We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I had originally booked via our travel agent, into the Westin hotel - ensure you are aware of the difference! After reading less than glowing reports on trip advisor regarding the hotel, our booking was changed to the Westin villas - what a coup! There was nothing we could have wished for that wasn't provided. We stayed in an oceanfront front studio villa in the north building, which suited us perfectly. The north building seems newer and is a little quieter. The restaurants, pools and bars are wonderful. We enjoyed the adult pool and could see that the water slide in the pool at the south building would be a huge draw card for families with children. The resort offers the most welcomed shuttle service to the Whalers village and further the Lahaina, which we took advantage of.

Room Tip: Request room in northern building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to provide your wonderful comments about your stay with us. We truly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear that we met your expectations. We are also glad to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service that helps makes your vacation a care-free experience. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,969 - 1,975 of 4,276 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went for a birthday trip on a promotional package and we got a nice upgrade from studio to 1 bdrm. The room was perfect had everything we needed and more. We rented a car so mostly ate around town but I loved the beauty of this place. The folks visiting were also very nice. The staff were all great. Especially the concierge. They were fantastic at making all the right reservations around town at the right times. If I were a timeshare type of person I might be interested in getting one here. Seems definitely worth it. The only negative was that there wasn't a swim up bar but those seem hard to find outside of Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Happy Birthday love2travel2world!
Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion. We are glad to hear that you are had a wonderful time. MAHALO NUI LOA for acknowledging our amazing concierge I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

Sincerely,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here on a promotional package and we got a ground level room facing the kids pirate pool which we were able to walk out directly from our patio doors to the pool which was very convenient. Privacy wasn't too much of an issue although we did have to keep the lighter curtains partially drawn. The hotel itself is really beautiful and our room was very nicely furnished and comfortable. Didn't notice any sewer smell as some other reviews have stated. We were in love with all the pools and how accessible and family friendly they were. The staff were all professional and friendly and never had an issue despite not being 'owners'. We would certainly return again as guests using the rooms as a regular hotel (as opposed to being 'owners').

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 604bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are excited to hear your kind words and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities the resort has to offer. It is positive words like yours that keep our staff motivated and strive to make your stay memorable and unique. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.

Mahalo,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I am a Starwood Platinum guest and I accepted a 'package' vacation offer to tack on to a longer biz trip in HI. It was a decent value for 5 nights stay. We did not expect a beachfront room for this rate and we were not let down: our studio in south building was on a lower floor with a view of the entry to the property. It could have been worse... Room was tidy, clean, very suitable for our plans only to sleep in it. Public areas are stylish, spacious and comfortable. There are plenty of chaises around the various pools. Later in our trip we discovered the main pool in the north building was much more mellow - fewer children and less activity. Wish we'd learned that earlier in our stay. What is very lame, however, is there is a charge of $40 to use two chaises and an umbrella on the beach. Further, these need to be surrendered by 5:30p (sunset is 7). Instead, we found chaises by the pool and wandered over the beach for a dip. Also, if you want to avoid the $10 daily self park fee (also lame), just park in the lot next to airport beach next door (tell the front desk you don't have a car). Staff/concierge service was very friendly and helpful, especially getting us a better deal on a helicopter tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Mahalo for taking the time to provide your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was less than perfect. We would like the opportunity to personally discuss your recent stay with you. If you are able to send us your preferred contact information via private message to krystle.silva@westin.com , a member of our Westin team will contact you directly. Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent 2 weeks here in May. Had a wonderful experience in the NORTH building. The staff was terrific, from the concierge to the ladies cleaning the room. Everyone was polite and friendly. The one bedroom was more than adequate for the two of us. There is a washer and dryer in the suite, although they are small.
Other reviewers have complained about the noise from the kiddie pool, but we did not find it to be very noisy at all and our room and balcony looked out on that pool!
Snorkeling off the beach was great. As soon as you get into the water and turn around, the fish are right there! Lots and lots of them!
Did not use the spa, but the exercise room was ok. The machines are different from the ones we use at home, but were good to help work off all the good food we consumed.
The Pulehu restaurant is good, supposed to be Italian. I don't think it is very Italian and the menu seems to be a bit limited. The Pailolo Bar and Grill is a nice change from fancy restaurants. Beautiful location just off the beach, so sunsets can be seen. The food was excellent!
Be aware that this is a "time share" property and if you are not an owner, you will be asked to go to a presentation. You don't have to do it. Just tell them no.
Only other thing to know is that the umbrellas and chairs for the beach are rented at the pool kiosk, $40+tax for 2 chairs and 1 umbrella for the day (9-4).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the North building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this resort as opposed to the ones on "resort row" on Kaanapali Prkwy because we wanted it to be less crowded. It was definitely less crowded than down by Black Rock which we visited many times (and we even stayed an extra night at Kaanapali Beach Hotel which is adjacent to the Sheraton at Black Rock). We also wanted our room to be larger, have a kitchen, and a soaking tub--the Westin Villas satisfied this. The resort is also very lovely--picturesque and island-y. The lobby doesn't have the drama that the Hyatt has but it is very well appointed with a nice view to the property. Upon checkin we were given a room that was FOREVER away in the North Villas (being in the North is fine but I'm talking a good 10 minute walk from the North Villas lobby just to get to our room!) We hated this so they moved us to a much closer room in the North Villas that was much better. Be aware of this because walking to and from your room can really eat at your vacation time especially as you will be going to the pool, beach, and back quite a bit! The housekeeping staff is SO friendly. Concierge could be better. Michael was very nice though. My only 2 complaints about this resort--so many kids and breakfast buffet was not that good. Why is there no adult-only pool?! I understand people want to bring kids on vacation (if I had kids I would too) but when I booked this property with my husband we thought it would be more laid back at the pool area--not the case. Screaming jumping kids everywhere playing with swim toys and beach balls. Not exactly romantic for those couples trying to escape. Just FYI! Other than this, if you want a GORGEOUS beach with snorkeling water steps away from your room, stay here. Just go straight out from the beach walk infront of the resort to the beach and you'll see great coral. But note: to see sea turtles you must go to Black Rock which we did and we swam with them quite often.

Room Tip: We stayed in 6258 which had a nice 2nd floor view of the pool and ocean. Close to lobby which was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved staying at the Westin Ka'anapali! The room was a bit of a walk through a maze to get to, but once we were there it was amazing. Huge studio with kitchenette, large bathtub and balcony... All the amenities of our NYC apartment and more (dishwasher and washer/dryer included)! Gym, pools, BBQ pits and steps from the beach! Valet parking was only $2 more than self parking and the guys are really nice and handy... They even fixed a problem with our rental car! Concierge was super helpful and helped us book a tour and gave us suggestions for local neighborhoods and farmers markets to explore. The only downside with the location was that a lot of what we wanted to do in Maui -- volcano hike, rainforest and waterfall tours, etc. -- was on the East side of the island vs. in Lahaina (about an hour drive)... But that wasn't the hotels fault at all. Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
23.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: £266 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing