We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great experience”
Review of Outback Steakhouse - CLOSED

Outback Steakhouse
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Always heard good things about Outback but this one was not great. Had to wait for a table on a night they were not that busy. Apparently short staffed. Was seated and waited for server to come take our order. We ordered drinks which were passable. We ordered our meals consisting of steak with ceasar salad for my wife and 1/2 rack of ribs with ceasar salad. While what we received as good, we were shocked at the presentation. The server brought us our salads first and after we were done with them, the server brought the entree. Both entrees looked lonely as it was the only thing on the plate! No vegetables, no potatoes, no anthing but the meat/ribs. This was not the experience we expected.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry50hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    14
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Horrible, Lackadaisical Service”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

How does this particular restaurant stay in business, and with so many great options nearby for both the locals & tourists? Dark, depressing & dank caffeteria style looking restaurant, located in a strip mall. Experienced very poor service; with the server(s) & manager clearly having an "I don't care attitude." They obviously weren't taught that without the customer, you don't have a business! Never was offered silverware/napkin for our 1st or 2nd course, and had to get up from my seat to try and locate at other tables nearby... and as our server just sat back & watched. Even the food runner didn't ask if we needed anything after dropping our food; and when it was obvious that we were missing the necessary utensils to eat the food. Witnessed another table trying to get service, after about 10-15 minutes of sitting at their table with no one approaching them... When the guest kindly asked the bartender if they could get some service, the bartender barked out that he wasn't their server, and didn't know who was! The guest then got up from their chair, and tried to order at the bar; and the bartender said that he couldn't assist them, and didn't do anything to try & locate the guests server. This attitude from someone in the hospitality industry was absolutely unbelievable! The food was average and very overpriced. Won't return due to the ambience and overall horrible service received. Don't recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivingAloha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Long wait for food”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had to wait for a table which wasn't that bad because we sat on outside at a table. We ordered our meal which was the outback special and a salad with fish. We got the bread first, and then the salad. Then we had an extremely long wait before we finally got our meal. We asked for steak sauce which we didn't get and had to reask for it. One point we were without tea for a really long time even though the waiter acknowledged that he was going to get it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweepmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Like the Kihei location alot more!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It was nice to be greeted right away! Liked the Australian-themed decor; reminded me of Disneyland. Server was ok, I suppose. Manager went around surveying guests. Food was ok. Honestly, the Kihei location had better everything. I was surprised at how good the seared ahi was. I was also wondering why I had extra steak knives to cut my bread and no butter knife to spread the whipped butter with? The prices were decent and the food arrived in a timely manner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good food mate”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

watch for specials and save dollars excellent food. not a great location in a shopping mall service excellent service seemed slow but it is hawaii

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank doc662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing