming to camp on top of you
In the room the toilet would not stop running and the fridge is loud when trying to sleep
Overall the resort was great but not fantastic and when they say villa they mean hotel room
I would recommend this resort to anyone that likes being around a lot of people and this resort would be great for people with family's as there is lots to do for the kids and lots of other family's here as well

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Keegan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Aloha Keegan D.! We are pleased to read that our staff was amazing from your experience at the front desk, pool service and the excellent concierge service Allison provided. I will be sure to pass your kind words to the team. However, I would like to sincerely apologize that you did not receive your honeymoon gift for such a joyous occasion. Since you have mentioned a number of other items in your review, I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you to learn how we can improve. Please email krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information and our Westin team member will happy to reach out to you.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We love to return yearly to the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas North where we own week 52. From check-in with Joy (who lives up to her name) to check-out our experience was great! We had a great ocean front room in the area we requested. As owners, we were invited to attend a special reception and were able to re-connect with Glenn Casil whom we had met last year and have been able to get acquainted with personally and he welcomed us back home. We were also able to meet the new spa director Heather Reck and she made sure her staff was ready for us and we were even more relaxed after our massages. We ate @ all of the restaurants in our 2-week stay and all the meals were enjoyable. The pool servers we had were all extremely attentive to us and made sure everything was as requested.

Thank you Westin for another wonderful trip! Mahalo

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Renew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved it. The service is very good and the location is great. What we enjoyed the most was the jacuzzi. They have a very nice bar by the pool, which is not too expensive and offers good drinks. Towel service is very convenient too, they give you a card that you can always exchange for a clean towel and get back when you take your towel back. Rooms are spacioud and fullt equipped with a laundry set and all the kitchen things you may need. We had a great time here. Great option!

Helpful?
1 Thank Agus J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Aloha Agus J.,
Congratulations on your special occasion! We are thrilled that you have chosen us as your honeymoon destination. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and appreciate you sharing your experience. Mahalo for your 5 star rating!

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
White Rock
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Westin on a promotional package from December 28, 2013 to January 2, 2014.

Our room was very well appointed and included a cooking area as well as common BBQ's. With 2 limited grocery stores onsite, there are grocery stores nearby in Lahaina. The onsite stores, given that they are in a resort, are reasonably priced. Besides an upscale restaurant, there are 2 other bars with decent food. Other restaurants are easily accessible with the Westin providing shuttle service or in walking distance such as Duke's.

There are a number of pools onsite as well as ocean swimming within seconds. It also has one of the better gyms I have encountered at any hotel. However, the gym gets quite busy so you have to pick your times.

We encountered a problem with our door lock. The maintenance fellow arrived quickly and fully resolved the problem. He also was friendly and pleasant.

Although we unlikely will return to the property, it is merely because of our preference for a more "local" experience. The property is an ideal location for families where there are many activities for children and Dad's can keep up on sports activities on the mainland.

The staff throughout the property are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank want2seemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas are lovely, spacious, with attention to detail. The staff is wonderful, helpful and met all our needs and requests. We are not owners but had a lovely villa with ocean view, large patio and each building has excellent outdoor grill stations. With a market on property, one night we stayed in grilled steaks which were excellent. We think this is a lovely location on Maui. La Haina is close by and the Westin has a shuttle service to town and many other places. I cannot say enough about the staff tho including the housekeeping services. This is a must stay while on Maui.

Room Tip: I would call hotel direct and discuss room/building location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas are a good choice if you have a family of more than four and need to spread out. We rented a 2BR/2BA (units 3404 & 3406) from a timeshare owner during what is likely the peak of their year -- one week starting December 27. We paid $4,400 for the week ... not cheap. The unit was clean and well appointed with furnishings for our family of five. The sofa sleeper was terrible for a bed and my daughters took turns sleeping in it so that no one person would be permanently disabled. The two rooms could be rented separately, so we had locking doors that needed to be propped open so we could float between them. The bed I slept in was very uncomfortable and kind of like laying on the hard sand of the beach without the view. Seeing as though Westin promotes the "Heavenly Bed", this was definitely no slice of heaven. The soap, shampoo and conditioner they provide leave a lot to be desired. I recommend you bring your own. Also, this does not exactly operate as a hotel, so consider that when making plans. Here is what I mean ... we only received housekeeping service ONCE during the week on the third day, so we washed our own towels and grabbed shampoo off the housekeeping carts as we ran out. Also, they have restaurants on the property but their menus are extremely disappointing in their variety and very expensive. In addition, there are a lot of expenses beyond the room cost. Want a chair on the beach? That will be $10 please. I heard a couple of people on the beach discuss their timeshare ownership arrangement and all I can say is that buying a timeshare is probably the worst financial decision anyone can make. I digress. The pool area was okay, the beach was nice, and the location was decent. One thing to know about the beach is that there is a coral reef right out front of the property and the snorkeling is fairly good. The reef creates a complication if you just want to swim because you can easily brush against it (or be thrown against it by a wave) and get scraped up. If you are looking at this area, there are a couple of other properties I recommend you explore: 1) the Sheraton has the best beach because it is right next to Black Rock and has great swimming and is more protected from waves and riptide, 2) the Honu Kai condos look awesome and seem to have nice grounds and beach. Based on what I saw, I would NOT go to the Hyatt because their beach is essentially non-existent and has eroded, and I might feel the same way about the sprawling Marriott. The Westin hotel is on a good stretch of beach and seems like it is also a decent property.

Room Tip: Beachfront. If you are going to shell out this kind of money, get a clear ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSB_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing