We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable virtuosity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Slack Key Show

Slack Key Show
Ranked #7 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Slack Key Show takes place on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.M. With master slack-key guitarist George Kahumoku Jr. As host and Peter deAquino as co-host. Each week we feature renowned slack-key guitarists and other Hawaiian musicians (sometimes ukulele, falsetto, or steel guitarists) to share traditional Hawaiian Music with you. Mahalo and hope we will see you at the show!
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable virtuosity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Don't worry if you aren't sure what "slack key" is or if you have doubts about listening to a couple of hours of Hawaiian music. This show serves up a variety of music performed by personable virtuosos. It's comfortably casual with both artists and audience having a good time. Four of us attended and we will go back again on our next trip. The program and performers change a little each time with George Kahumoku and Da Ukelele Boys serving as constants. No matter what kind of music you choose at home, you will enjoy the show and it will give you an insight into Hawaiian culture and music.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vjgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    46
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slack Key Guitar Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

the Slack Key Guitar Festival is held every year ...generally in June at The MACC (Maui Arts Council Center) located in Kahalui. The event is FREE. Enjoy sound of slack key guitars and music of Hawaii performed by masters! Many vendors are on site selling beautifully Hawaiian crafted items. Food vendors are here as well.
Check out The Sumo Dogs with Sweet Maui Onion relish.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A little slow after a long day being tourists but very fun to see and hear the real thing. Serve water and juice--real drinks very expensive at the adjoining hotel

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very fun and very Hawaiian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We finally got to see this show and we were not disappointed. Very entertaining if you like music. The guys have fun playing music and laughing together. One lady came out to dance hula a few times and it was beautiful. They had us all hold hands as we naturally swayed and sang one song together. I didn't actually know the song but you repeat after the guy so its easy to follow. Apparently there is a workshop to learn to play slack key guitar And next time I hope I get to learn and join them. Thank guys for a very entertaining night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MaliaBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This show was much better than any "luau" you can find. George Kahumoku performs 2x weekly and brings with him one other artist (this time is was Ledward Ka'apana) and Da Ukelele Boyz. It's a VERY casual atmosphere held at the Napili Kai Hotel (where we were staying). The music was wonderful, soothing as well as exciting. All 3 of the performers were totally engaged with the audience and autographed CD's at the end of the performance. The cost was well worth the evening's entertainment and I'd do this over ANY Luau anytime.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slack Key Show also viewed

 

Been to Slack Key Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing