We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really just transportation”
Review of Sugar Cane Train - CLOSED

Sugar Cane Train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A singing conductor takes you on a 6-mile tour of Maui's sugar cane history.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really just transportation”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

So we booked the Sugarcane Train because the activities lady at our condo said, "Everybody just LOVES it!" Well.... Not us. I was expecting quaint, informative, maybe a little presentation or movie or tour of something. Maybe it went THROUGH sugarcane fields or got to sample sugarcane or something. Nada. All we did was go exactly along the road all the way up to Kaanapali. We didn't go through sugar fields, see sugar cane, or really have anything to do with sugar except listen to somebody mumble something into the speaker about some worker housing. But you couldn't understand the person on the intercom at all because the train was loud and the speaker was crummy. Most of the time you got to see people's back yards with all the trash piled up. I also was expecting something more from Kaanapali, but it's really just resorts and beach, not a destination. No quaint shopping area or even town center like Lahaina, it's just a string of resorts. I can see this as being useful for people staying in Kaanapali who want a ride to Lahaina to go shopping or have lunch, but a cab would probably cost less.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    39
    29
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“OK But Spendy”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Interesting from an old railroad standpoint, but not many sights that you can't otherwise see. Unless you don't play golf and dying to see the trestle, or you'd like to see some hidden homeless camps. If you catch it at the Puukolii Station, someone will show up at the ticket booth before the train shows up. They take cards. If you take the 11:45 am from there, you'll have a 30 minute layover for the return. A few distractions at the Lahaina Station but not much. Kind of an industrial area.
One cool feature of the seats is that the backs flip over so you can change seating direction.
$22.95 for a 25 minute ride or so each way tough to hear narration when it's happening with the older speakers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent for kids”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My daughters always enjoy riding trains so we decided to give the Sugar Cane Train a try. They enjoyed the ride and said they would do it again. The price is a little steep but compared to other train rides we have done, it is more than reasonable. I thought the views were fairly decent. The closer you get to town (Lahaina) obviously the views diminish but that is to be expected when riding any train into town. There is plenty of airflow with the open cars but later in the afternoon, it could be a hot ride. The guide playing the ukulele was enjoyable. We also got to see the conductors fill the water tank which the girls enjoyed. It is not the most exciting thing to do on Maui but if you have kids that enjoy trains then I would definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JFlyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good local attraction”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well worth going on the train. Great for kids, there were a few families on it the day we went. We were given wrong directions so took a bit of finding it. Ask a local when in doubt!
It's a slow pleasant ride down to Lahaina and back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ozpammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good for Young Children who Love Trains”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We just rode the Sugar Train for like the 6th time. It is an annual excursion for my family! My boys love Trains, especially, "Steam" Trains as they call them.

They absolutely love it, so I love it with them. The Ride itself isn't great. There are some great vista shots as you ascend the hill to Ka'anapali whether looking out to the Ocean or up the hill!

So if you are looking for Wow Factor as an older adult, unless you love trains yourself, relax your expectations and enjoy the ride. I am lucky because it is fun for my kids!


Helpful?
Thank kavikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Cane Train also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing