We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Amy and Dan have a gem. This is a one of a kind B&B in a superb location close to great shopping and resteraunts. My husband and I are in our mid 20s and this was our first time staying in a non-resort accommodation. I have no clue why we have been throwing our money down the drain for so many years at resorts! The rooms are so comfortable, so much that we even slept in one morning because we couldn't drag ourselves out of bed. We stayed 5 amazing nights in Akala Manu in mid December. We Loved that you can take a shower outdoor any time of the year in Hawaii. That was my favorite part of each day!

I booked two massages in our private lanai through Ho'olio House. The prices are very competitive, and you will not get a better deal for the convenience. The ladies were very professional and did a great job. We had a change of plans and they were kind enough to reschedule our massage for a later time. Thanks again ladies!

Dan, an extra special thank you for calling my husband and I a cab so our drunk butts could get home after the luau, helping us with all the fruit we purchased, and letting us borrow the mini cooler and beach chairs. You will not get this type of service at any hotel!

Thank you so much and hope to see you soon, Itzel and Michael

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank icantu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    32
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
302
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is definitely the best BnB experience I have ever had and ever will.

1. The interiors of the entire BnB are amazing. Its clean and the rooms are great. I just love the Balinese styling. You will never get this experience in a resort.
2. Location is great. Away from the chaos but still very close to beaches, bars and restaurant.
3. The hosts are very nice. Amy gave us some really great tips on beaches, snorkeling etc...
4. The breakfast is good. Dan bakes the bread and Amy bakes the muffins. They taste wonderful. Fresh juices are nice too.
5. What I can I say about the views. Simply outstanding.

This is place is so nice, that me and my wife have gotten inspired and hope to some day leave our materialistic life in New York City, move to Maui and open a BnB just like this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KashSheth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mae Sai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

When we first booked at the Ho'oilo House for the splurge of our honeymoon we were so excited and had tonnes of anticipation for our few days. Sadly our visit was anything but what we had hoped. I love ambiance and unique architecture, so looking at the Ho'oilo house really peaked my interest. I will say it was beautiful, but mood and ambiance only go so far. Our first impression of the place was that it was dirty and some of the items in the rooms needed to be updated. We are not picky people and have travelled abroad, so small inconveniences are usually not a problem, but there were so many at the Ho'oilo house it ruined our stay. The first day my wife was lying on the bed and a baby cockroach crawled across right next to her! We had already stayed in upcountry Maui in an open air B&B and never had anything like this, so we were quite surprised. We decided not to mention this incident right away, as this was Hawaii after all and some bugs have to be expected, but things from there only got worse. My wife was often visited by these small cockroaches, and killed many more in our two days there. The culmination of our disappointment was one evening when we were going for a nice romantic bath together only to find 3 cockroaches scurrying around, definitely a mood killer!

Dan resolved our cockroach issue promptly and offered us a new room for that evening, which was appreciated. All in all we were very happy to leave the Ho'oilo house! By far our worst and most expensive stay on the island. We will not be coming back, and also would not recommend it. A big let down for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EvandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Wow what a fantastic place, when we found this on the internet we just had to book it for our Honeymoon and it was everything we expected and more. The layout of the rooms, breakfast area, pool and gardens are tranquil, the views amazing.
The location is also great with only a few minutes drive into Lahaina where on Front Street you can find an array of great restaurants and shops with easy parking.
Dan and Amy are very friendly who have built up an exceptional B&B, to give great service and make an excellent breakfast, which you can enjoy by the pool.
Our room was spacious, very clean and the outside shower gives a real tropical feel.
We stayed for 9 nights from the 31st october, but didn't want to leave.
We can't wait to return very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hms228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was a family vacation. The family chose to stay on the beach at Lahaina. Although the setting is perfect for familes, I am so glad to have enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of this Balinese inspired pavillon with its exquisite architecture and sumptuous furnishings. The beautifully maintained gardens offered breathtaking views to the island of Molokai. The morning breakfast was more than satisfying. The gentle sounds of Hawaiian music in the rooms lulled one back to a more distant time of this royal kingdom. Dan and Amy were charming, helpful, and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were expecting a lovely B&B, but we were not prepared for the exceptional experience and setting of the Ho'oilo House. Our entrance to the main room was at once impressive. A great room with welcoming and comfortable furnishings, soothing water features, wonderful wood and stone accessories, and astonishing views of the Pacific Ocean, invited us to appreciate the beauty and peace around us. We had chosen a room with an ocean view, and the furnishings and accessories were stunning. The door to our room came from Bali, carved and beautifully ornamented. Our shower was open to the sky, and on tiptoes, I could see the ocean. The lanai was situated so that we could enjoy the ocean view and breezes, the beautiful landscaping of the grounds, and the peace and quiet of the surroundings. Breakfasts were delicious, including homemade granolas and breads or muffins, fresh fruits, and yogurts, and delicious coffee and juices. Our mornings and breakfasts were enjoyed sitting beside the beautiful pool and looking out at the ocean view. The proprietors were gracious and welcoming. Although expensive, this stay was one of the highlights of our Hawaii trip and our time at Ho'oilo House will remain a sweet and exceptional memory. (N.B. We were there in July of 2012.)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I finally made it back after being away from this perfect getaway for 4 years. Dan & Amy remembered us, which was unexpected, yet very much appreciated. They are such pleasant people to deal with as well as just have a casual conversation with. They make us feel like family whilst we are enjoying the entire B&B for what it is: a quiet, peaceful, tranquil, adults only, romantic, non-typical tourist luxurious getaway. You will find it is WELL WORTH it. We just got home today after fantastic 5 night stay for our anniversary. Do yourself a favor, and go book your stay now!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing