We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a nice vacation without spending so much”
Review of Polynesian Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Polynesian Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location for a nice vacation without spending so much”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The unit 110 was just fine for out vacation in Maui. We were there with a group of friends, they were staying in a different unit, so we had the opportunity of comparing both units. Unit 110 has a nice kitchen, a good variety of cooking utensils and dinnerware. The reason why we choose this unit was because it has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, I would say that the master bedroom is a little small and the bathroom doesn't have a window but for me the big disadvantage of the bedroom is the location of it, since it is next to the access to this area and it can turn a little bit noisy. It seems that gardening starts around 7 am, not great if you want to sleep in.
Overall the place is clean, comfortable and has a good access to a little beach where is possible to do snorkeling. Since there are all type of units in this complex I would suggest to check all the little details, like if you need dishwasher find one that are actually have it because as we found out are friends unit didn't have one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iguanavoladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    54
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
75
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a fantastic location by the water. We stayed with another couple in an apartment with a 2 bedrooms (1 is a loft bedroom) and it was very enjoyable. It was self catering with 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds and the most amazing views. We saw lovely sunsets from our balcony in the evenings and sea turtles swimming around in the water during the day. Spacious and well maintained. Had a lovely swimming pool and BBQ's available for use by anyone staying in the apartments. It is a fair distance from downtown Lahaina but we had a car and as there was a parking space for each apartment it was great. Would highly recommend these apartments for a short or a long stay as everything about them was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topmum5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in unit 126 (west maui condo rentals) and loved it!! It has full views of the ocean and you are feet from the ocean. You walk down a short path and your feet are in the sand. In the other direction is the pool. We stayed for nearly 6 weeks and loved every moment. The complex has some full time residents which makes for a very friendly atmosphere and many people gather at the BBQ each night to share stories and get to know one another. We loved how friendly the place was, much more connection with your neighbors than at a big resort. There are turtles eating daily and you will not be one of those vacationers hoping for a quick glimpse of a turtle. I highly recommend this unit.

Room Tip: Unit 126 is a great corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happymomandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
233 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We couldn't have had a better place! We loved it! Looking over some of the reviews, I realized that a lot can depend on which unit you have. The complex is a mix of full time residents and rentals. We were in unit 103 and it was perfect for us. Julie the manager was awesome. Parking can be a challenge but not as bad as at some of the other condos nearby. (Each condo here does have an assigned space and there are a couple of visitor slots. Where our son was staying there were NO visitor slots, residents only, and about one fourth the number of spaces to condos! Think about that!), Our son & his family were staying about a quarter mile down the road. When booking we thought it was best to give ourselves a little space. We are so happy we did! This condo complex was so much better, and friendlier. We have visited Maui several times, and usually stay up country, or in another area. This is the first time we have stayed in the Kaanapali/Lahaina area. Now if we go back we will certainly be trying to get into the Polynesian Shores. Also have to mention that Unit 103 was everything we could have wanted. Actually a few times a neighbor had to come by to borrow a knife or some other cooking item (they returned them!), but it just goes to show how well appointed and supplied our unit was. The complex has a nice pool, not huge, but more than adequate. They have three good sized Weber grills out by the pool area a couple of picnic tables that were great for the cook out we had. There was a maintenance crew, who we saw everyday cleaning the grills, and generally keeping everything tidy. We highly recommend the Polynesian Shores!

Room Tip: Unit 103 our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Life-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We've stayed for 5 nights at Polynesian Shores. Julia checked us in and gave us the key - she surprised us with a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom (loft style) 2 bathroom with a complete kitchen unit (#223).
The unit is lovely, beautifuly decorated. It has ocean and pool views. At the evening they light up torchs. The ground get a dreamly hawaian fashion. The beach is a short walk right down the condo in a small path where sea turtles apears in the afternoon. We enjoyed the pool and there is also grills for guests to use (we did not try them though). The pool is a bit small but never get crowded. Perfect for late afternoon dip. Lahaina is about 9 miles from the condo where there are many restaurants and water adventures to experience. The only con is the absense of daily housekeeping - but for a short stay (5 nights it is manageable). I do not know if there is a cleaning day in longer stays. Even though there is no housekeeping there are enough towels ( two extra sets in the closet) for bath and pool use. Also there was an extra set of linnens if we want to change it. So takeing in account the absense of housekeeping is not really a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferrazalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was referred to Polynesian Shores by a friend and I am SO thankful I listened! We are staying in condo #207 (an upper unit) and can't say enough good things about our stay --Right now, I am writing this from the lanai of our condo... From the moment we got here, we were met by the incredibly welcoming Julie in the office, a lovely welcome basket in our condo with lots of information, Polynesian Shores key chains, a tote (which we used for our towels daily), luggage tags and a highly prized Maui Gold pineapple. Putting down our luggage, we looked out from our front view and knew we just found our new favorite vacation home away from home!

Not only does every condo have a view of the ocean, our condo was clean, well decorated, and comfortable for our family of four. The kitchen is stocked with all the plates, utensils and cooking gadgets you need (including a pineapple cutter which I've never used before, but works like a dream). The two rooms were spacious and airy (the mattresses were just okay...), though on hot days, it can get VERY warm in the upstairs loft at night --So much so that we were thankful to find a small fan in the closet that we would place near the foot of our bed to keep cool since the ceiling fan up there didn't really do enough. As most have said, there is no air conditioning in the units and even though it was quite warm on most days during our trip (we were there at the end of July), there is usually a wonderful breeze to help cool things down to be manageable. Also, the pool is open until 9pm, and I can't tell you how lovely it was to swim amongst the lit tiki torches and stars and cool off! Another thing about the pool, it's not hard to have it to yourself most days!

Now for the grounds ...ah, another thing I'll miss. Surrounded by soft grass to walk on, tropical flowers, and palm trees, this place is stunning in every direction. If you get the chance, look for a gentleman named Erin as well. He lives there 24/7 I believe, and is just a wealth of information and hospitality. He's the one that will let you know about where the turtles are resting on shore, any spinner dolphin sightings or any other sightings you'll want to know about. Another great option is the availability of BBQ stations near the pool... It's the place to hang with other vacationers and swap great information while grilling the ono fresh fish you just picked up at the local fish market!

Oh and speaking of groceries, after getting off the plane, like many, we stopped for some of the basics at Costco to save a few clams, but knew we could find all the best local fish to cook up for dinner nearby (I recommend The Fish Market down the street not only for their fresh fish, but their fish tacos as well). Another great find is the Farmers Market store. You can get that prized banana bread you'll be hearing about AND the very hard to find Toasted Coconut Candy that is only found on the drive to Hana --try both. You won't regret it!

Now for the beach... Just a short walk down to the beach (which is never crowded it seemed), and you have everything you need for a great day of snorkeling, paddle boarding or some light surfing (even a bit of shade for those who got too much sun the day before). Because of the good amount of rocks and tide pools nearby, it brings in the turtles in droves. The snorkeling is some of the best I've seen and you won't have far to go to see teems of amazing sea life. In fact, at one point, we were surrounded by giant sea turtles (over 10 when we counted) and will never forget getting to swim with them and just watch them do their thing --Just incredible! Our very thoughtful condo owners even supplied us with a cooler to borrow, which was great to have on the beach when we were thirsty or needed a snack.

Okay, so have I convinced you yet?? Heck, I still haven't been able to mention everything, like how close Lahaina's awesome Front Street is, the miles of GORGEOUS beaches surrounding the area, the easy paced lifestyle of the locals (who always greet you with 'Aloha') ...and on and on! The only way I told my family we will leave this place is the promise we will return soon.

Okay, so go book the condo now already, wouldya?!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend condo #207 -- but honestly, all of them have a gorgeous view! Possibly cooler at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bombie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in unit 211 for 3 nights at the beginning of June during our recent tour around Hawaii and thought it was fantastic. Although we had initially booked unit 109, this was unavailable for some reason, so we were offered a selection of other units including 211, which I’m sure should have been more expensive, but we were not charged any extra. So we found ourselves with an unexpected upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment, where the main bed is on an upper level open bed-deck with ensuite bathroom. The main bed was extremely comfortable and there was a ceiling fan overhead. Although the unit didn’t have air conditioning, we never actually missed it, despite hot days – you’ve just got to open the louvers on opposite sides of the room and the cross-flow does the job.

There were laundry facilities in the ensuite, which was really handy, though there was in fact a shared (paid) laundry room just to the side of our unit anyway. The second bedroom was set up as a twin and was a good size. The kitchen area was relatively large and well equipped – you could have actually cooked proper meals here if you wanted to, but I confess we didn’t. There was also a spacious sitting area and a balcony.

Although effectively furthest from the sea, the units in this block faced directly out to the shore, overlooking the lawn and pool area. However, the real ‘win’ for this place with us was the marine life off the shore adjacent to the condos. Specifically, turtles! Although the gardens themselves front straight onto a rocky section of the shoreline, just to the left (south) of this (literally steps away), is a small sandy beach. We went snorkelling here and while the immediate shallows are a bit cloudy from sand churned up by the waves, it didn’t matter because within minutes we found ourselves surrounded by huge turtles! There must have been dozens of them as there were always 3 to 6 within your field of vision. And they were BIG adults. We must have spent about an hour just floating around with them in awe.

Although this was one of the more expensive places we stayed on our trip, frankly this alone made it worthwhile for us and it was still a bargain compared to other places we had seen. Even if you have no interest in turtles, the apartment is spacious, clean and well-appointed and the staff were friendly and helpful (even after we locked ourselves out of our unit after hours and Julie (I think) had to come back to ‘rescue’ us – we were so embarrassed but she was really good about it). We would definitely recommend this particular unit to others.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.0 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Shores

Property: Polynesian Shores
Address: 3975 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8995
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 1, 2, & 3-bdrm condos on 2 acres of tropically landscaped grounds. Spectacular location with fabulous sunsets. Comfortably furnished condos have ocean views & private lanais. Scenic oceanfront bbq deck for dining & relaxing. Ideally located between Kaanapali & Kapalua. Experience the relaxed feel of old Hawaii while still being close to restaurants, shopping, & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Polynesian Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Shores Hotel Lahaina
Polynesian Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing