We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious but Spicy!”
Review of Crying Thaiger Maui - CLOSED

Crying Thaiger Maui
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Delicious Thai-Fusion cuisine in a comfortable, "come as you are" sidewalk cafe style setting. With outdoor seating and plenty of on-site parking. Walking distance to shopping, bars and nightclubs in the heart of historic Lahaina town.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious but Spicy!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stopped here one night to pick up a quick dinner to have back at our condo & enjoyed it very much. Food was fresh & flavorful, I had the shrimp pad thai & my wife had the ground chicken salad. If you don't like spicy food then be careful here as we ordered it on the mild side & it was still a bit too hot for both of us. We highly recommend a stop at this food truck if you are looking for something different & on the cheaper side for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxyroxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
“A worthy experience!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I kept hearing the Crying Thaiger call to me every time we took the shuttle to and from Lahina. At first glacé the little trailer on the side of the road looked like what some might categorize as a roach coach... Yet something about it kept drawing me in... so I asked a taxi driver on our way back to our villa one night and she said they served very good Thai food...

So on our first free day I insisted we stay in and I run out and grab some to go food. My stepson and I made a run and brought some pad-thai and satay skewers back, with extra peanut sauce of course. Steve the owner was very friendly and cooked us up some of the best and most unique Thai food I have ever experienced. I would recommend this little place to anyone visiting Maui that is Jonesing for great Thai food and friendly people.... It was a worthy experiance!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome little spot, good food, cool peeps.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had the pad thai and a of couple chicken satay skewers with a Thai iced tea. The food was good, tasted fresh and homemade. Nice mint flavor in the peanut sauce which was different but really good. The iced tea was awesome except my girlfriend drank it all, I recommend buying at least 2 each it was so good. If I'm being picky I would like a little more flavor from the pad thai, more sauce maybe, but it was still good. I will definitely be back, and while I don't want to wait in line behind a bunch of tourists next time because of my review, I had to give some props online because food trucks are awesome and Thai food trucks are even better! Keep it up gents! And they take cards which is clutch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food; Super Friendly People”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We just had an delicious meal. We had the Pad Thai and Satay both were tasty. We had mild/med and found it had some heat. The people running the stand were great at explaining the menu and how spicy everything was. Our 11 year old loved the chicken satay. We'll be back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AltaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This little trailer is right across the street from the Westin Villas. It is great for that night that you are just too tired to go back to restaurants and you just want to enjoy the food in your hotel. They make fresh to order. Not too many things on the menu but I had the Pad Thai with colossal shrimp for only $12. Big enough to be shared. They accept credit cards. They customize how spicy you want your dish. Right next to it there is a hot dog truck for the kids that sell "waffle dogs".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crying Thaiger Maui also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing