We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the Kid in us all.”
Review of Sugar Cane Train - CLOSED

Sugar Cane Train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A singing conductor takes you on a 6-mile tour of Maui's sugar cane history.
key
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“For the Kid in us all.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Really neat experience with an open air train. They have great souvenirs for everyone. It worth the time to experience rails of yesterdays transportation.

Helpful?
Thank JimmyfromForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    39
    29
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great istoric ride”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our group of 7 adults (two related families) enjoyed the steam trip enormously. The track may be a touch rough, but the locomotive has been superbly maintained and we enjoyed the "stack talk" on the various gradients along the way. The day was superb and although there were many passengers, we were able to move about to take photos of both the ocean and the hinterland.

The commentary was interesting, but there was probably a bit too much music played, as this tended to drown out the delightful sounds of the locomotive.

Because of the size of our group we were able to have one free ticket, plus a discount for being with Avis/Budget Car Rental. This bought the cost down to less than $20 each, which represented very good value for such excellent entertainment and memories.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Superbly done. Fun for kids and others..”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Grandpa loved this probably even more than his 3 years old grand daughter. The whole deal is very well organised. We took the train from the most northerly station (was it Puukolii?) where we bought the ticket for the return trip. The staff member suggested we board at the front carriage which was a good tip. Shortly after setting off we stopped to fill the engine with water which was fun and easily seen from our carriage. On board is a guide who explains the history and serenades all on his ukalale. The most fun it when reaching Lahaina the engine is uncoupled and moves onto a turntable which turns it around. It then shunts to the front of the carriages for the return trip. Back at the starting point the engine is again uncoupled and travels on a side track in a circle around the carriages and shunts back to rejoin the carriages. The driver ensures lots of steam is released throughout all of this - very entertaining. Well done whoever created all this. At $65 for 2 adults and a child it's not cheap but worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“like steam trains? you'll enjoy this”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This genuine steam train is so fun and convenient it's definitely worth a trip. I think about an hour 20 mins round trip and a chance to jump off as the train does a y-turn (3-point turn) at the far end.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Won't Be Long Before a That Thing is Closed Down!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband enjoyed the ride immensely as He took 2 cold beers and Cheezies, thus avoiding the outlet shopping with the girls. If this attraction is rated 56 out of 60 I really wonder how bad the other four are. Made my husband go as had a free coupon :) Would never go on or recommend if had to pay....even 2.50 a person would be too much! He pretty much saw the highway and back alleys ( the ghetto side of Lahaina.) We all had a good laugh after only because it was free!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauisun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Cane Train also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing