We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best vacation ever for Residences managed by Montage !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Kapalua Bay
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best vacation ever for Residences managed by Montage !”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Best island/resort/ service that I have ever been especially with family and flexibility to eat home cooked healthy meals and had been to a lot of places before !

The rooms, halls and kitcchen are very spacious and feels like living in a three bedroom house with maid servicea (am and pm) and they also have bar and grill area to eat if you don't feel like cooking plus the ability to wash clothes if you stay for a week and want to travel light !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivesofiegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    28
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
225
147
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a beautiful resort and will be lovely when construction work is complete, but be aware before you book that there are multiple crews working all over the property - buildings, roofs, decks, elevators, lobby, restaurant, pools February until at least May 2014.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
18 Thank sc3mv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After 15+ vacations to Hawaii (between the two of us) and travels around the world, this is all around the most memorable and exceptional resort we've stayed at.
The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, the pools are unforgettable (serenity pool followed by more pools/grottos overlooking the ocean), views (whale blowholes and clear sunsets even from the lanai) were dynamite. The beach and tide pools were so nice that we barely left the resort. The rooms were large, clean, bright, comfortable, and quiet. The menu at the restaurant was limited, but everything on it was delicious (down to the perfectly cooked jasmine rice). We also loved the koi pond, and details like the herb garden.
We're a bit biased, as my then boyfriend and now fiancee, proposed at the Kapalua Bay beach at sunset, right after a turtle swam up towards shore.
The exceptional service at The Residences at Kapalua Bay started from the moment that we stepped on the property as we were greeted with warm smiles. The staff went the extra mile to make our engagement extra special - they put together a stunning bouquet of flowers from the grounds and every employee genuinely congratulated us throughout our stay. The front of house, Caitlin (and her very sweet sister Casey) and housekeeping really stood out to us. Caitlin unprompted, took, printed, and framed photos of our engagement and sent them to our room! Even the bartenders gave us tips on places to go and see, treated us to an engagement toast, and told us that if there was anything we shouldn't hesitate to ask... Honestly, we didn't even need to ask because everything was flawless. We were treated like family here.
My whole family (including my 5 year old nephew who loved the pool, my mom who enjoyed the yoga classes) had a wonderful and relaxing vacation thanks to The Residences. Needless to say, we were sad to leave... I teared up when the concierge hugged me goodbye, but my fiancee promised that we'd be back!
A huge thank you to the staff at The Residences at Kapalua Bay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpaowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the valet to our departure 6 days later, everyone at the Residences at Kapalua Bay (now managed by Montage) made our trip amazing and special. Prior to our arrival, we were contacted by Ted the concierge, who offered us various options for activities and arranged for a sunset dinner reservation at Merriman's. My sister's boyfriend was planning a proposal on our 2nd day, and the entire resort seemed in on the surprise. A special thanks to sisters Casey and Caitlyn who went above and beyond to make my sister's special trip so wonderful and personal (they were able to capture my sister and fiance's special moment on the beach on film and had the photos printed and delivered to their room at turn down service as a surprise). We have stayed in many 5 star resorts and hotels in our many years of travel, and the Residences exceeded our every expectation -- from the Frette sheets and comfy beds to the delicious (albeit limited) menus at the Sunset Grill & Bar (hopefully by the time Montage full takes over and redevelops the restaurant, there might be room service??). The pool is perfect for all ages - with tiers for kids, from baby to teenage, and a serenity pool exclusively for adults. Kapalua beach is a mere 3 minute stroll (towels & chairs are complimentary for guests of the Residences).

We can't say enough wonderful things about this amazing place, and eagerly await our next trip back to this little slice of paradise!

Room Tip: We had two 3-bedroom units (3303 and 3401) which were both wonderful. 3401 had a slightly better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueblood2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We like hotels, OK? Room service and the like. But, if we are after a vacation rental with hotel-like amenities, we will stay here again. The setting is amazing, views superb, our unit was immaculate, huge and well appointed (three bedroom). The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times. The pool area is very well designed and in fact better than most hotel pools because it affords more small areas and quiet spaces, most with great views. The concierge staff is very, very helpful. But, hotel-like does not mean hotel. The food service is limited (reasonably available, but not always) and the menus limited. The bar scene is limited, though the bar at the pool is a great spot. So, it is a hybrid--more residential than the Ritz, but with fewer hotel amenities. If that's what you are after, this is the place. Oh, and the spa is very nice, but the one at the hotel is a little nicer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wazito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Everything about this trip was wonderful. From Kirsten in the booking department to our final goodbyes we could not have been happier. Beautiful resort with the most friendly staff I have ever encountered. We were there for the week prior to Christmas and the resort was fairly quiet right up until Christmas day. Rooms are lovely, we had a ground floor that opened up right into the pool area. They did our grocery shopping for us so with our late arrival it was worth the 30% fee. It is a bit of a drive into Lahaina, but really that is not a problem as you have no need to leave the resort. They have a new owner from what we were told and are making some changes the first part of this year, I hope they do not change too much! Spent 2 days at the lovely spa, took a GREAT Hula class from Paulie and learned how to make the flower pieces for my hair. Lovely morning walks full of rainbows at the bird sanctuary trail. Beach is a short walk away, but I did not find that inconvenient. Honestly, I can not think of 1 thing that was not perfect at this resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have water view. We loved the ground floor with the ability to walk right out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We joined a member of Exclusive Resorts on a stay at the Residences. I cannot say enough nice things about it. The accomodations were incredible. The views, the pool and the activities were plentiful. Highly recommend! We watched whales in distant waters playing and breaching.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
26.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
27.1 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
6.0 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Kapalua Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Kapalua Bay

Property: Montage Kapalua Bay
Address: 1 Bay Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9035 (Formerly The Residences at Kapalua Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Kapalua Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier Maui resort, Montage Kapalua Bay invites guests to experience oceanfront accommodations imbued with island spirit. Spacious one-, two-, three- and four- bedroom residential-style accommodations offer expansive living rooms, large private lanais, fully equipped kitchens and elegant master suites. Dining venues range from the upscale Cane & Canoe to the grab-and-go Mahana Market to complement the full-service Spa Montage, historic Cliff House, neighboring two championship golf courses, tennis courts and zip-lines. Guests will be embraced with a blend of relaxation and rejuvenation, marked indelibly by unique beauty and culture. This resort is the perfect setting for multi-generational family vacations and secluded getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montage Kapalua Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montage Kapalua Bay Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing