We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kannapali ocean adventure-needs tweaking”

Kaanapali Ocean Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: ECO-FRIENDLY! Our purpose built snorkeling and tours boat 'Sanity' is fast, dry and comfortable. We offer both half and full day trips with equipment fully supplied. On our tours you can expect to see marine life as pristine as it has been for thousands of years. We also offer extreme fun with our Jetboat 'Insane'. Be prepared to get wet with 360 spins, dead-stops, sharp turns and a whole lot more! For those of you who might be concerned that this will disturb the native marine life, there's no need to worry - our jet boat is environmentally friendly too. It is powered by water and has a flat bottom with no propellers, shafts, rudders or anything else that could harm marine life in any way. 48 hours’ notice is required for cancellations, otherwise a fee will be charged to your credit card for no shows
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
toospecial
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kannapali ocean adventure-needs tweaking”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is not the adventure that is advertised. Actually it is not an adventure at all, it is a boat ride around Lani. The water around Lani, and the snorkeling is great. Captain Dan leaves much to be desired. He is not much on conversation, does not give any details about Lani island, or the fish or anything else. The lunch was awful- who serves cold left store made leftover mash potatoes, and cold BBQ beans. I paid a lot of money for this trip and felt the lunch should have been better. I was not happy about the arrangements to meet the boat- on the sand in front of the Kannapali resort and then having to go out to the boat in a dinghy. I have been on better snorkeling trips....much much better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank toospecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cancelled and didn't let us know!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were scheduled for a snorkeling trip to lanai and were told to met at the beach at 7am. After getting up early and waiting for 30 minutes my husband decided to call them. The company told us they had cancelled the tour because not enough people signed up but forgot to call OR email us. They we not very apologetic and didn't offer us anything for the HUGE inconvience and disappoint. We missed out on a beautiful day to go snorkeling. :( Not a reliable company!!!! We were recommended to use them by family but I think things have changed with the new owners. Would not recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great but I still miss captain dave”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

my kids and grandkids loved the trip, the ocean was wild , lots of wind, the snorkeling was great despited not so great condition.
would we do it again, for sure!
Captain Dan is okay , my daughter comment was , he is a little grumpy, i think , that's just the way he is, nice but not enthusiastic
the lunch was hysterical, it looked like they shopped at safeway without a women's touch, how are we going to eat mashed potatoes, bbq beans, pasta alfredo without a heating element! We had a variety of sweets rolls for breakfast, lunch was breads and deli with condiments, we had to open all the packages ourselves, no biggy, it was fine
i forgot the name of the other crew member , he was in the water with us every time, making sure we did not go too far, big help to my youngest granddaughter(8) , he basically swam with her and was her buddy, she and us loved it, made for a fabulous experience for her
Now, i still miss captain dave, he did stuffs with his boat that were amazing, i am sorry my grandkids did not have the chance to experience him, i wish i knew where is he working now, i would go with him in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank odilelosaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great evening in Maui”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our group of 23 had a private excursion arranged with another company, but the day before our scheduled trip, they had to cancel because of engine issues. After scrambling around on the phone, we came in contact with Captain Dan. He was able to accommodate our large group at the last minute! We had a great time on our 4 hour excursion. We had a great snorkeling experience off the coast of Lanai and saw some incredible whale activity. The pick up location just off Whaler's Village couldn't have been more convenient for our group. The zodiac ride back to the beach was a highlight for many of the kids. The boat was comfortable. My son forgot his snorkel tube and mask on the boat, and Captain Dan went the extra mile and delivered them to our hotel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yazoo City, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Private, secluded snorkeling adventure in Lanai - highlight of Maui trip”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My family of 5 joined Captain Dan Shaffer with 4 others for a 7:30-12:30 snorkeling cruise to Lanai. Conveniently departed from beach at Whaler's Village. Saw whales & had 200 dolphins swim w/ boat for 10 min. Two dives and no one else within sight. Saw beautiful fish and great up close interaction w/ turtles. great photos. Dan's first mate - Cord - snorkeled w/ us providing instruction to those in need and interesting details about the fish, reef and Lanai. This was more expensive than Molokini, but we snorkeled w/ masses of fish rather than masses of people. Dan also provided drinks, bfast and snacks. just enough. I highly recommend this trip. www.kaanapalioceanadventures.com

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hbarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaanapali Ocean Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing