We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ono Tacos

Ono Tacos
Ranked #38 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good Food. Good Friend. Good Time. If you want to taste the best tacos in maui Come to eat the best mexican food.
Richwood, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Ate here twice while on Maui. It was quick and a very reasonable price. This is not a sit down style restaurant, though do have a few bar stools in the front where you could eat if you like. I got the orders to go and ate at the condo. Fish was fresh and tasty on the tacos. Beans and rice were good, and they had a nice salsa bar so you could season them to your liking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0l0271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    87
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Tacos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

After reading all the rave reviews, I put this on my must try list. It was good, but not great. We tried fish, shrimp, pork, and steak tacos between the two of us. The shrimp was probably the best of all of them. The fish ended up being really spicy for a sissy like me, but my husband didn't think it was too much. We have a really great hole in the wall place back home that makes tacos similar to Ono's and this didn't quite measure up.

Helpful?
Thank cbc669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Delicious Casual Fish Taco Fix!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Are ya hungry? Order up with the cook and pull up a chair right there under the canopy. It was only a few blocks away from our ocean front condo and we loved Ono Tacos. Immediately you will see you are smack in the buzzing middle of a young neighborhood. Locals love this place and once you bite into the tacos, you'll know why. You can pick it up to go, too. That's done, as it gets a little crowded under the cooking canopy there on the street. Really fantastic casual yummy, and plenty of homemade salsas to dress it up with. check out the you tube video below!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most awesome tacos!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

While on Maui last year we were looking for a good taco and found Ono Tacos. It is small an personal and the owner works his but off making food to order. We so fell in love with the food that we looked forward all year to go back and that just what we did. Actually we went twice in one week this time and the quality is as good as we remembered. Thumbs up all the way this will be a must hit every time we're in Maui!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fast food Hawaiian style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had shrimp tacos and fish tacos there. This is more like a food stand than a restaurant. They have a few chairs and you eat on a ledge. The make your food to order. The shrimp and fish were fresh and well seasoned. Don't expect anything fancy but a good place to grab a quick bite. Can get a bit crowded at times.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dusty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ono Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Ono Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing