We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ulalena by Maui Theatre

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.00*
and up
Ulalena Show at Maui Theatre
Ranked #4 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The singer had an incredible voice and percussion band was great. The aerial performer was very good also, but only performed twice. The story was very hard to follow, but came together at the end. It isn't worth $80 per ticket but we found 1/2 off tickets so we got our money's worth.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    205
    100
    29
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful show and great theatre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I went to see the show on Maui and she is also an aerial performer on Oahu. We really enjoyed the show and atmosphere. It was exciting and after we stuck around to say hello to the cast. I suggest checking this out while you are on Maui.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaSteve35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make 'Ulalena the FIRST thing you do on Maui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a definite must do for visitors and locals. But especially for visitors, do yourself a favor and SEE THIS as soon as you get to Maui. You will get so much more out of your vacation. Learn about the island you are visiting and the specialness of the history and culture. My 6 and 5 year olds ask to go for their birthdays every year! A luau is fun for coconut bras and other "non-authentic" elements, but if you are looking for a cultural experience that is authentic and entertaining, 'Ulalena is the only way to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Admom808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Engaging.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The story of Maui told through song and dance. Great staging. Wonderful live music. If you're looking for something to do one evening in Lahaina, this is a really good show. I wasn't sure I would like it, but it was thoroughly engaging. Standing ovation the night I saw it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The show that tries to hard...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hmmm.... difficult to describe. A Maui version of Cirque du Soliel - lots of production value, but almost impossble to follow a story. More play/theatre than musical experience. The precussion band is good; almost no authentic Hawaiian vocal music. Feels like the show struggles to find it's place. It's far from a decent Cirque du Soliel but not as exciting and engaging as a good luau. In my opinion, children would be easily bored, and it's only a "let's do something before dinner" show for adults. If you have 90 minutes to kill, might be worth going IF you purchase a deeply discounted ticket at one of the many tour booths in the area. No way it's worth the $70 ticket price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing