We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Awesome Holiday Season Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another Awesome Holiday Season Vacation”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have been owners at this resort since it opened 10 years ago. We have never been disappointed. The property is well maintained to give us the same or better experience each time. This year it was great to see the pool and related amenities refurbished. The skating rink is an awesome concept and kept all our friends in the cold north and east wondering! Our grandsons never tired of the pool slide and the ability to skate among the palm trees just made it a special year. The other thing making it a special vacation is the attitude of staff. They were all friendly and eager to do whatever needed to make our "home away from Home" live up to our expectations. The beach location, ready access to Ka'anapali commercial ventures including restaurants both on site and off cannot be beat. We can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: We prefer the south area. The pool has more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,384
    1,005
    362
    174
    133
See reviews for
1,812
1,551
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Westin Kaanapalie Ocean Resort Villas and it was a wonderful experience. The villas are beautiful, very clean, and the kitchen was nicer than my kitchen at home. The whole resort has a very nice, spacious feeling and the staff is friendly and helpful. I particularly was impressed with Isaac Pieper, Chris Poole, and Jesse Plumber, who worked at the pool kiosk. They completely exemplified the Aloha Spirit and helped me with my snorkel crisis. I broke a piece off of my sister's snorkeling gear and Isaac helped me in a friendly and professional manner. He also gave me a great tip about smearing your snorkel mask with toothpaste so that it will not fog up in the water. (Put on toothpaste in a thin layer, leave on for 3 minutes, rinse off and you are ready to go.) I had so much fun snorkeling (Kapalua Bay is a wonderful spot), thanks to Isaac, Chris, and Jesse. Thanks again, Westin Kaanapali! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovedogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Aloha! We are so proud to read that Isaac, Chris and Jessie made such a positive impact on your stay. I will be sure to forward your comments to the leadership team to ensure they are all recognized for their outstanding service they provided.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

When my family (me, husband, and infant) checked in at 10pm after long day of travel to what we read as the #1 hotel, we did not expect our room to be infested with German cockroaches!!!! We called front desk and the clerk said they couldn't move us cause they were sold out and they would send a maintenance guy up. He basically helped my husband step on the bugs and also got grossed out. I called back and spoke to manager who said they could move us in the morning but there was nothing they could do that evening.

By about 1230am, I resolved to sleep in the car with my infant as we were not sleeping in the room with an infestation. My husband called one more time and finally got the manager to move us to another room... So much for being sold out!!!! Then the next day they tried to tell us we has to check out at 10am and would have a new room around 3pm... So basically leaving us stranded during my sons nap time....

We finally got a new room and everything else was top notch, but our beginning made our stay very unfortunate. It's not how a hotel handles the good things,but rather the problems, that defines greatness to me. And this place was not great at handling our problem.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank janetczyszczon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Aloha Janet,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize about the rocky start that you experienced upon your arrival with your villa. Checking into a room with bugs can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. We are, however, grateful for your feedback and would like the opportunity to personally connect with you. Please feel free to contact me at krystle.silva@westin.com with your preferred contact information and a Westin team member will shortly thereafter reach out to you. Mahalo again for your review and we hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We are Westin timeshare owners in St. John and do not easily give up the chance to go there. However, we wanted to go to Hawaii before our oldest started college. We went this summer and had two studios (our daughter came too) with amazing views of that wonderful sunset. Beautiful pool and beach (though we did not spend that much time on the property). We were constantly on the move. We received great advice from the concierges about trips and restaurants. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We return here every other year with our kids for family vacation. It is a kids paradise and the perfect place for a family vacation!
From the multiple pools, water slides and baby pools…to the pool deck service, sports bars , restaurants and more. We are always happy here. The ability to have a kitchen with kids, and a large living area is a bonus…and the ground floor is so perfect with kids.
The pool staff is amazing as well! Brandon at the pool desk along with the others that worked with him over our trip were very helpful and attentive. As well as Royce who was in charge of snuba! We couldn't get our son out of the pool every morning at 11 as he had to be in there snuba-ing.
Pulehu is the italian restaurant on site, and it is very good food. and the service is remarkable. from manager Mark to our amazing servers...Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: the newer side of the resort is much nicer and a little quieter than the other . the rooms are newly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location!! This resort is on a wonderful beach.. Snorkeling, a boardwalk, whales seen from the beach. Resorts is very good. Great to have the shuttle service to Lahaina and other Starwood hotels. The studio we stayed in was good.. Well appointed kitchen. The only complaint I have is the studio does not have an outside patio area with chairs. Also, the pools in the south towers area were RIDICULOUSLY cold. Charging people chairs and umbellas to use on the beach .. $10.00 a chair and $24.00 for an umbrella was a rip off, especially for Starwood owners. Despite, we will return to this resort in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked a room by calling Starwood Hotels. When we arrived, we were not given the room we paid for. The staff told us those rooms were only available to timeshare owners. We received an inferior room and were not compensated for the difference in price we paid.

On top of that, there was fire alarm testing & bug spraying going on while we were at the hotel, and there was NO NOTICE given.

The air conditioning went out for 2 days before they fixed it in our room.

We were on our honeymoon/anniversary (didn't have a proper one after getting married so we had this one for our first anniv) and brought our 7 month old daughter.

Worse experience EVER at a hotel. They did not offer to do anything. They just blamed me. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are better hotels on the island at cheaper prices.

If you have any problems with this hotel, the staff won't help you. Be warned.

Room Tip: When we booked, we were confirmed for an ocean front room, but they won't give you an ocean fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Aloha Nic S.,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. It is unfortunate to hear about your encounters you had with our staff. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with a flawless and positively memorable experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to contact you directly to further discuss this matter. Please respond to this message or email your preferred contact information to me at krystle.silva@westin.com. Mahalo and we look forward to hearing from you, soon.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing