We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sangrita Grill + Cantina

Sangrita Grill + Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Sangrita Grill + Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the first and last time we will ever go to Sangrita. The service and food is terrible. Our server appeared to have zero interest in being there and it showed. Two of our drinks came in glasses that had some other tables guacamole smeared on them. No apology...
Dinner was horrible. Perhaps the worst meal I've ever had on Maui. The $16.00 braised short rib tacos and the flank steak tacos were absolutely tasteless and soggy. Three of the smallest tacos I've ever seen with no sides of beans or rice...Nothing! All four of us walked out of there still hungry.
This place will be gone in six months. Maybe a real Mexican restaurant will take it's place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat-Nast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    110
    47
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mexican I dont think so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stopped in for Dinner greeted and seated OK .
had a beer and a water.
corn chips and guacamole it was good some home made chips on top which were great but bought chips underneath.
It was happy hour which we needed to clarify as the time at the entrance was different to the time on the menu.
We ordered Tacos one pork ribs on the salad leaf and the other with the taco
Both were terrible , we asked for some Tabasco sauce to try to get some flavour and heat.
Very small portions of tasteless food .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stumbled upon this while on a trip back from Wal-Mart and let me tell you it was good. Candy the bar tender was the best. She was personable and very friendly. The happy hour food was great. The nacho's and taco's were some of the best. Her sangria was something else. I left very full and satisfied.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well done !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Gluten free and vegan friendly. Chef Paris has hit another home run. A must visit if you crave Mexican. Delicious tacos. Great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank waileacapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We tried this restaurant a few nights ago. Four couples and all found the food and service to be very good. Waitress was excellent and the owner took the time to chat to us and explain his vision for this new restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sangrita Grill + Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Sangrita Grill + Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing