We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertaining”
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #8 of 17 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“entertaining”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We brought our son, he enjoyed the show just as much as we did. We will go each Wednesday while we are here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie1707asdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    46
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slack Key”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This show was recommended to me by a friend prior to me arriving to the Island. I enjoyed the music, stories, personal touches, and hula performances. Sorry to hear complaints about friends sharing their stories and experiences on stage; this is what true Hawaii is all about - Family love! By these stories, I felt welcomed and part of the "family". George is genuine and also invited me to his farm, which his wife told me that he would not have invited me if he had not meant it. Unfortunately I let time get away from me and was unable to go due to rain and lateness of the day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheresaG1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good show”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was great - the main musician was fantastic with both slack key and using the guitar as a steel guitar (Ken Emerson), and of course the host, George Kahumoku is very good as well. We were even treated to some hula dancing - by George's wife and daughter as well as a professional hula dancer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Loved it so much we went back the very next week!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were in Maui 16 days and went to this show the first Wednesday we were in town. We like all kinds on music but (until now) not particularly Hawaiian music- we are now converts, however. Loved both shows- really mellow vibe, relaxed banter amongst the performers. We really liked all the performers- Sterling Seaton, Da Ukulele Boys, both guests and Uncle George. For us, this is now a must-see whenever we are in Maui!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really hoped to like the Slack Key show...”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We ordered our tickets months in advance based on the reviews on TA, and were really looking forward to the show.

We arrived early to get a good seat, and settled in for the evening. The show starts at 7:30.

Started off great with George playing an assortment of songs and talking story about each of the songs. Ken Emerson joined George on stage and they played a few songs together. There was a lot of talking (like a previous reviewer has said) - it's obvious the two are longstanding friends. By the time intermission arrived (just after 9pm) we were done and ducked out.

I'm not sure exactly why this show didn't really appeal to us - we like Hawaiian music, but we kind of felt like we were out of our element. Plus, by 9pm, after a day of beach going we were tired and ready for bed.

We will likely try another Slack Key show in the future to give it another shot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JacinMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing