We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy but nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Busy but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The rooms are clean and the beds are outstanding. The service was good. Be aware, that the kitchens are only lightly equipped if you are planning to cook your own meals. This is a big property so be prepared for a lot of people at the pools and at the beach. Our ocean view room on the third floor in building 4 which was well back from the ocean looked out past building 3 to the parking lot between the building and the ocean but any view was blocked by trees. The beach out in front falls steeply to the water and the water gets deep quickly so be mindful with young children and seniors. Happily, the sand is soft and plentiful. The restaurant options on the property are limited so avoid peak times particularly at breakfast. The valet can also get very busy at peak meal times as a large number of people drive to nearby restaurants. We flew out let in the evening, so we took advantage of a reduced rate to stay in the room after the 10 am check out. We enjoyed another day at the beach and were able to clean up and head to the airport in the evening. The property also is connected to a great beach walk for those who like to walk near the beach in their walking shoes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwiz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,181
    964
    349
    165
    121
See reviews for
1,661
1,453
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here for a week with another couple. Room itself was very nice as is the pool area and the beach. However - we decided to splurge a bit and pay for an "ocean view"! We were assigned a two bedroom suite in building 7 of the north complex that was MUCH closer to the main highway than to the ocean and the view was VERY minimal. After speaking with a very lovely front desk receptionist we were able to get moved to a fifth floor unit three layers closer to the ocean (and farther from the road.) The view was OK - but mainly of the vacant lot next door and the abandoned building project next door. Road noise was still so much that couldn't sleep with the screen door open. Had I been shown exactly what they called "ocean view" before paying for the upgrade I would never have spent the money for what I got. A partial ocean view room that opens to the pool would offer much less traffic noise and be more pleasant.

A couple other things: We ate at the beach front sports bar one night when we were exhausted and didn't want to go out - big mistake - I would give this restaurant/bar a one star rating (expensive and so so food.) We hadn't found out that Duke's ocean grill was a short walk up the beach and is a MUCH MUCH better place to eat! Highly recommend eating at Duke's!

The pool at the Westin is very nice. However if you would prefer to have a chair on the beach for the day be prepared to pay $40 per day for two chairs and an umbrella. (We stayed at Kapalua last year and the beach chairs were complimentary.)

Lastly - there is a $10.42 self parking fee per day at this property. We booked this property through Hawaiian Airline Vacations and this wasn't disclosed to us. Just FYI.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We just returned from a week stay at the Westin Villas. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and had a nice view of the Ocean. I can't not say enough about the friendliness of each employee we met. The resort was beautiful and made traveling with our toddler easy. They offered a crib, high chair and diaper genie for our room. I definitely plan to stay here again on our next trip to Maui!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha CanLo,
Thank you for your detailed review and your recommendation to other travelers. We greatly appreciate it. We are pleased to read that our staff went above and beyond to help with your traveling needs. Thank you for sharing your experience and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Westing Resort Villas are very nice and we enjoyed our stay. It is not for everyone in that it is a condo type resort, which for us, was wonderful. The limitations here are that there are few dining options, actually one one restaurant on the north complex and one on the south side. We ate at both, and they are not bad but not overly outstanding; but expensive as one would expect. You're best bet is to walk down the path to Duke's, an excellent dining option right on the beach. Highly recommended.
If you have a 1 bedroom like we did, you have a full kitchen. So if you don't mind cooking some, it is a nice option. The outdoors grills are wonderful, and if you like cooking out then this is a good option. The grills are spotless, and well kept. They take very good care of them and that is nice.
If you do decide to cook some yourself, I strongly advise to take the tip that I saw on-line as well---go to The Times Supermarket which is very close, about 3/4 mile. A seasoned traveler told me that he always went to Safeway and Costco until he went to the Times. He was right. The prices are very reasonable overall and a nice store. The best option and close one at that. I thank him for his post!
Most rooms as others have said do not actually look at the ocean. With that said, opt for the standard garden room, its cheaper and most ocean view rooms you have to squint to see it. Ocean front are nice, but personally not worth the cost.

We do love it here, but it can be very expensive for limited services. If a large room is important to you, then this could be the place. And for what it is worth, this is mostly an older, quiet crowd. After 8 pm, you hardly see a soul.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is always exciting to hear from our guests about their experiences. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and made use of the BBQ grills. We appreciate you sharing your KOR expertise with other travelers. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Westin Villas.

Mahalo
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My family and I loved this hotel on our most recent trip to Hawaii. When we first pulled up, we didn't think it was our hotel because it looked so grand! The walk to the beach, shopping, and restaurants was not a hassle at all. The rooms were in great condition and were large for my family's needs. I plan to come back to the Westin on my next vacation to Hawaii.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Aloha McKenzie B,
Mahalo for your outstanding review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us as your "home away from home" and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We loved this place! We stayed in the South villas. We had a one bedroom condo which was great. Full size kitchen, big bathroom with jacuzzi tub, in suite laundry, all very clean. We had an "ocean view" suite facing the pool. Technically, you could see the ocean through the trees,but not a lot of it, we looked at a suite on a different floor with a better ocean view, but I actually preferred the privacy of ours (it was covered by flowering trees), so we stayed where we were. The North villas probably have more true "ocean view" rooms, but I preferred the pool area on the South side.

The pool area and grounds are lovely, there are two different pool areas at the North or South villas available to you. The beach area is right out front and beautiful, walks on the boardwalk are great. We saw whales swimming 100 feet from shore and a seal on the beach. There are plenty of barbecues to use by the beach. We had breakfast buffet at the Ocean Club included with our stay, and the there was a large variety of food, very nice. There is also a workout room and spa if you so desire. I didn't try the spa this time.

We travelled in January, and never found the pool areas to be too crowded, we could always get seats. This place has a fair amount of seniors and families, so if you are looking for a "party atmosphere", it's probably not the place for you. It's quiet at night, which I appreciated. Very safe atmosphere, I could leave my belongings on my pool chair without worrying.

The villas have three bar/restaurants on the grounds, and there are two more in walking distance down the boardwalk. There is a shuttle that goes once an hour to Lahaina, and every 20 min or so to the Westin Resort & Spa and the Sheraton. I would recommend renting a car, there is plenty of parking and the driving is easy.

I would definitely stay here again. I love Maui!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and describing the property very well. I’m certain many travelers will appreciate your feedback and find it valuable when choosing their resort destination. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polebridge, MT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This Westin is beautiful. Our villa was spotless and very large. We were on a promotion, so we knew in advance that we would not be in an ocean view unit. The kitchen was well equipped. The pools are beautiful and well maintained. The beach in front of the hotel is wonderful.
I would warn people that most of the units don't have ocean views and that the ones that do are given to owners, as would be expected. But, the location is wonderful. We cooked in often and had a great lanai to sit out on....garden view. The grounds are beautiful.
We had no problems with check-in or check out. The 10am check out time is quite early, but worked for us with our flight.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are very nice, but if you are coming for an ocean view, I don't think m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing