We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montage Kapalua Bay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$581
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$314
US$280
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$419
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$457
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
477
38
23
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
38
23
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific dream photographycane canoefour seasonsbeach crewbedroom residencecanoe restaurantserenity poolpremier ocean viewthe ritz carltonhalf bathfull kitchenthree bedroompool staffmoment you arrivein room diningcoastal trailphoto session
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

From the moment you arrive, the service and staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.
The grounds and amenities are spectacular. A variety of beaches to choose from. Snorkeling in Kapalua Bay is wonderful. If you want sand bottom, just head up to Fleming Beach.
The accommodations are also fantastic. Particularly if you are traveling with a family. Stop off at Costco near the airport for groceries. Staff at the Residences will unload and bring everything up to the room.
I would highly recommend the Residences and Kapalua.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoccoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It would be difficult to imagine a nicer place for a family vacation with kids of all ages. The location, the view, the grounds, the service, the pools, the rooms, the beach, the golf, the gym --- all outstanding.

From the moment you arrive you realize The Residences are something special, because the staff clearly go out of their way to make you feel that way. Then once you see the ocean view from the lobby you just stand there and stare. It's quite amazing.

We all had a difficult time leaving this property, and we look forward to returning some day. A wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eja11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I would rate the Residences 10 stars if I could. There are 2 primary reasons for our great experience.

1) The Facilities and Suites are incredible - literally a paradise. We had a 2 bedroom that was huge with an incredible view of the Ocean and the Pool area. Every morning we could look out and see the beautiful of Lanai island. Each residence has their own private elevator where you are the only residence on that floor. We could leave our swim gear and toys outside in the hallway. The Patio off of our room was huge with a eating area, lounge area, and seating area. In Maui, you use the patio as much as the actual room. All of the appliances, decorations, furniture are newly appointed and modernly decorated. There is also free wifi everywhere on the resort. The pool is incredible and truly beautiful. The winding lagoon style of the pool is where you could have your own private area of the pool. The food at the pool (which they bring to you) was very good and reasonably priced for Maui.

2) The staff and the level of service was the best I have been around and we have traveled to many five star resorts. The concierge team was incredible, thru email, Ted helped us plan our entire stay prior to our arrival including some great recommendations based on his experience. That allowed us to enjoy our time at Maui and it also ensured we had reservations for restaurants, activities, and tours as the good ones do sellout.

The valet team was also outstanding (Leigh). They anticipated without waiting to be asked. For example, we mentioned that we were going on the Road to Hana the next day. Without me asking, they said they would put towels in the car, a cooler with ice, and allow us to borrow a CD that guided you. When we would go out to dinner they would ask where and get a menu with any coupons (in Maui, any coupons are helpful) that they may have. They also would mention some of the best items on the menu. So on one of our excursions, I sat on chewing gum with my swim trunks. I mentioned to Leigh if they had any suggestions. They promptly got some Goo Gone and took my swim trunks and proceeding to carefully remove the gum and THEN had them washed at housekeeping. They brought them back to our residence after a few hours, ready to be used the next day. Unsurpassed service.

Overall, The manager Jesse and his team do a great job and truly care about you and your stay in Kapalua. From now on, I know exactly where we will stay when we return to Maui. Truly, the Residences at Kapalua was the the best place we have ever stayed at in our 23 years of marriage and traveling with our family.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank sclyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Residences at Kapalua Bay in West Maui. I have to give this resort 6 stars. The indigenous flora and fauna and beautifully landscaped grounds with multi level pools flowing towards the Pacific Ocean is a view you simply cannot get tired of. The Hawaiian style artwork and décor together with the warmth from local wood in the doorways and furniture give the resort a feeling of grace and charm you might expect to find in Hawaii many years ago. The staff at the pool and poolside restaurant are so accommodating you want to spend the whole day relaxing beneath the swaying palm trees with the natural air conditioning of the cooling trade winds. We ate lunch at the pool bar twice. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced by hotel standards. The calm protected white sandy swimming beach just footsteps away from the pool is one of Maui's better snorkeling spots. We were pleasantly surprised to see green sea turtles among the large variety of reef fish in the bay.

The spa is truly awesome. I was told it won best spa in America 2 years in a row, and its easy to see why. There's a well equipped fitness center with personal trainers, indoor and outdoor massage treatment areas, a coffee and health food snack bar, a salt water infinity pool and Jacuzzi, and the locker rooms are equipped like nothing I have ever seen before, including steam rooms, saunas, and more Jacuzzis.

The resort offers only suites and has an intimate and elegant feel without the massive cold marble feel of some other properties. We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the top floor, beautifully furnished with soft colors, exotic woods, Hawaiian quilts on the beds, a full kitchen with gorgeous granite counter tops. There was even a laundry room in this unit with a full size washer and dryer. The huge deck with incredible ocean views and the island of Molokai just a few miles away made a great place to relax with a book or newspaper and coffee in the morning. Both bedrooms were master suites with master baths, so no hard feelings if you are traveling with another couple.

The staff are professional and engaging with impeccable service, yet still very island style. The Aloha Spirit is alive and well here. The concierge were exceptionally helpful and always with a welcoming smile. For dinner we strolled down the beach path and had a wonderful dining experience at Merrimans Restaurant. This is a fine dining restaurant with a superb location overlooking the beach. It is one of several good restaurants within walking distance of the resort. This "Residences at Kapalua" Resort is located on the lush north west corner of Maui which is home to two world class golf courses, a very scenic coastline, and a well developed system of hiking trails. It's about 15 minutes by car to old Lahaina town and is perfect for couples wanting a romantic vacation or families with children. Maui is the best Island, and this is the best part of Maui!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This property has the "wow factor" from the moment you enter the spacious open-air lobby. The grounds are meticulously manicured and the pools are connected through a maze of twists, turns and bridges. If you have children, they will love this feature.

The resort is located steps away from Kapalua Bay which is ideal for snorkeling, paddle-boarding and sunning on the beach. Equipment is available for a nominal rental fee. Several restaurants are within easy walking of the Residences. Make reservations in advance for Merrimans or sit on their ocean-front deck and have dinner under the stars. We did both. Sansei Restaurant is located about half a mile and is known as the place for sushi.

The two bedroom, 2 bath unit offers a large covered deck with panoramic views of Molokai and the sunset. The rooms are identical and the beds are plush and so comfortable, we checked to see who the manufacturer was.

We have been to Maui many times and have stayed at the Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons. This property has all of the ingredients necessary for an exceptional visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views but all the rooms have exceptional vistas
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews