We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahina Surf
Nearby Hotels
US$581
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
83
40
7
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
40
7
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rockssea turtlesturtles galoreno air conditioningsaltwater poollaundry facilitiesmaintained groundsclean condospectacular view of the oceanbooked unitcondo resortlouvered windowsduring whale seasonnice poolcoffee machineend unitthe trade winds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Spent a week here in late November 2012 - loved our pretty unit, saltwater pool was perfect, watching turtles bask on the rocks in front of our condo was a daily pleasure. Staff was responsive and friendly, location great for getting to good beaches, hiking areas, restaurants. We watched paddle boarders and surfers daily. This is excellent value. Family friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the units on the ends to be closer to the water, soothing sounds of the surf.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mooshimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was first place tropical I have every been and now we will be coming back every year. Next year i'm bringing my 8 year old son. This place is very kid friendly! Can't wait for him to experience it! Sharon and the manager were the two we talked to the most and they were so friendly that Mahina surf will be the only place we come to stay in Maui. The grounds are remarkable. If you have a set of balls the best snorkeling is right there at mahina! Its nothing but rocks and if you know how to read currents then its not so hard to get out.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wgoodright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We started staying in 1986! We have returned every year and have stayed in several units. The one we enjoy the most is 128! It's the end unit with windows on two sides with a lovely view to Molokai. The unit is beautiful with every convenience. The grounds are so well maintained thanks a loyal grounds keeper .the pool is clean and salt water and heated.

Room Tip: No housekeeping included and when we stay for two months it would be nice to have clean towels and sheets that we don't have to launder. I don't like spending hours at the laundry ... We even buy our own tee paper paper towels and all dishwasher supplies...some other condo include
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We went to Maui as a family - we rented two - two bedroom units side by side.

In each unit, you go up the back stairs to enter, once in - on the main floor there is a bedroom with a closing door with a double or queen bed in it, a full bathroom, kitchen, living room and dining area along with a large lanai.
Upstairs in each unit was two twin beds and a bathroom (206 had bathtub, shower, toilet, sink, closet – 205 had shower, sink, toilet and I think a closet)

The lanai in 206 has an unobstructed view of the water, however has full sun in the afternoon when it is most hot. 205 has a great view of the ocean as well, but a quarter or so of it has some coverage from the sun by the next door unit. Truly, because I get overheated and burn easily, I would choose 205 for my unit next time.

Unit 205 has bamboo curtains attached to the balcony spindles that are in the loft, which gives you privacy if you are changing- in 206 - we fixed the issue of privacy easily as we just hung our towels over the loft balcony.

There are slats for windows, the windows are covered in screen, then there is a crank to shut the window slats. This doesn't make for it being very quiet ever. If you are sleeping in the loft and have your windows open to get air flow through - the neighbors in their bathroom blowing their nose can be heard in your unit :)

We kept our drapes shut in the afternoon when we were out to keep the sunlight from coming in and heating up the place.

We found in each unit different items that have been left behind by previous renters - things like salt, pepper, coffee, filters etc... that was great for us! We also left our seasonings we bought.

The units were both well equipped with cutlery, coffee makers, microwaves, dishwashers, paper towels, new sponge to clean with.
They ask you to just put the dirty dishes in the dishwasher and throw out the garbage prior to leaving.
Outside of that - their cleaners come and do the rest. We did a pretty thorough clean prior to leaving our units though so they didn't have to clean our mess up!

To see turtles – walk down the back area towards the water – when you get to the water, turn right and walk over the sandy area where it looks like there are tree stumps for you to sit on. Look down – there are turtles there when the tide is low.
They are quite large and often there. There are signs everywhere, stay 15 feet away from them, don’t touch them – people who live around there also come down often and don’t think anything of filling you in on the rules.

If you think it would be great to snorkel out front with them – well, you can pick your way down the rocks to the sandy ish type of beach – and go in – my brother did it, he did eventually see a turtle, but quite by accident – he and his wife swam out there for half an hour looking – the turtles were less than 10 feet away from them, but he said the water was so murky, he could barely see in front of him.

If you are going with kids, apparently there are rules somewhere to be found regarding what age they can be at the pool on their won – make sure you ask at the front desk – you don’t want to be the person being tsk tsk’d for not watching your kids.

There is a man that comes early each morning to take care of the pool, he is quite friendly and took care to wave at us on our first day – the kids thought he was pretty cool!

We all very much enjoyed our time there, mid-week, we all did laundry in their facilities ($1.50 wash and $1.50 dry and they sell soap to do your laundry)

If we go back to Maui – I can’t imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

As you drive along the Lower Honoapiilani Road, you seem to pass dozens and dozens of resorts on the makai side of the road and it would be impossible from the road to tell which are good and which aren't. Amongst them all is Mahina Surf and it's only when you enter the grounds that you realise what a delightful place this is.

The condo units are arranged around three sides of a spacious lawned area sloping down to the ocean, with a large rectangular pool in the middle. The units are angled so that they all have an ocean view and, I think, all with a view of either Molokai or Lanai across the water. Palm trees around the pool and at the water front add to the tropical feel of the beautifully kept grounds, as do the many tropical flowers in front of the units, etc..

The units themselves are individually owned so the furnishings vary from one to another. All have a large bedroom, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious sitting room, with a lanai facing the pool and the ocean.

We found the staff all very friendly and efficient, so we really felt welcomed. A couple of minor problems we had with the unit were put right very quickly, and generally the impression is that the whole property is very well looked after.

Without wanting to detract from what we really found a delightful resort, there were a few little problems it's worth pointing out:

The layout of the property means that all the units are accessed from the back (the side away from the pool) and the bedrooms face out onto the walkway that runs along the back. Because there's no A/C (a good thing I think) you do need to keep the windows open to allow some fresh air to blow through at night but this means that anyone walking along the the back who makes any noise at all is doing so just a few feet from people who are asleep. There are notices asking people to be very quiet between 10pm and 8am but unfortunately too many people forget and talk as they walk along when leaving early or arriving late. We were woken by this on numerous occasions; for three nights in a row we were woken at around 3am by someone walking past our room talking. I don't know what more can be done about this but it is annoying that people are so thoughtless.

Another slight issue with this type of resort - not unique to Mahina Surf - is that it's an ideal place for large groups to stay. We had a large group of families who were friends staying at one point, and later around 12 units were taken up with guests at a nearby wedding. Without meaning to, these groups tend to take over the pool area, causing the quieter couples like us to withdraw to their lanais.

One last problem they need to sort out. Apparently there is wired internet to all units but wi-fi is provided only at the whim of the individual owners, and they all provide it in different ways. Some provide open unsecured wifi, while for others you need to do a web browser login. I expect others have WEP or WPA security. Our unit clearly had a wireless access point but the SSID was hidden and no-one knew how to access it (fortunately, anticipating this, I'd brought my own travel access point and plugged that in instead). Even if they did provide a consistent wifi throughout the site, these days a web login isn't really OK as it's terribly inconvenient with devices like smartphones, iPads, kindles etc.. The only security that really provides the service most people need is a WEP or WPA password that is entered once and then never requested again.

I've gone into some details on some drawbacks but I don't mean to suggest that these detract from Mahina Surf being a lovely place to stay. We certainly plan to return.

Room Tip: Discuss with the Office when booking. Some are more accessible than others, some have better views that others, some may suffer from too much afternoon sun in the summer. No bad rooms I suspect but some may suit individual preferences in different ways.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews