We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent 2 weeks here in May. Had a wonderful experience in the NORTH building. The staff was terrific, from the concierge to the ladies cleaning the room. Everyone was polite and friendly. The one bedroom was more than adequate for the two of us. There is a washer and dryer in the suite, although they are small.
Other reviewers have complained about the noise from the kiddie pool, but we did not find it to be very noisy at all and our room and balcony looked out on that pool!
Snorkeling off the beach was great. As soon as you get into the water and turn around, the fish are right there! Lots and lots of them!
Did not use the spa, but the exercise room was ok. The machines are different from the ones we use at home, but were good to help work off all the good food we consumed.
The Pulehu restaurant is good, supposed to be Italian. I don't think it is very Italian and the menu seems to be a bit limited. The Pailolo Bar and Grill is a nice change from fancy restaurants. Beautiful location just off the beach, so sunsets can be seen. The food was excellent!
Be aware that this is a "time share" property and if you are not an owner, you will be asked to go to a presentation. You don't have to do it. Just tell them no.
Only other thing to know is that the umbrellas and chairs for the beach are rented at the pool kiosk, $40+tax for 2 chairs and 1 umbrella for the day (9-4).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the North building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 4,391 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this resort as opposed to the ones on "resort row" on Kaanapali Prkwy because we wanted it to be less crowded. It was definitely less crowded than down by Black Rock which we visited many times (and we even stayed an extra night at Kaanapali Beach Hotel which is adjacent to the Sheraton at Black Rock). We also wanted our room to be larger, have a kitchen, and a soaking tub--the Westin Villas satisfied this. The resort is also very lovely--picturesque and island-y. The lobby doesn't have the drama that the Hyatt has but it is very well appointed with a nice view to the property. Upon checkin we were given a room that was FOREVER away in the North Villas (being in the North is fine but I'm talking a good 10 minute walk from the North Villas lobby just to get to our room!) We hated this so they moved us to a much closer room in the North Villas that was much better. Be aware of this because walking to and from your room can really eat at your vacation time especially as you will be going to the pool, beach, and back quite a bit! The housekeeping staff is SO friendly. Concierge could be better. Michael was very nice though. My only 2 complaints about this resort--so many kids and breakfast buffet was not that good. Why is there no adult-only pool?! I understand people want to bring kids on vacation (if I had kids I would too) but when I booked this property with my husband we thought it would be more laid back at the pool area--not the case. Screaming jumping kids everywhere playing with swim toys and beach balls. Not exactly romantic for those couples trying to escape. Just FYI! Other than this, if you want a GORGEOUS beach with snorkeling water steps away from your room, stay here. Just go straight out from the beach walk infront of the resort to the beach and you'll see great coral. But note: to see sea turtles you must go to Black Rock which we did and we swam with them quite often.

Room Tip: We stayed in 6258 which had a nice 2nd floor view of the pool and ocean. Close to lobby which was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved staying at the Westin Ka'anapali! The room was a bit of a walk through a maze to get to, but once we were there it was amazing. Huge studio with kitchenette, large bathtub and balcony... All the amenities of our NYC apartment and more (dishwasher and washer/dryer included)! Gym, pools, BBQ pits and steps from the beach! Valet parking was only $2 more than self parking and the guys are really nice and handy... They even fixed a problem with our rental car! Concierge was super helpful and helped us book a tour and gave us suggestions for local neighborhoods and farmers markets to explore. The only downside with the location was that a lot of what we wanted to do in Maui -- volcano hike, rainforest and waterfall tours, etc. -- was on the East side of the island vs. in Lahaina (about an hour drive)... But that wasn't the hotels fault at all. Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This place is just luxury and we could not fault anything. It is clean and the staff are great. Even good meals in the restaurant. Good safe swimming and also the snorkelling among the fish is good. Pamper yourself and stay here !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melsy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and booked a starwood offer to try the resort for 5 nights. I was impressed with the service, the location, the amenities, the pools, the cleanliness. It was lovely to be upgraded for free to a 1 bedroom villa when we booked a studio. Never had we stayed in a westin property, now I am a fan.....We also attended the vacation ownership and was impressed, but its costly. We would go back in a heart beat.....

Room Tip: Buildings 2 & 3 are closest to the main lagoon pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forjulissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Aloha and congratulations on your 10th anniversary! We couldn't be more delighted to share in the celebration of such a wonderful milestone. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to sincerely thank you for choosing our resort as your celebration destination. We are also happy to hear that our staff was pleasingly accommodating. I will be sure to share your review with our team.

Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Westin Ka'anapali Villas. The location has a very good reef for snorkeling right off their beach. The rooms were extremely comfortable - great bed, nice kitchenette facilities AND washer/dryer, big bathroom. Quiet is important to us - there is a separate entryway that reduces the noise you typically hear in the hallways - great touch! We really enjoyed the Wednesday Crab Fest (all you can eat). But the thing I have to rave about most is the professional customer service of the staff! It started with our arrival greeting from Danny - best valet ever and he should be the manager and teach the other valets his style of customer service. This set our expectations for the rest of the trip and we weren't disappointed. From the front desk check-in person, to the guy who brought up our bags, to the drink service at the pool, an amazing waiter (Marc) in the Ocean Restaurant. I give the management of this hotel credit for training their people well. Consistently, everyone had a "can do" attitude. No one said "no" to any of our requests - how often does that happen!

This resort is set up for families. We are two adults and were disappointed at the very small, adults pool, which is tucked away in a corner with no view and limited sun. That's the only thing I would change.

Please note: I read some negative reviews before we left, but they were for the Westin Hotel (next to the Sheraton), which is not these villas. The hotel is an older property and there have been complaints about construction noise as they update their rooms. I confused those reviews with these villas and want to make sure others know that this is a different property.

It was beautiful to sit out at night, overlooking the pool with the tiki torches lit - very romantic. Lots of birds singing and chirping makes it feel more tropical than just a hotel. There's a great oceanfront walk up to the Sheraton, and then on to the Ka'anapali Beachwalk. Oh, and a shuttle that runs often and conveniently to the Sheraton, Whaler's Village, or Lahaina. Can you tell we liked this place? Will return! Aloha and Mahalo!

Room Tip: If you are adults and want quiet, you don't want a room overlooking the kid's pool (with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnowsHowToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are so pleased to read that our staff provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for recognizing all of them who made your Westin Villas experience unforgettable. I will be sure that
Danny and Marc whom you've mentioned are recognized. We enjoy making personal connections and memorable experiences with our guests and thank you for allowing us to do so for you. Mahalo for taking the time to post your review and for choosing us as your “home away from home.” We hope to welcome you back to Maui again. Have a great rest of the year.

Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at this resort for five nights during spring break and fell a little in love with it. I wasn't expecting much, but was really impressed with just about everything. First off, Hawaii is expensive, so I'm not going to knock this resort for high prices. They don't charge a resort fee, and have free parking. And the happy hour drink specials are a bargain. Having a room with a washer/dryer and kitchen, and a great barbecue area helps save money on food as well.

We were invited by Starwood Resorts so we could check out the vacation ownership offer. We are a family of four--kids are 4 and 9--and there was something for everyone at this resort. My son (9) loved the water slide and my daughter (4) loved the pirate pool. They are now officially ruined for future vacations (how can we top this place?). Even though it was a busy week, I didn't feel like it was overly crowded. There are so many pools and hot tubs and restaurants, it's easy to find relaxation here.

We stayed in a studio on the top floor of the dreaded Building 4. Maybe it was because we were on the top (and not the bottom) floor, but I found our studio room lovely and quiet enough. Yes, we faced the road... but just a quick walk down into the resort and you're in paradise. Plus, my husband liked the view of the hills from our room. The room is spacious and comfortable and clean, and provides just about every amenity you need. We did the timeshare tour, and I have to say we were very tempted to jump in--but it's a lot of money, and the annual resort fee is high, so it just didn't make financial sense (not to mention we just spent beaucoup $$ on a house remodel). But I completely understand why people buy into this place. Enough that I was rather annoyed when my husband turned down the return vacation offer :( Oh well, I am pretty sure we'll be back here again!

Room Tip: I think unless you're an owner here, it could be hard to get your pick of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Nanea Ocean Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £335 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing