We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will never stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Polynesian Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Polynesian Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will never stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Listing is for unit #118
First off the listing on VRBO is not correct. It says amenities "washer & dryer" but doesn't list it's as coin op. I have a 5 month old daughter- would never have rented if I would have known it was coin op.
Second: the carpet is DISGUSTING.. I mean gross. I could not lay my daughter down at all unless I made sure it was covered.
We paid a cleaning fee yet the place was DIRTY. I have pics to show the build up of dust & nastiness.

Third: sheets on pull out- either stained or never washed from previous customers. Extra sheets had holes in them!

Fourth: had a DVD player BUT no remote for it.

Location was beautiful, saw whales & turtles everyday but the unit 118 - will never stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovethesunak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polyshores, Owner at Polynesian Shores, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are so sorry to hear of your concerns with condo 118 at Polynesian Shores. The Polynesian Shores Rental Program does not handle unit #118 but we do manage 27 condos on property and have very high standards for the condition the condos are in for the guest when they arrive and while they are our guest here on Maui. It is important to check when booking that you have someone on property or close by to handle any problems that may occur during your visit. We hope that in the future we can help you with one of our condos that we manage at the Polynesian Shores Resort. Maui is a special place to be and we hope that you may be back to enjoy all paradise offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    53
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Condo 213 is a 2bedroom 2bathroom privately leased condo & was a great stay. Just a couple of notes though.... This complex is about 10mins drive from the town so a hire car is a must. The complex really caters to retirees and therefore isn't the place if you're looking to mingle with others under 60 (well it seemed this way during our Jan stay). The condo is more geared for a family than for two couples as the room upstairs is much more of a master suite than the twin bedroom down stairs (and small bathroom) so if you've paid half one couple will draw the short straw.... None the less we made do with 2 couples & the single beds were quite comfy (although not romantic lol). The living areas are great as are the views and the kitchen is very well equipped. Value for money was great and for that reason, the homely feel & views I would recommend & hope to come back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank myboyfriendsanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, Owner at Polynesian Shores, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay - thanks for being our guests!
We're surprised at your comments regarding the sleeping arrangements. Please know that we offer to configure the downstairs bedroom as either two twins OR one king. Chuck always inquires as to your preference prior to arrival, so that everything is set up the way you want it. Therefore, our condo can very nicely accommodate multiple couples, or families (sleeps 6 comfortably). The configuration is completely up to our guests to decide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I booked this place at almost the last minute and was pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. We had a 3 BR, 3 BA unit and had a great ocean view from our balcony. I'm pretty sure every unit here has an ocean view. The kitchen had been re-modeled and was stocked extremely well, as was the entire condo. The only item it lacked was a washer/dryer. They were available in the complex but only 2 out of 6 or 7 dryers was even working.

All in all, this place was a relative bargain in the grand scheme of things and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad condo here as they all have ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Our two bedroom condo had absolutely everything you can imagine. It had beach chairs and cooler to borrow, extra fans (no AC which was fine), blender, you name it. The patio is nice, the beds were comfortable, the landscaping was excellent, the pool was warm and never busy. Safeway and shopping was under five minutes away, along with beaches and of course the sea turtles we could see every evening. There isn't a beach on sight but there are lots of beaches under five minutes away. Loved it! At the airport was about 50 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in condo 220 for 1 week. My family and I really enjoyed the ocean breeze. The pool was very nice also. There is no beach on the property though as I was mislead with pictures. The condo was clean and the kitchen newly remodeled.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaminJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britt, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We found condo 223 absolutely perfect for our accommodations on the island of Maui. It was very comfortable for 4 people and wonderfully furnished in true Hawaiian style. The ocean view was amazing. We were told that in January through March you can see whales breaching from our lanai. We loved the private beach that had 7 green sea turtles soaking up the sun. It is only 4 miles to Lahaina for shopping but far enough away that we could really enjoy the natural beauty of Maui at our leisure.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for unit 223 because it is oceanfront, not just an ocean view. Condo 223 is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Bowse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was able to stay at condo 113 in January with my family. We absolutely loved the condo! It was a great location, although you do need a car to get to it from the airport. There are so many things to do close by like snorkel, go the the market, whale watch, and much more! Not to mention the people at the facility were very welcoming. The condo itself was very clean and had everything we needed. We were there during whale watching season and enjoyed sitting on the deck having our coffee and watching the whales jump - it was simply beautiful. Overall it was a great vacation and I would highly recommend this condo to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.0 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Shores

Property: Polynesian Shores
Address: 3975 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8995
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polynesian Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 1, 2, & 3-bdrm condos on 2 acres of tropically landscaped grounds. Spectacular location with fabulous sunsets. Comfortably furnished condos have ocean views & private lanais. Scenic oceanfront bbq deck for dining & relaxing. Ideally located between Kaanapali & Kapalua. Experience the relaxed feel of old Hawaii while still being close to restaurants, shopping, & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Polynesian Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Shores Hotel Lahaina
Polynesian Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing