We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Waterfront Views, One Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Waterfront Views, One Disappointment”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our unit on second floor was nicely furnished and was a good value for the cost - the private beach was beautiful! We really appreciated that previous guests left staples: salt, pepper, cooking oil, salad dressing, butter, sodas, etc. There was even snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, games and books in a closet.
The maintenance fellow, Larry, who lives there keeps the grounds immaculate, every morning cleaning the barbecues, attending to the swimming pool.

Although Hale Mahina advertised non-smoking units, people are allowed to smoke on their verandas and porches up to 20' into common areas; it was too warm to close the louvered windows and sliding glass veranda door, so neighbors' cigarette smoke drifted onto our lanai and into the condo day and night. I did mention to one neighbor that I was allergic to smoke and she said she was a considerate smoker... but in 85 degrees without AC, there is no way to avoid the smoke. Due to the smoke we ended up spending less time in the complex and ate in restaurants more often than we had planned.
Next time I will make sure the whole complex is smoke-free; otherwise Hale Mahina was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SusannahDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    37
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
86
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a large complex situated amongst other similar large complexes. While I can't fault Mahana in any way - and the condo we rented is lovely - it should be pointed out that this is not exactly a paradise away from civilization as let's say you might find in Kauai. It's busy here, with lots of people coming and going, and lots of cars and almost city-like traffic. Parking is even problematic, although adequate - just.

Despite the well-run and well-kept-up operation, it's just not my cup of tea, so you may want to discount this rating.

Room Tip: Depends what you like, but you can get ground-floor walk-out to the beach-front condos, which is wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Wonderful condo in every respect!! The furnishings were very up-to-date and lovely, the view was amazing, ground-floor location means you can walk out 30 steps across the lawn to the beach, with BBQs right there and easily accessible. The condo was very clean and there was coffee as well as travel soap and shampoo. Beach and snorkeling gear was available. The beach at the condo is tiny, but it's an actual sand beach- great for swimming, snorkeling, or just laying out.

The ground floor location isn't as private as the upper condos might be, but there are shades that can be pulled down if desired when people are using the grills. We felt the convenience of the ground floor location was completely worth it. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We really had a great time and the room and views are amazing! We traveled with our kids 10 & 8. They were water bunnies all week long.

The location: You are 10 minutes from downtown and 5 minutes from Kaanapalli resort area.

Room Tip: Amazing views from this room. No A/C but solid fans and the room airs out with a great draft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelNut2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with our stay at the "Fish condo" A-406. The folks that manage it are very through and thought of every detail. I have no doubt this is the best condo in the complex. I will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skidave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We loved our stay at Hale Mahina. The condo is close to Kaanapali and Lahaina, but far enough to avoid their crowded beaches and general noise. It doesn't get any better than a private lanai only a few steps to the ocean shore, and AMAZING sunsets every night. We saw several sea turtles swimming and sleeping on the beach during our visit. The best thing about Hale Mahina is how quiet it is! Even with the pool close by, all the guests and residents are very respectful of others. Owners Garrett and Dianna are very hospitable and welcomed us with a "Maui fruit basket". They also keep lots of beach gear for visitors to borrow during their stay: snorkels, masks, beach towels, etc. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay at the Fish Condo. This unit was fabulous with a beautiful ocean front view, a wonderful master and guest bedroom that had very comfortable beds, linens etc. The place is so peaceful at night time sitting by the pool or listening to the waves crash from the balcony. Everyone at the Hale Mahina were so friendly and the location was exceptional. We ate at Dukes (5 minutes away), shopped at the Whalers Village and Lahina (10 minutes max), and loved going to Napili Bay (5 minutes away). Our daughters ages 15 and 13 never wanted to leave the condo! We would recommend this Condo and expecially this unit to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#20 of 41 in Lahaina
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hololani Resort
Hololani Resort
#28 of 32 in Lahaina
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Polynesian Shores
Polynesian Shores
#9 of 41 in Lahaina
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makani Sands
Makani Sands
#26 of 41 in Lahaina
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#15 of 41 in Lahaina
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Mahina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Mahina Beach Resort

Property: Hale Mahina Beach Resort
Address: 3875 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9300
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Mahina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Mahina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Mahina Beach Hotel Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Lahaina
Hale Mahina Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing