We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,692)
Filter reviews
4,693 results
Traveller rating
2,807
1,116
417
203
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,807
1,116
417
203
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth propertynorth poolstudio villapirate shipisland viewjacuzzi tubtime sharenorth sidetimeshare ownerstimeshare presentationfull kitchenheavenly bedshuttle servicewasher dryerfree shuttlebar and grillkiddie pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,947 - 3,952 of 4,693 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed there one week in a large one bedroom, comfortable enough for a family of five. In many ways, this resort is very similar to other starwood villa resorts in terms of villa layout, overpriced but nice on site markets and restaurants, large beautiful swimming pools and manicured grounds. Unique to this resort is the availability of lanais which either offer a magnificent view with pacific ocean, frolicking whales and glorious neighboring islands vs...a really boring parking lot (aka "island view") for rooms in building 6.
The hotel is very well located, within walking distance of restaurant areas. The beach is lovely. Many great activities for children: movies, smores by the beach, art activities etc...
A definitely wonderful vacation spot.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

just got back from the westin kaanapali ocean resort north. can not say enough good about the resort. must say we were skeptical, as we have never done an vacation ownership exchange and were afraid of the worst. from the time the valet opened up our villa to the time we checked out , we were impressed with everything. our villa was in bldg 8 on the 4th floor,great view to ocean and had open lot to the north. drinking coffee and watching the whales, and hearing the morning surf from our lanai were ever so relaxing.
did most of our own cooking as the grill were plentiful and the villas were all supplied with all the utensils.
the resort never felt crowed always was able to get chairs by the pool and used the adult pool by bldg 8 a lot.
looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We've stayed at this resort 3 times now (all in the North Villas), the last being August 2010 with another couple in the 2 bedroom lock-off. We are SVO owners at the Kauai property but trade and stay here sometimes as well.

I would say if you are looking for the most tropical, Polynesian or romantic place to stay in Maui with 5* services this would not be your first choice. However, it does have a great beachfront location (the beach is nice and not usually crowded as it seems most guests stay by the pool - we prefer the beach), it has a casual elegance to it, the grounds are nice and the rooms are spacious. The restaurant food was good but it seems always a little "without atmosphere" and the pool bar is just "ok". It grounds also seems to handle the guests well even at full capacity.

The reason we like to stay here is it's centrally located and it's a condo and not a hotel. We like the feeling of having a home away from home type room. To get the full benefit of the place is to stop at the grocery store on the way in (the onsite mini store is very expensive) and stock up on breakfast stuff, lunch stuff and drinks. Eat breakfast in while relaxing on the balcony, then pack your lunch and head to one of the many awesome beaches, then mix yourself a pre-dinner cocktail at night and watch the sunset, then get a cab or take the complimentary shuttle into Lahaina for a great dinner and some nightlife!

(Also, the South Villas are more kid oriented, these North Villas are quieter)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Maui. It was fabulous. Quiet, well-staffed, good service, all the amenities. We had a nice studio overlooking the main courtyard in the north building, which I think is a little quieter than the south building (kid-wise). The conceirge and front desk were very helpful and accomodating, and the facilities were fantastic. We appreciated their "green" program and were happy to take free buffet breakfasts in exchange for unnecessary room cleaning! The room, for being a studio, seemed large. Kitchenette is a must--saved us a ton of $$ on expensive Maui!! The beach is very accessible, but beware--the beach slopes to the water quite sharply and there is coral just offshore. Not the most swim-friendly beach for kids, I think, but just down the beach the conditions are better. The hotel shuttle into Lahaina and to the other Starwood properties was very convienent and we used it often!
Overwall we had a great stay and would definitely come back:)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K970105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My wife & I have been coming to this resort for the last 10 years and the experience keeps getting Better !! It is all about the Ohana spirit .. They treat us like family ... I have new Cuzin & bradhas every time I visit ... THANKS To Suzy & Dede for your deluxe accommodations, to Dom for taking care of our bags to Angel for taking car of my rental ... Even the new employees treat you with class, no matter if you are dressed to the nines or wearing a tank top & flip flops !!

The food & drinks are excellent such that I don't even have to leave the grounds to have a wonderful day !!

I want to personally thank GM Gregg Lundberg for delivering on a Quality Product & experience

Mahalo & God Bless

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmather258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews