We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a hidden jewel!”
Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #8 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This was a hidden jewel!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Thanks to our concierge.... we would have never heard about this show. Love the intimate setting and the amazing talent. Really nice piece of Hawaiiana that everyone should experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indygirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    46
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
294 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Slack Key Masters keep getting rave reviews for good reason. Week after week, in a tent at Napili Kai, they put on crowd pleasers without fail.

We particularly love Ledward Kaapana, who is regularly featured, for his amazing voice range and irrepressible laughter. This is a guy who is genuinely having fun.

Music touches us all deeply, and the wonderful thing about slack key guitar is that it soothes the soul yet keeps you intently listening.

Makes me want to camp outside the tent just waiting for the next weekly performance to roll around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent entertainment”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a great great show with high quality talent and a great sound system. Normally at the Napili Kai Resort, the show we saw this year was at the Ritz Carlton at Kapalua. Not quite as good a venue but still enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillDiane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Show at the Ritz”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We decided to try this show instead of a luau because 1) my husband loves music and 2) we've been to so many luaus. This was a special show at a different location - The Ritz- and I am not sure about the regular location, but a conference room at the Ritz did not lend any good atmosphere to the show or the acoustics. Perhaps if I wasn't tired from a vacation day, the soothing sounds of the guitar would not have made me feel like falling asleep….the music was nice, but atmosphere was lacking and it was hard to hear, and most of the banter, as was mentioned by others, was very "insider" and hard to hear. We left early, and also note everyone there was over 50 (we are not). The musicians were great, but the location and acoustics made this not a great show for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithtwins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“George Kahumoku's Slack key shows are a must!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

No trip to Maui is complete without seeing Uncle George and his incredibly gifted group of friends making the Hawaiian slack key music magic. Last night they were back at their old venue at the Riyz Carlton with Dennis Kamakahi. Talk about making us all feel like family! Uncle George even invited us up to his farm this weekend. The Ukelele Boys were fun...so much talent wrapped up in those three sweet young men. Sterling is a gift to that group. Go see them on Wednesdays at their usual venue at Napili Kai Beach Resort Aloha Pavilion in Lahaina, HI or wherever they are! George talks story and brings us all the Aloha that is Hawaii. Go to http://www.slackkeyshow.com

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueHawaii-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing