We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Where to start. They charge you 7 dollars a day to park your car. The shower is a walk in water gets all over the bathroom EVERYWHERE! Glass doors between bathroom and bed, open or closed you her everything. The front desk took about 30 min to check us in. When we checked out they charged us 60 extra dollars a night for what they said was an ocean view we didn't ask to upgrade and you couldn't see
the ocean. Walls are paper thin can hear everyone next to you. The maid took our remote when they changed the sheets took a day to get another one.

Food @ the hotel was horrible. From the pool bar the price is about
15 dollars for a hot dog and chips. I would highly recommend staying in makena or closer to front street in lahaina. The wind @ this hotel was all day every day go a couple miles down the road to lahaina no wind @ all. Pool at the villa end is tiny and 3 feet deep. Trust me GO ELSEWHERE! You can get a nice small place on the water for about 1/2 the price.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,166
    964
    349
    164
    121
See reviews for
1,655
1,449
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

OVERVIEW:
This was our first trip to Hawaii with twin 6 yr olds. We didn't want to mess this up. We wanted a large, at least semi-luxurious resort with big pool and beach presence. We were slightly worried that a "condo" style hotel might mean less services. It did not at all. This is a full-service resort. You just have kitchens, which ends up saving you boatloads on meals. This place more than satisfied our needs and went beyond what we thought it would be like based on the web/reviews.

ROOM
We booked a studio Island view as that was cheapest and seemed adequate. We were upgraded free of charge to 1BR Island view which absolutely could be called "Partial Ocean View." This room was gigantic, with full kitchen.

GROUNDS:
From website, pool grounds and beach all seemed like what we wanted. But the website does not do it justice at all. It is more vibrant and lush, and yes it's active with kids, but overall that just added to the fun for us. This place has the same "get there early to get a chair" problem that most resorts have, but we had no problems each day finding 4 chairs for the family. The "Pirate Ship" pool area is more fun than it looks on the site.

Also - when they mentioned on-premises grills, I had no idea they meant STATE OF THE ART GAS GRILLS!!! Incredible. HIt the Safeway on Highway 30 first thing. Trust me.

CONCIERGE:
Corrin was excellent. They have suggestions for everything.

FOOD:
Lots of in-room cooking, also Ocean Grill which was very good, especially for breakfast. Also grilled out couple times. Dinners out - Hula Grill and Kimo's in Lahaina were both excellent.

BEACH:
First of all, it's beautiful. There are trees a little further north, the water is gorgeous, whales are breaching in plain view, people were snorkeling. But it's a little intimidating. It's rocky and reefy. You can still swim here, just wear aqua socks and beware of drop-off and current. Also, if you want to go to where it's sandier, walk down the beach south about 300 yds or so. You'll see it's slightly calmer and much sandier. There are many other options in this area, a short drive down Highway 30 and in Lahaina.

SURFING LESSONS
Goofy Foot in Lahaina. 8AM, private session with Matt. There is no way any other business can beat this level of service and professionalism. Awesome. If you don't pay $20 to get the professional photos, you're insane.

LUAU
At the sister property, Westin Resort. Food was outstanding, entertainment top-notch. Slightly annoying wait in line to get in but they serve you Mai-Tai's to keep you happy.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dc5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

rooms nice clean and new and have small kitchen that is all i can say that is good about the place. let me start by saying place is on the expensive side of hotels i paid for a oceanview room and what i got was a ocean view but no balcony. they should tell u some rooms have no balconies and some do paid for a room and couldnt even enjoy the view the room had a sliding door and a railing no where to sit and enjoy the view that was strike 1 might as well have paid for cheaper room. place is loud full of children pool is loud if u want a relaxing quiet resort this is not the place. had to pay 7.00 dollars a day to park ridiculous. it is also a time share resort so a lot of trying to sell timeshares going on. do yourself a favor try a differnt place its overpriced and for no good reason.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and found the property, services and location amazing! Check-in was smooth and we opted to use their "go green" program during our stay. We gave up daily housekeeping in exchange for complimentary breakfast buffet coupons. Well worth it and when we needed fresh towels we just contacted the front desk and they were brought promptly. The buffet had lots of great options and was a tasty way to begin our day.

The location of the property was perfect for us. We walked often along the boardwalk or hopped on the free shuttle to Whaler's Village. A short walk north of the resort is the Hona Kai property which has a Duke's restaurant. Amazing atmosphere and delicious food!

The pools were clean and beautiful, but most of the time we opted to swim in the ocean as the water was warm. I had a massage at the spa on our last day and it was the perfect way to end the trip! The grounds of the resort were clean, beautiful and very peaceful. Our first morning we saw a group of humpback whales right off shore of the hotel-amazing! The rooms were the perfect size, had "heavenly" beds and although we were very close to the lobby our room was quiet.

I have nothing negative to say about the resort-plus I got a great deal on expedia and during our stay we felt no pressure to attend a time-share presentation. The only negative thing that happened was a mishap with our google maps. We looked up directions to a restaurant and our GPS sent us on the northwest highway around the island. So Scary-one lane road, pitch black, but we lived to tell the story!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LivingtheDream32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose BC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We had a garden veiw above the parking lot next to the highway. We could not sit out side because of the highway noise. It took 6 days to fix shower head. Microwave door
handle was broken. Seat cushion outside was missing. I would suggest to bring a sharp knife for cooking as the ones provided would not cut anything. Had to wait for equipment in the two fittness centers.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMontroseBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

We just got back from our stay at the Westin Ocfean Villas. We are Starwood owners (Atlantis) and traded a week for Maui. I must say that this resort is just fabulous. The staff is exceptional, the timeshares are fabulous and the location is great. We loved everything about . In fact, we loved it so much that we bought a timeshare there as well.

We even had to endure the tsumani and I thought that the resort handed this really well. Unfortunately, we had to stay in our rooms until the threat had clearec and the warning had been cancelled.

I just think that anyone who stays herre would NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoo-ma-goo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Outstanding resort!! Beautiful landscaping and layout, kid friendly, warm & friendly staff. Puelhu Italian restaurant is outstanding.
I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing