We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maui Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cypress, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maui Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed on the North Side. Initially we were supposed to be in a studio but the Front desk was very helpful and let us tour the different rooms so we ended up upgrading to a one bedroom and loved it. It was so clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was also very clean and not very crowded when we were there first week of June. The snorkeling right outside the hotel was amazing. The Italian restaurant was great and we got to watch the Belmont stakes at the sports bar. We definitely want to come back and have told all our friends about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 405terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your Westin experience. We are delighted to hear that you upgraded to 1 bedroom villa for you to enjoy all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to sincerely thank you for choosing us as your “home away from home." We wish you a great year and can’t wait to see you all again.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,235
    972
    352
    166
    123
See reviews for
1,700
1,473
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,084)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to Maui twice before. Our past stays were at the Sheraton Black Rock (check out my review from 2012) this year we were invited to stay at the Villas as part of a promotion. Overall I was very impressed with the resort and the service. The studio suites and the other larger villa were awesome. Unfortunately we were placed in a handicap room and the shower had no barrier on the floor. My first shower all but flooded the entire bathroom. We were able to make a towel mote and that worked for the rest of the trip. The room was so nice. Best hotel bed I've ever had. I loved being able to make coffee in the morning and keeping leftovers in the fridge. We ate the first night at the beach bar and watched the sunset. For my birthday we walked to Duke's which was a 10 minute stroll on a beach pathway. We spent time at the pools and shopped the local vendor fair on the resort. We even got matching Temporary tattoos. Everything about the resort and the villas is top notch. More than met my expectations, I would recommend this place to anyone that can afford it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank homezoomom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this resort the last week of May. We loved the flamingos, the black swan, beautiful fish, and live birds in the waterfall area. We spent quite a bit of time by each of the pools. We had no problem getting a chair by the pool and our possessions were never removed when we left them unattended. The pools were quite cold though. We ate at the Relish restaurant the first night and loved it. I had the chicken sandwich with pineapple salsa. The house wine was perfect. The luau was really good and the food there was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANGIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in the south villas with an "ocean view" which in our case meant we saw mostly a parking lot and saw only a sliver of ocean. Spiders had taken over our deck so we didn't use it at all. Front desk service was underwhelming from the get go. For example, we didn't receive our welcome package until day 5. As a result, we missed several of the on site activities we otherwise would've participated in. We had stayed the first part of our trip at a Marriott Vacation Club property and the service there was much better and the staff overall was much friendlier. We felt valued as guests whereas here we felt like just one of the multitudes. Food was pricier than I thought it warranted though good variety of on site dining. Safeway close which is nice but groceries very expensive. Grills for use nice and fun to take advantage of. I was surprised to see that so many amenities like taking a chair on the beach or using an umbrella had charges associated with them. Not been my experience other places. Felt like we were being nickeled and dimed. The pool area was crowded in the afternoon and most of the prime areas to lay out were reservation only and pricey. The shuttles to Lahaina were nice and we utilized in addition to using our rental. We had a handicapped person with us and the shuttle drivers were helpful. Self parking was reasonably priced and used the underground garage parking. Snorkeling on the beach right outside the resort is as good as anywhere I've ever been. The fitness area was small and had very little variety of equipment. Recommend talking to concierge services when booking activities as they were helpful, particularly Michael and Christina. As far as recommended activities, zip line at flyin Hawaiian, Atlantis sub very cool, old Lahaina luau a must, and take the trek to Haneakala, amazing to see inside a volcano. Road to Hana, do it as a tour if you go. Golfed at Kaanapali Kai, nice course. Early tee time, beautiful and avoids the daily afternoon winds. Overall a decent facility but not likely to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Tim S,
On behalf of the Westin Ka’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, I would like to sincerely apologize for the challenges experienced during your stay at the resort. We truly do care about your experience and would be grateful to have the opportunity to discuss how we can restore your faith in us. Please contact me at krystle.silva@westin.com, if you would be so kind to let us reach out to you.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This property sits right on the beach. It has transportation to Lahaina, each 1/2 hr.
The amenities, restaurants, pools, spa, are first rate. We like the lock offs for our families and friends. We have visited 6 times and still have not made it up to the volcano, next time!
We eat in, we buy our groceries at Safeway in Town, and cook on the BBQs while the kids swim in the pools.
There are lots of expensive things to do, but not doing them seems to us to be just as much fun.
For little kids we would say, do the aquarium! Snorkeling is sometimes hard and the fish worth seeing. Also there is a yellow submarine,that does. It sub merge and scuba divers bring assorted creatures up to their large windows under the sea........they loved that! They could have just stayed all day in the pirate pool, located in the center of the property, shallow with slides down into the pool.
If you go, take blow up floaties and shovels and pails....then we donated them to new arrivals as we left.
Hope you go the the villas, the sunsets, the Mai Tais, the fun......are all worth it!
Don't forget to drive north up the coast......head for Julia's banana bread and follow the signs, along the way there is a mini rainforest for the kids to explore, and above Julia's is an old Mission, lovely.......it's a must do!
For couples
If you do a Luau, there is only one that is over the top wonderful, past the harbor on the right.
For kids
Each week, maybe Wednesday. Eve there is a dance practice at the Safeway indoor mall area.....
The kids felt like they had seen the real thing! free!
The kids also like the cliff diver at black rock, just use the tram....another great free activity!

Room Tip: Ask where the room is, you want ocean front, or ocean view, and the south tower rooms are larger.
See more room tips
Green Features: Each day the concierge in each building is ready with an inpatient art of activities and reservations, etc.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Melinda T,
Thank you for your detailed review and your recommendation to other travelers. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to the resort making this your 6th visit. We are happy to hear that you rated our resort and the amenities we offer with a stellar review. We look forward to welcoming you back again and wish you a wonderful summer.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the ocean resort villas north for the past week. It was an excellent stay. A beautiful beach with amazing snorkelling, great room with everything you could need and helpful, friendly staff. We went as a couple and would forewarn other couples looking for a place in maui that the pool area and buildings are FULL of young kids. It didn't bother us but you will not get the romantic setting that you will at some other resorts. We stayed in room 8309 in the north villas and the view was incredible with perfect evening sun for cocktail hour. We have no complaints except that upon check in, our shower wasn't working and it took almost 3 hours to get it sorted out. After a long day and late check in (4 pm as others have mentioned with check out by 10 am sharp) it was a bit frustrating but not a deal breaker. Do not bother going to the concierge desk unless you want to waste 20 minutes talking about their tours and various presentations. While you are waiting to check in, definitely pick up your groceries because the valet will store the cold and frozen things for you and stop by maui mikes to rent beach chairs. When you rent from the hotel, they are 20$ per chair and per umbrella. This includes the chairs and umbrella from 8-4 only. If you rent tommy bahama fold up chairs and umbrella from maui mikes they are 12$ each for the week. It was a good option for us because we never felt in a rush to get out to the beach to get a chair or take advantage of the time we were paying for. Also, don't forget your snorkel gear! We saw every kind of fish and 2 sea turtles. A fantastic stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MolAndMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice Beach, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We got a good deal and couldn't check in till later but the pools were so nice it didn't even matter. We would recommend this as the villas were REALLY well maintained and kinda wished we owned one ourselves by the end of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle S, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your Westin experience and your recommendation to other travelers. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the resort again.

Mahalo,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing