We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, excellent food”
Review of Gerard's

Gerard's
Reserve with OpenTable
Gerard's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 264 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$80
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wainee
Transit: Bus stop behind Wharf shopping center (3 blocks away)
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, excellent food”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a white-tablecloth restaurant located in older house in Maui, and is a beautiful, relaxed setting. The menu included a selection of locally caught fish, as well as other choices, and the preparations were great. This was one of our two favorite restaurants we visited during eight days on Maui.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    81
    29
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Six friends had a wonderful dinner at Gerard's! The food was great, especially the foie gras! It just melts in your mouth. The fish specialty was prepared perfectly. This is our second time here and will come back for a third! Well done!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bkmdbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very disappointed ”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Don't go near this restaurant when they are busy. We had reservations but were shown to a so crowded porch that one of our seats was on the aisle and was bumped every time a waiter or patron came though. We were rudely told that they were crowded and nothing could be done. To add insult to this we were told that we had to share menus since they did not have enough to go around. Quite a feat for a supposedly high end restaurant. Needless to say we left and they did not apologize or care when we did. We would suggest the Lahaina Grill right down the street which was just as busy but managed to give great food and wonderful service.

Helpful?
Thank randyperetzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has Faltered in the Last Few years”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a great location in Lahaina and you can dine on a veranda with a quiet setting. We used to go hear every year but the food and service has slipped in the last few years.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“For the cost, I would have expected much, much more”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I just got home from a trip to Maui. Both of us are happy to spend money on a high end supper now and then, so we decided to splurge one night and go to Gerard's. This is quite a nice looking restaurant, in an old converted house. It is not on the ocean, so there is no view, but we reserved at 7:30, so the sun had already set, so this wasn't a concern of ours.

We got the Seafood Degustation Menu, which was an 8 course meal, and $95 per person. We also got a bottle of wine, so in the end we ended up paying around $250. Because of the cost involved, I would expect exemplary, unobtrusive service and delicious food.

The evening started out really well - We made a reservation and were promptly seated at a nice, intimate table. The first two courses were to our satisfaction (Ahi Tartare with taro chips, and the Markea shimp pasta with truffle butter - which ended up being the best course). We had absolutely no complaints to this point. Service was efficient and friendly, and the food was coming in an appropriately timed manner. Then the third item that came out, which was described as a fresh Snapper dumpling in sorrel sauce was practically inedible. It was very, very fishy tasting, and an awful, rubbery consistency. Next up was a Shrimp consomme with shrimp dumplings - again, very, very fishy smelling, and no real flavour. By this time we were getting a little concerned. Also by this time, the restaurant was clearing out.

The next course of Scallops was quite tasty, and the Intermezzo (sorbet with Champagne) was also good. By this time the inside of the restaurant was empty, save our table, and the servers were at the bar around the corner, discussing amongst themselves quite loudly. There was swearing, and a heated discussion about a dine and dash that had occurred. They also discussed a toilet issue in the women's washroom... All totally unacceptable for a high end restaurant, especially considering all of the staff knew we were still there, as they were taking turns bringing out courses to us. The fresh fish of the day was quite nice, but with the antics going on with the wait staff, we were hard pressed to be able to enjoy. We chose a dessert, and then couldn't wait to get out of there.

If you are looking to splurge on a high end supper, I would not suggest going here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gerard's also viewed

 
Lahaina, Maui
Lahaina, Maui
 

Been to Gerard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing