We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent view and atmosphere”
Review of Kimo's Restaurant

Kimo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 264 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Papalaua Street and Wahie Lane
Description: Right on the water and in the heart of historic Lahaina, Kimo’s brings you and your o’hana (Hawaiian for family) a casual, completely Maui dining experience. Renowned our “postcard” views of Lanai and Molokai, we offer a menu featuring fresh Hawaiian fish, prime rib, prime steaks and the original Hula Pie, Kimo’s has been a Maui must-do for over 30 years. The upstairs main dining room shows the architectural influence of New England on the former whaling port, with koa-lined walls, missionary-style furnishings and maritime memorabilia. After dinner, Kimo’s lanai becomes a very cool hotspot for tropical cocktails and Hawaiian music. Live entertainment is offered on weekends and select week nights.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent view and atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

nice setting on the water's edge looking out at the sunset
food was decent and service good as well
the kids enjoyed their food and so did we

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank switsquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,512
    1,514
    475
    103
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Fish and Sunset View”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The fresh fish at Kimo's is delicious. There are five different ways that the fish is prepared depending on what type of fish it is. We had the butter herb sauce and also the coconut crusted with mango salsa. Both were delicious. Top that off with Hula Pie for dessert which is a must try. The night we ate there the sunset was spectacular which can be seen from the upstairs dining area. The service was amazing as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch and/or sunsets”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We had a wonderful lunch today at Kimo's. Excellent fish plate and pulled pork sandwiches. Great views. Highly recommended for a laid back Maui experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is an old time favorite on the island. Right on front street in downtown Lahina. Excellent fish and great views. Like a lot of the nice places on Front Street, the entrees are all around $30, however, the quality matches the price. Service is outstanding.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jgold10529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Kimo's still amazes me after 28 years of eating there”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Kimo's is a restaurant most people know of. It's been a fixture in Lahaina for decades. There are lots of restaurants in Lahaina and Maui. Times change, people change, tastes change. Through it all, I am amazed at how consistently excellent Kimo's remains year after year after year. We ate here twice over two weeks, and we had some of our very best food here for extremely reasonable prices. They had numerous selections of fresh fish, and it was most genuinely fresh. Wow. Their preparations -- which may be more simple than what other restaurants try to do -- seem to be perfectly matched to each type of fish ensuring moist, tender, delicious outcomes. And they serve it hot. We had opakapaka which can be hard to find in July. It was extraordinary. We also had monchong and opah and ahi -- all excellent. The service was excellent as well. Kimo's has a bit of hustle & bustle given its location in the heart of Front Street, but once you get upstairs for dinner it's a delight. Plus the sunsets are gorgeous from its balcony. Highly recommend -- 28 years and counting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWPANAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kimo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kimo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing